We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Win Unity Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

An American style look to these cottages beside the lake. But the inside of our bungalow was very dingy and had some broken lightbulbs. Very much in need of refurb

Food, including breakfast was average to poor.

Used mainly by tour groups en route elsewhere. We visited some sites in the area but wouldn't recommend a stop off.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indietraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    165
    171
    40
    6
See reviews for
41
227
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

People there seem to be very helpful, but not with good information. Because of them, we have missed our bus, had to take a taxi to go to Bagan.
Good breadfast, try their watermelon juice, yummy.
A hotel very expensive but not attain the level

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magliano Sabina, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Huge resort complex spaciously set in 7.4 acres of gardens with pool. If you like to eat outside book a table on the terrace in advance (there are few) otherwise there is a cavernous inside dining room geared to package tours and buffet meals although there is an a la carte menu. Breakfast buffet is excellent providing both Asian and Western food.

Room Tip: There is construction work at present so the lakeside has high green security netting eliminating an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Win Unity Resort Hotel is not a bad hotel..but it's not excellent either. We had a well located room, by the lake. It was clean and the room itself was ok. We didn't expect much more as this is not a super-touristic area, it has to be judged with its context.

The food was ok. Wifi was working but very slowly as almost everywhere else in the country. It's a good hotel for a 1 or 2 nights stops but it for sure can't be compared with hotels you can find in a more touristic areas. If we were to stay in the region again, we would go back to the Win Unity Resort Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seraph1Lampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Beach & Florida Gulf
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were wondering where the dreaded mosquitoes of Burma were and we found them in our room at the Win Unity. The cottages look great from the outside and weren't horrible inside although a bit campy feeling. However, when we entered with the porter, he ran into the closed door bathroom and came back out, shutting the door behind him. When we left we checked the bathroom out and saw holes in the window screens and heard and saw dozens of mosquitoes. The bathroom is tiled in white and soon the tiled were splattered when dead mosquitoes. Most remained in the bathroom but an enough were in the bedroom as well. They did come down and spray right away when we called, but as it was bed time, we had to put up with the smell for awhile. Also, we had reserved a king bed and they didn't have any left.
The common breakfast room was just off, too much of a cafeteria feel and I think they could have done something to make it more pleasant. The breakfast buffet was very basic compared to most (but much better than a USA motel one). The wait staff did not offer to bring us coffee or tea which just meant another up and down for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monywa hotels

Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

So the first impression was pretty good. The rooms were clean and the pool was nice.

But every day the pool became greener and greener. When I told anybody about the state of the pool nobody seemed to care.

The internet was down. They said it would be fixed the next day. They called the technician they said but. After a few days it was obvious it was simply not true. The lie was just set on 'repeat' every day by anybody of the staff. Everybody was replying the same thing 'will be fixed tomorrow' Nobody cares.

At the bar I ordered a lime with my drink. They charge one dollar for one dry lime! You want extra ice? Another dollar please.

I bring in 2kg of laundry. Most of it was underwear, socks, tshirts. Our bill was 50 dollars! Can you imagine? It seemed they charged us 1 dollar for every piece in the bag. We tried to talk with the manager but there was no understanding nor compassion from his part. He did not care. They just wanted the money.

This is the worst experience I had with a high end hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good view of lake, but lacking in basics such as internet. Very friendly/helpful staff but hotel is 3 star at best. Myanmar has no concept as to what tourists want. We are not 'one size fits all'. We want a nice place to stay with a shower and internet.

Room Tip: No idea, our tour included a deluxe/superior room which would be a 2 to 3 star in Vietnam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonJonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monywa
0.0 mi away
King & Queen Hotel
King & Queen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Monywa
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chindwin
Hotel Chindwin
#3 of 5 in Monywa
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ba Thaung
#5 of 5 in Monywa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kalaw Princess Hotel
Kalaw Princess Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kalaw
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inle Garden Hotel
Inle Garden Hotel
#31 of 37 in Nyaung Shwe
24 reviews
138.6 mi away
Royal Kalaw Hills Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Win Unity Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Unity Resort Hotel

Property: Win Unity Resort Hotel
Address: Bogyoke Road, Yone Gyi Quarter | Kantharyar, Monywa, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Sagaing Region > Monywa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Win Unity Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Win Unity Resort Hotel not only provides the best accommodation in Monywa, but is also a landmark of the town and the surrounding area. The international standard hotel is privately owned by a Monywa family that had lived in the town for generations. The Win Unity Resort Hotel has six types of rooms. Suite Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Garden View, Junior Deluxe Bungalow and Superior Bungalows are attached twin bungalows with an own veranda to provide ultimate privacy for our guests. The Standard Rooms in a 6 stories building are a real bargain, considering the quality of the rooms and the service. Our housekeeping team ensures that cleanliness and hygiene are a top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Win Unity Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Win Unity Hotel Monywa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing