We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/17/21
Hotels.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/17/21
Agoda.com
$51
View deal
eDreams$59
Booking.com$59
Priceline$59
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (891)
Filter reviews
891 results
Traveler rating
409
348
97
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
409
348
97
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view lotus spa egg station breakfast buffet beach chairs nice bungalows ban phe pier lovely beach main beach beaches sea resort villa koh island bangkok rocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 891 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in an ocean view bungalow and absolutely loved it. Comfortable, clean, and beautiful. The restaurant is very good too, with dining on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We rented a kayak and enjoyed our toodle around some of the bays. The beach in front of the hotel was really nice and we were in it as much as possible. A short little walk to the left takes you to a funky little beach with great 70's rock music. Enjoyed visiting there for a nice change.

Excellent island vacation and from outward appearances of the other accommodations felt like we were in the best spot on the island. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artisan1475
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Samed Villa has both independent houses and apartment style rooms available. The houses (villas) are on the ocean side of the property and the rooms in a larger apartment type building are "garden view" in the back of the property. Both are very nice, well kept, roomy and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good with western selections as well as traditional Thai dishes all at prices well below what you might expect in Bangkok. Access to the resort is either directly on the beach by speed boat or through the main pier via a slower boat from the mainland then a taxi on to the resort. The staff was very helpful and pleasant and clearly dedicated to making their guest's stay the best possible. the grounds are beautifully landscaped with flowers and butterflies everywhere when we visited in August. It is not a 'party' beach so much as a place where couples and families can have a quiet and relaxed time with minimal pressure to do much more than lie around and enjoy the lovely surroundings and the beach. It is in a fairly central location so walking to other resorts or to the small town is easy. Near by are rental places for motor scooters, masks snorkels and fins and if you are into SCUBA that is not too far away either. Unlike some of the island resorts, Samed Villa does provide free WiFi and decent satellite TV. I spent four days here with family who came to visit from the US and we all enjoyed the time very much. Definitely recommended.

Room tip: All seem very nice without any special problems or features. The only difference is the view, ocean or garden.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The resort is in a good location and a quick speedboat trip away from Ban Phe.

We stayed in a family garden room which was nice. Rooms were clean and well designed with adequate amenities. The beach towels were replaced ever morning.

Breakfasts were sufficient. We had a few meals at the resort that were very nice but enjoyed having the option of many others close by. It is easy to walk into town and to the next beach on.

The kids enjoyed the beach and you can rent kayak and snorkels, but it is not a resort in the sense that any other entertainment is provided for them.

We booked our transfer from and to Bangkok with no problems, drivers arrived on time and picked and dropped us at our hotels in Bangkok.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Went to Samed Villas for 3 nights. Took speedboat to get here form the mainland town (which is 2.5hrs from Bangkok). The speedboat took about 0.5hrs; ride was choppy.
Hotel is nice and clean, nestled at the end of a small stretch of beach. Staff are excellend and take great care of the guests. Only drawback was that it is on a rocky part of the beach (the sandy part is only 30 steps away). Water and sand on beach are excellent. Alos, there is a dirty [atch od standing water between Samed Villas and the White Sand hotel next door; which should really be removed or fixed.

Room tip: We took a room facing the ocean but really any room further back (& cheaper) would have been fine. Ocean view is limited due to vegetation growth and these rooms are over the rocks part of the ocean. SO not really worth the extra cost
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alikarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ko Samet or Ko Samed (both correct) was a fantastic find, just three hours from Bangkok, a lot more sedate than (Phuket, Ko Samui or Pattaya) but for my money that's a good thing, still if you want to stay out drinking all night you can (real cheap) but the vice side of the aforementioned places does not seem to be here.

We had no real plan on arrival but had booked two nights at Pudsa Bungalows thinking we would have a romantic authentic island Bungalow experience and left after the first night feeling like we needed a really good wash. ScarletLauren mentions Pudsa in her review as the "next resort which was pretty unattractive". So day two we moved to Samed Villa Resort (spelt with a D) great value at only $60 aud (low season) per night included breakfast for two and free Wi-Fi, in my book it was pure comfort, this resort is one that looks better than the pictures on their web site and that’s because the rooms have been totally rebuilt. (don't confuse this resort with Samet Villa Resort, it may be a nice place but it is not the one I stayed at, also you will not find Semed Villa Resort on the agoda hotel web site. http://www.samedvilla.com/

Our room was a good size featuring a king bed + a single bed all in the one room, small stocked mini bar fridge, chips, cookies, chocolates for purchase, Tea and coffee making facilities, Plasma TV with cable, air conditioning and fan, room safe, wardrobe, bedside tables lamps and so on. Beach towels as well as bath towels each day, en-suite bathroom and most important very good fly screens, it even had a rechargeable tennis racket style bug zapper to get that pesky mosquito, and a torch to help you walk up the beach at night when you try to decide on which restaurant to visit, the room was comfortable and clean, at the front of each villa is a good size veranda with two deck chairs, foot stools, side table and a cloths rack.

Breakfast is adequate, hot and tasty, a mix of American/Asian buffet and is served in the restaurant or you can sit outside overlooking the water. The beach out front is transformed every night from a sea of deck chairs to a romantic restaurant with hundreds of fairy lights, table cloths, background music and great food as is twenty other venues up the beach and the food at everyone I tried was tasty and cheap, menus are large and boast dishes from Asia, Italy, French, Western, Seafood just to name a few.

At Jep’s beachside restaurant a five minute walk away, as a party of four adults we shared, four entrée meals, four main meals, two sides of Asian greens, 4 bottles of beer, 2 cans of soft drink, 2 bottles of 300ml sweet wine and including a tip the whole thing cost $11 aud per person. (this is the norm at most places we ate).

I wish we had found this place when our kids were young, this Ao Phai beach seems to be the main restaurant strip, with fire shows and fire works, every night up and down the beach, some restaurants have small bands at night and the kids love it, making new friends and playing in the sand around the restaurant tables when they get board sitting down, mums and dads just looked so relaxed knowing the kids were having a good time.

This beach also boasts one road full of shops hidden down an ally right off the beach, shops are mainly 7/11, and beach wear, sun screen, kids beach toys, togs, grog, cigarettes, personal hygiene and a chemist, doctor, tour bookings, motor bike and quad bike hire, return boat bookings and so on.

I would recommend this island for a honeymoon, family of all ages, couples but not so much singles although on the Tuesday night of my trip coming home late from dinner at least one nightclub on the beach had a fair crowd of young adults.

We paid for a private speed boat from the mainland that dropped us right on the beach in front of our hotel $60 for 4 people, but the ferry is very cheap and a taxi (ute style with two rows of seats in back will take you to your hotel). We paid the resort to take us back to the mainland in their speed boat. (don't sweat the transport it is easy to plan both sides).

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cartblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews