We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do yourself a favor... and don't stay there !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Khao Yai Garden Lodge
Ranked #27 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Pak Chong
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Please do yourself a favor... and don't stay there !”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed there a few weeks ago, and our experience was pretty bad to say the least. The budget rooms look just like prison cells, averaging ~5 sqm. with an hard mattress that is thrown directly on the floor and stained sheets.

The food is rather expensive and nothing stands out.

As for the tours, we booked one through the reception and were made to join the greenleaf guesthouse group, so I can't say anything about their guides, but they do charge more than next door, and provide no additional services whatsoever.

Add grumpy staff on top of that, and you'll quickly realize that you'd rather go somewhere else !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Antoine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    54
    39
    15
    12
See reviews for
25
62
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Unawatuna, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This is a fairly simple place but its in a great location just a few km from the park and is such fantastic value, you can't complain at these prices. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are very clean with new furniture and clean sheets and mattresses. great value mini bar and 7-11 next door. The restaurant is also simple but has good Thai food and lovely staff.

The park day trip was everything i was looking for, great guide who really knows his stuff, a range of different spots and terrains and I was with a nice group of other guests, we thoroughly enjoyed the birds and the elephants and just being in the park all day. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Not sure, I think best rooms are around the pool and garden at the back, mine was a budget room near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterAjith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doetinchem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The place has a lot of potential but it's a big drawback that things like the plumming aren't working properly. Also the pool doesn't look very clean. What this place needs is a good makeover and it will easily reach an above average status.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josgreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We've had a good big room with nice bathroom, ac, freezer, free water etc..
The 1,5 day trip we had with mister Bonzai was great! The man is working over 25 years in the park and knows al the good spots. If you can manage to go with him you will be sure of a wunderfull trip. We have seen Eliphants, Gibbons, Hornbills, scorpions, turtells, deer, spiders, lots of birds and insects and an wild bull (bonzai has seen this beast only twice before in his 25 years of experience in the park).
The lodge owners are building a new complex down the road so they aren't investing any money in maintenace of the old complex.
So it's beter to stay only for the safari trip or stay in the new complex.

Room Tip: get the premium and ask for a bit discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20132910hghg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Khao Yai Garden Lodge at the beginning of February in the Grand Deluxe Room. The Room was very spacious, yet basic, and the bed was pretty hard...although I will say most of the beds we encounter in Thailand were very hard. The restaurant was just ok, as was the service...our shower head broke, and we informed the staff first thing in the morning...hoping that when we returned back from the full day tour something would be done...but it was laying just where we had left it when we returned...communication was a little difficult at times, so maybe that was part of it.

Our first afternoon/evening there we did the bat cave tour...it started at 3:30 and lasted 4 hours...this tour could have been cut in half...we left at 3:30 and milled around for at least an hour on the side of the road on the way to the bat cave "looking" for birds...finally we made our way to the cave, and then waited for the migration to begin...the migration was a cool thing to see...but they really drag this tour out...we really could have left the hotel at 5 and been much happier...and I hate to say this because he was such a nice guy, but the guide for the bat tour "Tommy" isn't really cut out for the whole tour guide thing...he made the 4 hours a little more painful...most people start their stay out this way...doing the bat tour on the first day of their arrival, so it really gave us a bad impression of what was to come and had us worried for the Full Day Tour to the National Park the next day.

THANKFULLY, the tour guides the next day were GREAT...and we had a really good day out...even got to see a wild elephant in the park...so the Full Day Tour saved the day and helped with my rating. Also, I should mention that we used the resort's transfer service to pick us up in Bangkok and drive us back, and we were very happy with the transfer.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gringa430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at Khao Yai recently and found the place to be very clean, spacious, value for money and lovely, with warm accommodating staff. The highlight of our stay was taking a tour into the National Park with an extrordinary guide named Mr A. Not only did he spot an abundance of Wildlife during the day but he also extended himself more than his duty of calling when helping us to organise our stay within the park itself and by helping us to arrange transport etc. He even dropped us to our door of the accomodation we stayed at within the park. What an asset to this business he is. When visiting this part of the world we would definitely say Stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoechuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

The hotel and rooms are rather basic.
We booked a Deluxe which were not so "Deluxe" but quit big and very spacy.
Hotel has a rather nice pool.
The shower did not have prober warm water as the heater was not powerful enough.
The hotel is located rather isolated on the way to the national park, but if you just use it as a base for trips to the park it is fine.
We got a free pick up from the Pak Chong and the staff were quite helpful.
Went on a one day trip to the park with the guide from the hotel and it was a nice trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pak Chong hotels
0.0 mi away
Khao Yai Cottage
Khao Yai Cottage
#16 of 101 in Pak Chong
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lilawalai Resort
Lilawalai Resort
#6 of 101 in Pak Chong
34 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Goodville Cottage
The Goodville Cottage
#12 of 101 in Pak Chong
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Eco Valley Lodge Khao Yai
Eco Valley Lodge Khao Yai
#17 of 65 in Pak Chong
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Khaoyai Fantasy Resort
Khaoyai Fantasy Resort
#15 of 65 in Pak Chong
15 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kham Reserve
Kham Reserve
#21 of 101 in Pak Chong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Yai Garden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Yai Garden Lodge

Property: Khao Yai Garden Lodge
Address: Hong Ahan Ying Yong, | 135 Thanon Thannarat (Street 2090), Km 7, Pak Chong 30130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Pak Chong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Khao Yai Garden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Khao Yai Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Yai Garden Hotel Pak Chong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing