We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When can we come back?!”
Review of Samed Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samed Villa Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Ko Samet
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When can we come back?!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect beachfront location on a paradise island.

We stayed in a garden view bungalow which was very nice and a bargain at around £35 a night (high season). Nice comfortable king size bed and good air conditioning (we needed it!)

Room was cleaned every day with a free bottle of water for each person left by the cleaners.

A few Mosquitos managed to get in despite the screens over the doors and windows but there was a useful electric swatter in the room that catches and kills any flying insects easily!

Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good, freshly cooked omelettes with your choice of filling, toast, sausages, ham, fresh fruit, cereal etc, etc. the only annoying thing was there there were quite a few flies around some of the food but that had to be expected as the eating and buffet areas are all outside!

Dinner is served on the beach and is all reasonably priced with plenty of choice. They also had barbecues with fresh meat and fish that you could choose before it was cooked. The only downside were the local vendors selling sky lanterns and other junk (but I did buy a sarong which I was very happy with!)

There are a couple of resident dogs who hang around on the beach, were very friendly and were a nice addition as we missed our dog!

You can hire a kayak from the hotel which is an excellent way to see some of the beaches along the east coast of the island. Local women offer foot scrubs and massages which are cheap and worth having.

I would also recommend hiring a quad for the day from down the beach. There is plenty to see on the island although the roads are Dodgy and are just mud tracks that a normal car could never use! Anyway I digress...

I would definitely recommend staying at the Samed Villa Resort. There is a lot of accommodation on the island but I didn't see one that I would rather have stayed in. Would love to return here some time, a must if you are planning a trip to Thailand and want to spend some time in Paradise (bear in mind that some parts of the island are very poor though, the locals live in awful conditions in shacks that stink and are surrounded by rubbish!)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    241
    74
    19
    10
See reviews for
176
234
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at a really bad hotel at Koh Samed, but our friends stayed at this resort. And therefore we spend a lot of time here, and they treated us like we where guests! They had a nice family bungalow with one nice room with veranda for the adults and a bathroom. The kids had their own room with bathroom on the other part of the bungalow. We enjoyed ourself at the beach, at the spa (which was amazingly good to a nice price) and at the restaurant. If you ever go to Koh Samed I would definitely stay at this resort. Its definitely worth the cost!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite. Very suitable for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohanneSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

WOW!!! Its was great! Not just because our room is front row connected to the beach view but when I compared Koh Samed that I ever been last 10 years ago ... just can say WOW. Its really still in a good condition. Beach, People, Nature ... still really nice.
Hotel room for us is really good, Not too big and too small but have all what people need on the trip. What is good idea is Mosquito Killer! ( Look funny machine but worked good! )
What surprised me most is people who woked there soooo friendly and helpful although sometime seem like less worker to take care all guests in high season but still very very fine and they was soooo active. Specially on the 24 December during Gala Dinner, WOW they working soooo hard and
let me tell you ...
GALA DINNER was Sooooooo Extreamly Good taste and Resonable prise!!!! I was many GALA dinner on new year and Christmas time in Thailand but can say "Gala Dinner from Samed Resort was great, got 100 points!" , also in anothers evening we only ate at the Grill restaurant of the Hotel because the taste soo good and service again as always GOOD!
What only annoed me is typical europian behavior about booked the Sunbed in every morning... its too extreamly selffish, specially you cant fight with the big group if you are single in the trip or a couple travellers ...although its really HARD to solve but I hope that all traveller have respect to each other more then everybody will happy in all holiday everywhere in the world!

But some travellers also was nice and sooo kind there too.

I can say that my trip in Samed Island was great, Also sellers was nice and prise was ok too, Chicken Grill on the beach ( Its really good taste! ) . Dont forget to try one!

Room Tip: Room A1 was sooooo good! Directly view to to the beach in the right view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Behambiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lysekil, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Samed Villa offered us, family with teenagers, a perfect stay for a week. The breakfast was great with a variety of dishes, lots of fresh fruit and an egg station where you could get omelets or fried eggs just as you liked them. We had lunch and dinner at the restaurants a few times and were never disappointed - fresh and tasty food at a good price. The surroundings is very nice and our bungalows were good, clean, had effective AC and big verandas. There is also a very nice spa at the hotel, well worth a visit.

We booked transfer from Suvarnabhumi airport and it worked out fine, as we were a bit late the speed boat wasn´t there when we arrived at Ban Phe but after a phone call to Samed Villa, a boat turned up within 10 minutes.

I guess the beach is nice enough but a bit crowded, so instead we walked about 100 meters to the next beach which we found more at our taste.

Some people has written about the noise from the disco nearby and yes, there is some noise but not really loud. I guess it also depends on which bungalow you stay in...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tekaeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a great first stay on Koh Samed at Samed Villa Resort. We stayed for 4 nights and really did not venture that far out of the resort for the whole time. We ended up having pretty much all our meals starting from a good breakfast to an excellent lunch and ending with BBQ dinner on the beach. The meals were all excellent and very reasonably priced and with the best view on the island - why move? We were worried that going anywhere else would be a let down.

We used the resort provided shuttle from BKK which connected with a speed boat - no hassles and we were at the resort beach from downtown BKK 3 hours door to door.

The only downside is the noise - the owners have double glazed the windows in the rooms, but there is a consistent beat from the nearby Silver Sands resort that means reading in your room at night is not really possible, and even watching tv is a bit of a struggle. Notwithstanding the beat, after a long day on the beach & an excellent dinner, a couple of ear plugs, we were all able to sleep comfortably on very comfy beds. Rooms further away from reception are possibly quieter.

There seems to be a good mix of guests, alot of familes and extended families - mainly European and as mentioned in other reviews the resort is owned by a Swiss national and this comes across in the well maintained gardens, happy staff and excellent food - wish I could get the museli brand or recipe for back home.

We were very happy with the laid back nature of the island, the staff were happy to help where they can and language was not a barrier. We did venture out on two tours ran by Samsumut boat company snorkelling organised by the resort and they were fine and allowed us to see other parts of Koh Samed and also some neighbouring islands. The snorkelling was ok, the reef is pretty bleached, but plenty of fish.

As to other reviews, I would agree it is one of the best spots on the island - still close enough to walk to the main beach and 'shops' and restaurants if you want to, without getting caught up in all the day trippers and boats that invade the other beaches. Mrs CorporateFlyer had a massage in the Lotus House and was very impressed.

Highly recommended for a family break on an island that still has natural beauty, fantastic white sand beaches and low key development.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CorporateFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Family of five stayed for 5 nights in a family bungalow. As it is not a 5 star resort, one cannot expect the amenities to be that of a 5 star hotel but for its rating it was perfect and even exceeded this rating. The accommodation has all that one requires and is clean and neat. The food is tasty but the menu could do with a bit more variety. The setting is beautiful and the proximity to the sea makes for a true beach holiday. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and one sees the the owners walking around quite often. I am always suspicious of compulsory dinners over holiday periods, but the dinner on Christmas eve was delicious and well presented with a lot of thought and effort also going into the decor and lights around the tables all set up on the beach. There was free wifi all around the hotel premises which was great. My husband and I have been to this resort 3 times before and this is why we decided to take our family who were visiting us from South Africa and we were not disappointed. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joandarcy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odder, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Samed Villa Resort for 5 nights in July 2012. We booked a speedboat from Ban Phe and 15 min later we arrived to the nicest beach. Staff from the resort was already on the beach to take your luggage. We stayed in a nice 2 room villa - very nice and clean and only 1 minute walk to the beach with sunchairs and umbrellas (included) Very nice and service minded staff. Great breakfast with egg station and a nice seaview. We had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and they serve really good food to reasanoble prices. There is generally many nice restaurants along the beach, and fire show every night on the beach - extremely cosy for both adults and children. We can highly recommend this resort for families. Koh Samed is just so relaxed and expecially in July which is off season but still with nice weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankdanfex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samet hotels
0.8 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
699 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ao Prao Resort
Ao Prao Resort
#4 of 20 in Ko Samet
426 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
Le Vimarn Cottages & Spa
#5 of 20 in Ko Samet
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samed Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samed Villa Resort

Property: Samed Villa Resort
Address: 89 Moo 4 | Ban Phe Muang, Ko Samet 21160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Ko Samet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samet
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Samet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The affordable escape in a lush tropical garden facing the sea on Koh Samed, Thailand" Samed Villa Resort offers an ambiance of simple well-designed rooms in a pristine natural garden setting right on the beach and belongs now to the best accommodations on the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Samed Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samed Villa Hotel Koh Samet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing