We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we'd seen before booking!”
Review of Tubtim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tubtim Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If only we'd seen before booking!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at tubtim and found everything about the place a bit run down. This is my 10th visit to Thailand and we arrived with no booking but having done our homework we knew this place and the location/cost. The room was full of Mosquitos and only sheer curtains (bright early mornings). We looked at other close hotels and for the same price we moved to the silver sands a few minutes walk away. When we told the manager he was nonplussed. The silver sands staff even took our bags. One plus.... We did enjoy the dinner. Breakfast the next morning was awful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danoir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    122
    75
    33
    28
See reviews for
64
115
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights recently. Beachfront bungalow, A/C, cable TV, fridge, beautifully soft bed, clean sheers, small balcony and falling distance to the beach. I loved it! Compared with White Sand Beach it is bliss. No Russian tour groups, jet skis or other annoyances. Very quiet in the evening. Many people have complained about the staff but I found them to be pleasant and helpful. Their English is not great but many of them are from up-country and are probably bot getting very high salaries. The food is so-so but if you stick to the Thai food it is fine. Soak up the ambience, clean water, the view and the peacefulness. If you want bland, 5-star, obsequious service then best go somewhere else. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnandelBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The fan room I'm staying in is great and has been greatly improved over the years I've stayed here. For 800baht I think it's a good deal. I do wish they would empty the outside bins on the balcony tho (when I first checked in I had to do it myself). Room was cleaned yesterday, but they left the rubbish in that balcony bin!
The reception staff have been fine. But the restaurant staff, the guys, are awful. Usually I get ignored, or given a menu with disdain after 15 mins. I basically have to sit in the inside part or there is absolutely no chance of being served. Usually I get my own menu and order from the woman at the til. I'm now going to start getting food from the place next door. I'm not sure if this is because I'm on my own so maybe not worth their effort, or it's just their service.
Just for the record, they do know I am staying at their resort.
Anyway, the beach and relaxed atmosphere make up for that.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Tubtim Resort twice and loved it. The bungalows have all the essentials, are clean and the the location is just perfect. We basically were the only ones on the beach in May and October and you can walk along the beach to the center and other beaches. The food of the restaurant is very good.The staff at the reception is not very nice but all in all I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we stayed in a bungalow in the A zone, which was really ok. no frills, but clean, bright, with a/c and fan, and a veranda to sit on. well worth the money i would say as we paid the same price before in another resort, which was definitely much much worse.

the beach is nice although a little too busy and packed with sunbeds and umbrellas, but just go round the corner to nua beach for a small secluded beach with few people.

breakfast is not really great, there is no buffet, but you can choose from menu A, which means a boring breakfast with poor quality, and if you're not an egg-and-sausage eater like me, but prefer muesli you just have to pay extra....

the biggest problem here is the staff and their attitude, bored, uninterested, not friendly or helpful at all. mind you, after one week we were here they changed as if they had recognized suddenly that we were staying at their resort! so they CAN be friendly if they want! overall, still a very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Koh Samed can be hectic, especially during the touristey period from December to February. Beaches get crowded with loud music at night, and although it can be pleasant, it is also nice to be able to go to bed and have a good night sleep. Tub Tim beach with Tub Tim resort offers the perfect option, with a beautiful, clean and quite quiet beach, while still close to Ao Pai beach where the madness is taking place!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow higher up, further away from the beach but at least it is quieter and more romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liline92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Pros: The seafront room is beautiful and absolutely worth the 3500 baht ( christmas period).
The place has a great location, right on the beach.

Cons:
the lady at the reception is absolutely useless and unhelpful.
She wouldn't even call a taxi for you.
She doesn't even know what room type will be available the next day( I guess she doesn't even bother writing down the room type that are booked).
When we asked if there was availability she said that there will be rooms available the next day but she didn't know which ones.
They say they accept cash only but that's a lie.... As the atm is constantly broken and nobody cares... When I said that I needed to check out, the only kind person working there, told me I could use my credit card.
No room service.
Incompetent waiters... Who bring you the wrong food then they get angry if you tell them.
Nobody will help you with the luggage, they will just look at you and laugh.
Club music playing until 3 am.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gusilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.9 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
2.2 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
Avatara Resort
Avatara Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barbados Terrace
Barbados Terrace
#4 of 47 in Ko Samet
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sangthian Beach Resort
Sangthian Beach Resort
#15 of 20 in Ko Samet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubtim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubtim Resort

Property: Tubtim Resort
Address: 13/15 Moo 4 Tambon Phe, Ko Samet, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tubtim Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tubtim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubtim Hotel Rayong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing