We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend”
Review of Sala Khao Yai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sala Khao Yai
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Pak Chong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had amazing weekend.
Guess because we only foreigners had reservation the staff welcomed us by name once we approached the hotel which is a plus from the beginning. Khun Par was very helpful with hotel information. Dinner was delicious, with nice view and good service.Can't say overpriced. Buffet breakfast was a bit poor.
Good choice for not more than 2 or 3 nights to stay, as nothing around to do. Standard rooms big but dark (Black colours wall) villa in the middle is amazing. Stunning view, private pool, bbq area, big enough to accommodate more than 2 pax.
Definitely come back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Three Ocean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 102 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

i went to many many boutique hotel in thailand and i have to admit this one is one of the best hotel for me. they only have 7 room so there's not lot of ppl and the location is on the mountain, very quiet and good weather. plus the staffs are really nice. Breakfast is quality (i'm very picky with food but i loved what they served) comparing to Kirimaya this one is much much better (but of course , you have to pay more hehe) however if you are not staying in pool villa, you have to use the pool in front of the bar which is not private at all. but the weather was so cold thus i haven't try the pool. and i haven't try the spa yet. maybe next time

Room Tip: there is almost no different between regular room and room with balcony. the balcony is on the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddb4llz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just leave every thing in town, let's enjoy the best natures and the fresh cool air in Khaoyai. It is the most beautiful and the best boutique hotel in Khaoyai. The staffs are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious. The room rate is quite pricely, but i still recommend to come once to experience . Before you come, make sure that you are able to walk up the stairs to reach the hotel. Go and enjoy on top of the mountain!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suchada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nature is the over-arching theme in Sala Khaoyai. The owner owns 100 units of land, and the resort only sits on 8 units. The rest of the land is now dedicated to build 5 types of trees – fast growing Mahogany, Teak, Rubber, Makha (Hard wood tree which takes 10 people to hug when it grows to full size) and Takian (Thais apparently know this as the holy tree). Sala Khaoyai is definitely doing its part to continue to uphold Khaoyai’s ozone quality, which is ranked 7th in the world.

We stayed for one night in the Pool Villa and two nights in the room. Tip is to book early and go on weekdays (Sun/Mon counts) as we got 50% off the rates. We got the second tier Sala Pool Villa as the top tier is for families. Our pool villa has a huge sunbed, then stairs that recede to our private villa, with a small pool (also sterilized by seasalt and not chlorine) and swing overlooking the east (sunrise view!). The room is modern with touches of nature – wood hangers, dark wood washing basin, bird ornaments. GORGEOUS!!

Also near the national park entrance so it's convenient for weekend getaway to slow down. Very romantic too! :) More photos and details at http://www.eatprayflying.com/resort-sala-khaoyai-i/

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank espie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were there for 2 nights. I totally agree with the previous comment about hotel manager. He doesn't have service mind at all. He and some of the staffs mentioned everything about the price all the time. They ruined our mood since our arrival. We stayed at pool villa number 7. The view and weather was very nice. But our pool and roof balcony can be seen from the restaurant. So there was no privacy at all. In the room, we had small lizard adjacent to the bed and we can hear it's voice all night. Even if we got half price deals, it seems to us that this hotel doesn't worth our money, our times, and our efforts to be there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Umeiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I found this in an American Airlines magazine published for just first class passengers. Perched at top of a hill with about 120 steps to climb to the lobby this is not going to be everyone’s cup of tea. To me the building is far from pretty and is contemporary in every aspect. It is not without its faults, our room had dangerous steps between the bathroom level and the bedroom with no handrail and the bath was perched on the edge of this level with a drop of 750 mm with no guard rail.

On the plus side the place radiated the most relaxed cosseted atmosphere that I can remember in a hotel for a long time. If you want to kick off your shoes and time out with peace and tranquility then this is the place to be for a few days. The views are excellent and at this time of the year being rainy season constantly changing with interesting cloud formations interacting with the mountains,

Its certainly not cheap, especially for Thailand but I even with its faults I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJS32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Firstly this place is great for its atmosphere, weather and surroundings. The rooms are excellent however could be better ( no steam room , no Ipod dock and a few other things ) for the price you pay you can easily get those facilities at other hotels that i have stayed in. I took the 1 bed room pool villa (the best room they got ) The room was big enough and you get a big garden with a pool and a small hut called a sala . The view was great. The pool was small but good enough. During the night if you leave your lights open, dragon flies swarm the pool and other areas and so you can't swim in it. You have to tell them to come and clean it.
The common area is severely lacking in facilities. It does not have a gym. The staff are poorly trained . They are good but not great. Not 5 stars material. Dinner service ends pretty early , around 9pm. So if you feel hungry during the night, you might just have to settle for chocolates in the mini bar. The food was good however i did have stomach problems the day after. I am not 100% sure if i got sick from the food i had at SALA, but i am pretty sure . During the dinner service i had ordered some seafood and it didnt taste very fresh.

The breakfast is by far the most appalling, worst breakfast i have ever eaten at ANY hotel ( 2 star hotels have better breakfast) they give u just bread, jam and eggs, some sausage and porridge.

When i was there, the weather was about 20 C and it was windy. It was truly amazing, you could just feel more alive because of the fresh air . The view was breathtaking . Another bad thing about the hotel is that check in is at 4PM!! and check out was at noon! We asked for a late check out but they did not agree.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for extreme privacy, quietness, serene space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonyzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pak Chong hotels
18.4 mi away
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
Escape Khao Yai Hotel
#5 of 38 in Pak Chong
175 reviews
8 mi away
The Paz Khao Yai
The Paz Khao Yai
#6 of 38 in Pak Chong
42 reviews
10 mi away
Muthi Maya Forest Pool Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
Botanica Khao Yai
Botanica Khao Yai
#4 of 38 in Pak Chong
188 reviews
12.3 mi away
Thames Valley Khao Yai
Thames Valley Khao Yai
#1 of 38 in Pak Chong
183 reviews
12.6 mi away
Prairie Hills Resort
Prairie Hills Resort
#15 of 111 in Pak Chong
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Khao Yai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Khao Yai

Address: 99 Moo 11 | Wangkatha subdistrict, Pak Chong 30130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Ratchasima Province > Pak Chong District > Pak Chong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pak Chong
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pak Chong
Price Range: $201 - $842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sala Khao Yai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate embrace all your own consisting of only 7 special, private rooms and pool villa accommodation, sala khaoyai resort is dramatically perched on a scenic hilltop above the lush, green khao yai countryside. our boutique resort in khao yai features the enchanting sala hilltop restaurant and bar with panoramic 360 degree views of the surrounding area. next to the restaurant is a stunning infinity edge swimming pool with spectacular elevated views of romantic khao yai sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sala Khao Yai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Khaoyai Hotel Pak Chong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing