We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, Not of resort quality”
Review of Tubtim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tubtim Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, Not of resort quality”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Due to a very short stay it was tolerable but I would not recommend it and won't be returning.

Pros:

*Smooth white-sand beach and pretty view
*Nice location. Calm, quite peaceful, and secluded area
*Stayed in the first row of bungalows right on the beach with a complete ocean-view


Cons:

*Arrived (and were taken) to an unmade room

*Housekeeping were unprofessional and clearly miserable (no manners, obviously untrained.) We asked to have the hand towels replaced since they were stained and they argued that it was clean

*The shower room (toilet and shower were separate) was a nightmare - unbelievably filthy (as in dark corners that had never, ever been scrubbed), stained, and reeked of urine

*Some bug issues in room

*The restaurant staff consisted of untrained teenage boys

*Poor breakfast selection from menu

*The road to and from town by "taxi" (you can also trek into town along the beach) is dangerously bumpy and rocky (NOT suitable for children or elderly - again, very unsafe)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    122
    75
    33
    29
See reviews for
64
116
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms are what you would expect for mid level Thai beach accommodation. However the staff do provide relatively low service. Staff are mainly Cambodian & paid around 4k baht a month so not exactly motivated, nor professionally managed. At best, breakfast is indifferent.

Dogs mentioned in other reviews belong to the hotel and as per usual for many Thai beach "resorts" do not to train or disicpline their dogs. Dogs are allowed to wander the eating area and the beach. Unfortunately foreigners & Thais feed the dogs from the dining tables.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBS1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Samet hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The service in the restaurant was really bad rude, lazy and dismissive we decided to eat elsewhere after the miserable service when ordering drinks. We moved to samed villa on the next bay far better place to stay. There was a huge barge on the beach with heavy earth moving equipment, this ruined what was is normally a very pretty bay I was nearly run over by a jcb that was driving around with absolutely no consideration for anyone.

Rubbish and building debris left all over the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam5734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qufu, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Tinting seems to have a room for everyone, old fan hut, new fan hut, old air com bungalow, new air in bungalow and finally posh bungalows that we couldn't even afford to look at!

We picked the new fan hut, it was behind the more expensive huts further up the hill, and was really nice, dark wood, lots of windows and clean. Bathroom was ok, water pressure pretty awful, but as is the deal in most places.

Reception woman was fairly poker faced when we arrived, but warmed up and became very friendly towards the end. Restaurant looked very popular and busy, but we didn't eat there.

Beach is beautiful. Good stay all round.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyeleanor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Tubtim Resort is in a great location right on a very nice bay, and within easy walking distance to other nice beaches. We stayed for 4 nights in early July 2013.

The room we stayed in (Zone B, 2,100 Baht / night) was very basic, with a small TV, only 1 power socket (located, rather bizarrely, right next to the bathroom sink), no wardrobe, no fridge and not even proper bed linen, just a kind of oversized towel instead. The bathroom was basic and a bit worn, but reasonably clean. The shower was very weak.

On the way between our room and the restaurant / lobby we had to pass by what I assume was some kind of sewage treatment contraption. The unpleasant smell that we often got a whiff of as we walked past it would seem to indicate it was. Not nice on your way to breakfast in the morning.

Breakfast was awful, consisting of either Thai-style rice soup or some very cheap and greasy frankfurter style sausages, white toast, eggs and 1 cup of instant coffee to drink. To get anything nicer, e.g. fresh coffee, you had to pay extra. This just seems a bit mean really, when they could easily include this in the standard breakfast set seeing as they have the machine and the coffee there already.

Food we ate at other times from the restaurant was better, but nothing amazing. The seafood barbeque in the evening had tasty, fresh seafood but a very limited selection. Much better barbecues are to be found along the beach at other resorts. Other than that it's fairly standard westernised Thai food. It's not particularly nice having dogs wandering around amongst you and begging for food while you eat either.

Service was generally poor, and although I didn't come across any rudeness as such, there was plenty of indifference. Some staff were OK but some you felt didn't want to be there. It was also quite unprofessional and forgetful: I don't think we had a meal without at least one item being forgotten and having to be chased up. Generally you would have to approach the staff to get them to do anything, there wasn't any attitude instilled that they should occasionally be going up to guests' tables to see if they need anything.

All of this would be fine in cheap backpacker digs. But at the prices they're charging here, they need to up their game considerably. The setting is gorgeous and there's a lot of potential to be made out of the resort, if they gave the rooms and grounds a facelift and improved their service levels.

WARNING: As someone else pointed out, the beach here is being used to transport construction materials to the island, which basically means you're in the middle of a building site. Although it's not the hotel's fault, it would definitely effect your stay here. I'd suggest checking with the hotel first before booking to see if the construction's still ongoing.

Room Tip: Not directly behind the reception / restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dantilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at tubtim 3 times over as many months. I am a big fan. I love the ambience and all that goes with it. You can look at my earlier post and nothing has changes BUT the local government is currently using this beach as a drop off point for cement and other materials for road upgrades. They have erected a kind of mini barge pier smack bang in the middle the beach where they unload truckloads of construction material onto the beach. On a recent visit a massive barge arrived at about 9pm on a Saturday evening and all day Sunday we were sat right in. The middle of a construction site. According to the staff at Tubtim this is going on until new year. Take note.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnandelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We thought we'd try Tubtim after hearing some rave reviews, but our experience of just one night was enough. The hotel doesn't have an online booking system, so we had to call and had trouble getting confirmation from the receptionist who seemed disinterested. Plus, we had to them book a speed boat via another hotel, so not ideal. The room was a drab concrete shack with no amenities (literally searched for a while for a power outlet) and the breakfast was a choice of a few items--no buffet. The beach last time I was there was beautiful--long and sandy with a nice gently surf for kids--but this time there's major construction happening-perhaps to build a pier, I can't tell, but the beach is all obstructed with piles of sand and concrete piping, plus cranes and barges. Not very picturesque, to say the least. For a little bit less, right around the corner is Samed Villa--a much better experience and well worth your patronage.

Room Tip: The high end rooms/villas may be better equipped, but for the price you can find better elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJohn495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.9 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 47 in Ko Samet
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sangthian Beach Resort
Sangthian Beach Resort
#15 of 20 in Ko Samet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubtim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubtim Resort

Property: Tubtim Resort
Address: 13/15 Moo 4 Tambon Phe, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubtim Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tubtim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubtim Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing