We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/04/21
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$32
Priceline
Travelocity$32
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
67
143
85
43
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
67
143
85
43
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view front row bars and restaurants beach holiday yogurt bungalow beaches bangkok island hut sand pier trio thai boat bay mainland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 371 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Koh Samed can be hectic, especially during the touristey period from December to February. Beaches get crowded with loud music at night, and although it can be pleasant, it is also nice to be able to go to bed and have a good night sleep. Tub Tim beach with Tub Tim resort offers the perfect option, with a beautiful, clean and quite quiet beach, while still close to Ao Pai beach where the madness is taking place!

Room tip: Ask for a bungalow higher up, further away from the beach but at least it is quieter and more romantic!
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liline92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pros: The seafront room is beautiful and absolutely worth the 3500 baht ( christmas period).
The place has a great location, right on the beach.

Cons:
the lady at the reception is absolutely useless and unhelpful.
She wouldn't even call a taxi for you.
She doesn't even know what room type will be available the next day( I guess she doesn't even bother writing down the room type that are booked).
When we asked if there was availability she said that there will be rooms available the next day but she didn't know which ones.
They say they accept cash only but that's a lie.... As the atm is constantly broken and nobody cares... When I said that I needed to check out, the only kind person working there, told me I could use my credit card.
No room service.
Incompetent waiters... Who bring you the wrong food then they get angry if you tell them.
Nobody will help you with the luggage, they will just look at you and laugh.
Club music playing until 3 am.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gusilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We're travelling for 3 months so our budget was tight, after 6 weeks of Nepal, we needed a relaxing place in the sun, on ko Samed we found it.

When we arrived they only had an air con hut and heated shower for 1700b, but is was a weekend, 2 days later we were able to get a room for 800b, which looks almost the same, but no air con (which we didn't use anyway), no TV (which had only 2 english channels and they were awful anyway, CNN & HBO), plus a cold shower (which after a hot day in the sun was very welcome)

As to prices, Tibtum's prices are reasonable compared to other resorts, we looked around and couldn't find anything equivalent for the price (lowest we found was 1900b, but up to 4000b)

As to the staff, the two people we found on reception were great, as to everyone else, they're fine, they don't hang on your every whim waiting for your slightest nod to spring into action, but I prefer that to constant hassle, they leave you to it, they hang around on their own chatting, but once you indicate you want something they're on it pretty quick, and we never had a problem with anyone.

As to cleanliness, the place is great, the huts are very clean, the bed linen clean and white and the bathrooms spotless. The restaurant has a great selection of food, of course the Thai food and seafood is the best (don't bother with the burger!), and as to the included American breakfast, avoid if you can, it's pretty pathetic.

Wifi is pretty good, certainly fast enough to video Skype call back home, so that's good. We stayed in hut A30 and we could just get online from our veranda, but the bar and restaurant area is big so just go there.

The beach has plenty of sunshine from early morning until 5, unlike some beaches that have too much tree coverage on the beach, so a lot of shade (two beaches south of here)

Ambience, was quiet and relaxed, if you want to party, the next beach north (10 min walk on the beach) has louder music and bars, and the next one up even more (although we never ventured that far, but we could hear it in the distance)

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it

Room tip: To be honest all the rooms seemed pretty good, nothing is more than 60 secs from the beach, the top end rooms are right on the beach and looked good, but the rooms for 800bt seemed the best value for what you get
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalisapremoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

PROS:
- Quiet location, a 5 - 10 minute beach walk to where the action is;
- Low amount of mosquitoes;
- ATM located within the resort at reception;
- 12 pm check-out time.

CONS:
- Only standard room facilities (some could find this sub-par for the price tag);
- 2000 baht/night for an ocean view room (could be deemed to be too expensive);
- Staff not overly open and were essentially invisible to conversation (could be a problem for some).

My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights (Friday - Sunday) at one of Tubtim's ocean view bungalows (~2000 baht/night).

The staff were rather apathetic and not so open, which wasn't so much of a problem as I don't mind the pick up the key and pay procedure. They took us to a few rooms first and allowed us to pick which one we preferred. Check-in time was 2 pm however we got there late at around 10 pm. Check-out was then rather late at 12 pm which was a big plus.

After reading previous reviews, yes the facilities within the rooms are not too crash hot, for a ocean view room this includes A/C, roof fan, a very small LCD TV (3 English channels), and a hot water shower (poor drainage). The room was extremely clean and towels and shower products were included. As the main purpose of my trip to Koh Samet was to relax on the beach, the lack of room facilities was not a problem. An ATM was also located just next to the reception.

The restaurant is located right next to the water on the beach, the menu was decent which wasn't just restricted to Thai options and was relatively cheap (~100 baht for a 650 mL beer, ~300 baht for a plate of snapper). The free breakfast menu (till 10 am) was rather basic and included 2 eggs, tea or coffee, 2 pieces of thin white toast, or a Thai breakfast option. Further breakfast options could also be purchased and costed around 100 baht, however the portion sizes were rather small, as is the case for Thailand.

The location of the resort I found was very nice as it was away from the hustle and bustle of the louder areas of the northern side of the east coast. Mosquitoes were also not a problem in both the rooms and down on the beach. While walking further up the beach towards the more populated areas big swarms of mosquitoes were common.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PsyChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

When I write what I did in the title, what I meant to say was...with just a little more effort, this place "could" be perfect.
The location alone could almost warrant a "perfect review" all by itself but then; and I really hate to write this, most of the staff here spoil your start to the day - by their facial expressions which tell you they are bored or really don't feel like working thank you very much.
There are one or two very helpful, cheerful people though in Reception; however saying that, it depends on the timing and so even there, I have been "greeted" with disinterest and seeming ambivalence.
The "B" Type Hut my friend and I were first housed looked nice on the outside but inside, the decor looked drab and disappointing. It had two beds literally "plonked" in the room with a tiny television mounted in the middle of a large empty wall. There was a wash basin and a shower room and so that's what you get in Koh Samed for 1,700-Thai Baht, a price which can only be rationalized by the Tubtim's location and the fact they obviously try and get from patrons "as much as the market will bear".
As for essential services like "WiFi", they had it but it didn't extend to provide service to either Hut my friend and I occupied", I write "either Hut" because we asked to be rehoused when the television packed-up halfway into the 2nd day. My friend's genuine offer to repair one of Tubtim's WiFI access points too was looked upon with disdain.
Although our new accommodation in an "A" Type Hut was much nicer, my friend and I decided to head back to Pattaya because we became tired - very quickly of what seemed the local's churlish "money, money, money" attitude which; as people also also employed by Thailand' tourist industry, has me personally - feeling very sad.
I should by the way give special mention to the "Free American Breakfast". In my humble opinion a couple of cold breakfast sausages and a funny colored dollop of scrambled egg had me wondering why Tubtim waste their time offering a "free breakfast", if they don't put any effort into making sure that it's hot, appetizing and looks pleasing to the eye.
As of writing this review, I have workmen repairing a neighboring Hut shouting to one another, talking loud and dragging metal ladders along cement paths. I have also heard drilling and hammering - all well before 9:00AM.
To summarize then, all I can say is "One nice club sandwich doesn't make for a nice resort". If things had been a LOT better at Tubtim, I would have stayed a week, perhaps longer. As it was though, 2-nights was more than enough thank you very much - at the Tubtim Resort.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tui - aka Pornp... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews