We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room in garden setting”
Review of Monywa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monywa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monywa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
lewiston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable room in garden setting”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Monywa Hotel's pleasant gardens offer a welcome retreat from the town's noisy and dusty main streets. It is also within easy walking distance of many restaurants, banks, the river and lake. The room and bathroom were reasonably-sized, clean and comfortable enough. I saw a pricier room, which offered a bathtub and larger size--neither of which I needed. The breakfast offered the usual eggs, white bread, and fresh fruits plus some noodle and rice alternatives. I prefer a teashop.
The people at the reception desk were polite, but provided no information beyond hotel information. For a personable, English-speaking guide with a good tuk-tuk, I recommend Mr.Thein Htike. Phone: 09-400407695. He never hurried us along, and was willing to make leisurely stops at teashops for tea and conversation. He was also very helpful sorting out bus tickets, banking, etc.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to have a good source of natural light as well as a shared veranda (or one wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithophrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    44
    12
    4
See reviews for
5
46
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Socialistic ambience, awfulest socialistic performance at breakfast. Price is absolutely not justified for this place. It didn't have cockroaches of course, but the feeling of cockroaches. Very badly soundproofed building. Plus: I detest it, when hotels try to deliver you to overpriced taxi- / motorcycle-drivers and pretend to not knowing how to move around cheaper (in Monywa you can take the tuk tuk line for example, for local prices).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OMOOM O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monywa hotels

Conwy, North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in mid December 2012. Monywa is a large town. I caught a motorbike taxi from the bus station. My room was a wooden bungalow in a block of 12 and I paid 25 dollars per night, one person in a double room. Room was well-equipped, bathroom OK. No BBC World on the TV. Minibar prices are hefty. Stick to local soft drinks, 300 kyat compared to 800 plus for Coca Cola, imported from Thailand. Room was set back from the busy road, and there was no problem with road noise. Breakfast was served in the dining hall, and the breakfast and service were very good. The hotel was nearly empty, but could easily fill up with groups.
Monywa is far too spread out to walk around. There was no bike rental shop there, but I managed to rent a bicycle from Ko Chan at the Golden Arrow Hotel. He delivered it to the hotel for me, and was a good chap to deal with. He motor biked me back to the bus station.
Very few tourists in Monywa. I cycled around the town a lot, and I didn't go to the out of town attractions. Nice lakes north of the hotel. Good to cycle round. Nice beer station by the lake nearest the hotel, but the food there was disappointing. There are plenty of good food stalls and Chinese restaurants near the hotel. Two nights would have been long enough.

Room Tip: Any of the wooden bungalows are OK. They are set in nice gardens, which could be lovely gardens with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I understand this is the best in the area. It was clean, accommodating and basic. Dining was basic, but pool was lovely in the evening after a hot day of traveling. Service is passable. Attractive grounds, with side-by-side duplex rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QUIGDEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Certainly Monywa Hotel is not a luxury place. We went ther after thirteen years. The Hotel is in a quiet place, but not far from the center of the town and the night market. It has bungalows around small but nice gardens. The superior rooms at 35 USD in monsoon season are large, clean, with a good bathroom with hot water. They should paint the walls of the room more frequently, but, we repeat, the rooms and the linen are clean. The breakfast is good, with a basic buffet with eggs, juices, butter and jam, burmese noodles (very good, my wife says!), hot drinks. Well, we read on trip Advisor two or three reviews that give wrong information (poor breakfast, higher price, lack in cleaness) about the Hotel and end end suggesting: "Go to the other hotel that is better". We don't have been to the other hotel that they suggest, but we are a little suspicious about these reviews. So, go to Monywa Hotel without fears, it's a good place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasternVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The bungalows are in a poor stage. The few staff that can speak English are not helpful and next to being rude. They are seriously not interested.
The room was neglected from any care. We are not demanding travelers but we do need a cean bathroom and clean linen and did not find any of them there. Basic cleaning is essential in any hotel/guest house. A/C does not work. The floor was covered with dirt and dust. No hot water. If you have the choice, go to Win Unity Hotel, it will feel safer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mali84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

bungalows in bedraggled garden, a bit out of town. clean, could be a good option for families

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline.nixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monywa hotels
0.0 mi away
King & Queen Hotel
King & Queen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Monywa
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chindwin
Hotel Chindwin
#3 of 5 in Monywa
75 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Ba Thaung
#5 of 5 in Monywa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Win Unity Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jade Royal Hotel
Jade Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monywa
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nan Htike Yadanar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monywa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monywa Hotel

Property: Monywa Hotel
Address: Dornachanyat Bogyoke Aung San Rd, Monywa, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Sagaing Region > Monywa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
Hotel Class:2 star — Monywa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing