We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Win Unity Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monywa
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Certainly the best hotel in the area but quite basic. Eventhough the environment is nice, the rooms are very simple. The reception basic and internet (wi-fi) only basically available in the reception.
Diner and breakfast were more than basic, almost no choice and a buffet (were you will be served)
One night in the area was more than sufficient. Hopefully for next visitors, additional offers offers should be available. (Poor english almost not existent)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 460 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

we stayed two nights at this hotel. The provincial and not so touristic town has not a better choice.The rooms are spacious and clean. The technical equipment and maintenancc could be better. The breakfast is chaotic at rushhour. Not to blame for the friendly and helpfull staff.They have to learn a lot, but improving a few organisational details would be great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrusselsGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Pleasant accommodation in bungalows, basic, very clean, bathroom all working well and protected against mosquitos. Breakfast ist very very basic and they have certainly not grasped the concept of an international breakfast yet. The Spa is cheap and basic, I had a massage which was cheap and quite fun, one girl treating me and another one watching her doing so !! But they were friendly and obviously enjoyed seeing a Western person.

The hotel is located by a small lake but there is not much to do in the area. The water in the pool looked a bit murky and with so many pigeons drinking from it I did not feel like using it.

The hotel fulfills it's purpose for a one night stay, a clean place to sleep and wash - and then you move on. It's about 5 minutes drive from the town center

Room Tip: I think the villas are very similar, no recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagmar2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 1 night. Fair value for money. It is a simple place. Basic big room. Bath room good and there is hot water. Don’t expect much off breakfast. It's a fine hotel when passing through. There is a good restaurant across the street. Try their wong tong :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Somehow out of place in Burma this comfortable hotel with character does not feel very welcoming. The bungalow was large with a good bed and bathroom. The grounds were immaculate and carefully laid out with a view of the lake. There was a good spa and pool. Breakfast was fine. I was overcharged for a beer from the minibar. When I checked out they told me the prices in the room were for locals and I had to pay twice the price $5 - the most I paid anywhere in Burma. Given that most of the guests are foreigners it would make sense to put those prices in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was chosen by our Burmese Travel company and although in most other cities this hotel would not rate a mention, given Monywa is an out of the way place with inadequate tourist facilities, this hotel was acceptable. We had a nice resort style lake view room with ample space and a balcony to sit and look at the lake. In the afternoon lots of mosquitos though. Breakfast is very average. Our guide told us to have dinner at a restaurant opposite the hotel That might say something about th quality of food at dinnertime.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Monywa is not on everyone's list of places to visit to Myanmar, so I am thankful that there is a hotel that provides a decent level of comfort. As other reviewers have described these are spacious bungalow style rooms with large bathrooms and a porch with plenty of mosquitoes (closer to the lake, more the mosquitoes). I was there on New Year's Eve, and so there was a flurry of activity for the "big party" up ahead, and the western style dance music had started by about 7pm in the evening. While the bathrooms were spacious, it took a while for the hot water to hit the faucets and since the bathing area is continuous with the rest of the bathroom, the entire floor gets wet and messy. The breakfast is very basic in comparison with other hotels in Myanmar. Given that this is the only decent choice in this city, and the attractions around Monywa not to be missed, I guess this hotel will still have its captive customer base.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabianannoyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monywa hotels
1.3 mi away
King & Queen Hotel
King & Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Monywa
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Chindwin
Hotel Chindwin
#3 of 6 in Monywa
80 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ba Thaung
#4 of 6 in Monywa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jade Royal Hotel
Jade Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monywa
24 reviews
0 mi away
Nan Htike Yadanar Hotel
0.5 mi away
Monywa Hotel
Monywa Hotel
#5 of 6 in Monywa
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Win Unity Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Win Unity Resort Hotel

Address: Bogyoke Road, Yone Gyi Quarter | Kantharyar, Monywa, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Sagaing Region > Monywa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Monywa
Price Range: $33 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Win Unity Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Win Unity Resort Hotel not only provides the best accommodation in Monywa, but is also a landmark of the town and the surrounding area. The international standard hotel is privately owned by a Monywa family that had lived in the town for generations. The Win Unity Resort Hotel has six types of rooms. Suite Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Lake View, Deluxe Bungalow with Garden View, Junior Deluxe Bungalow and Superior Bungalows are attached twin bungalows with an own veranda to provide ultimate privacy for our guests. The Standard Rooms in a 6 stories building are a real bargain, considering the quality of the rooms and the service. Our housekeeping team ensures that cleanliness and hygiene are a top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Win Unity Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Win Unity Hotel Monywa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing