We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old hotel that simply doesn't match the competition” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monywa Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monywa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monywa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An old hotel that simply doesn't match the competition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

This hotel, while centrally located, hasn't seen any new paint or updating for years. It does the job - a/c works, tv works, there is hot water and the breakfast is good. But nevertheless, I'd suggest that travelers looking for a good hotel in Monywa spend more and stay at the Win Unity Hotel, which has excellent rooms, a great pool, internet and all the facilities of a much more modern hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    28
    44
    12
    4
See reviews for
5
46
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

20 dollars, no internet, purring AC, some channels (TV5, HBO, sports), a fridge, clean, quirky bathroom, oddly curious check-in service, greenery, local feel, breakfast, bungalows, and a very unusual frog orchestra behind rooms 11 and 12 that the gouvernment wish they could call their own.
It's a solid spot in a rough and ready town, there's no need to look anywhere else, and they won't mess up your egg order in the morning - although they might report it to the powers that be.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

Started off at the budget Shwe Taung Tarn hotel. Do not stay there. It is dreadful. Quickly moved to the Monywa Hotel. What a delight. Clean, spacious, good bathrooms, good service. We recommend you ask for the family room. You will pay a little more, but it is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMcGrathMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2009

We saw both the standard room and superior room, it was only 5USD difference and the superior room had a much nicer bathroom. However since it was only a one night stay we stayed in the standard room. It was comfortable and quiet. I was not so impressed by the breakfast. Nice walking distance to the main streets.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emelie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2008

As the previous reviewer noted, there aren't many choices in Monywa. We decided to stay here after learning that the Win Unity, in addition to being more expensive for the rooms themselves, also charges in dollars for food and drink at their restaurant. They're also a little more remotely located, if that matters for you.

The hotel grounds were nicely kept up, and somewhat park-like with lots of shade trees. There seemed to be different building areas for the different types of room on offer: standard set off in one area, superior in another, rooms for locals elsewhere still. The buildings seemed a little worse for the wear; although seemingly well maintained (clean, fresh paint), there were strange holes in the seams of the floor, and regardless of how low we had the volume, you could hear the TV very loudly outside the room.

We ate at the restaurant. It was mediocre Chinese at best. Skip it.

We appreciated the change-up in breakfast here from the other hotels and guesthouses we had stayed at: it was buffet style, and included many Burmese dishes, such as fish soup, sticky rice, fried beans, etc. This is a nice change from the standard bread, fried eggs, and Tang on offer seemingly everywhere else.

This was our cheapest lodging found that included AC. It did take a while for the AC to cool the whole room (it was actually a good sized room), but it eventually got the job done.

Since there isn't much choice in town, you make the choice based on whether you want to pay a premium for a slightly nicer bed up the street. We decided it wasn't worth it and found a decent value here at the Monywa Hotel. It was certainly acceptable for one night.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebeerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KET
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

There's not much choices in Monywa apart from Monywa hotel and more expensive Win Unity Hotel. Monywa hotel has better location where the good local restaurants are in walking distance. An internet cafe is next to the reception. The food at the hotel is not up to par. The hotel has large shady compound, clean rooms with working a/c, mini-bar and a sat. TV. The room rates are quite reasonable.

  • Liked — Good location with reasonable price
  • Disliked — old rooms, expensive food
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank valentinodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monywa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chindwin
Hotel Chindwin
#3 of 5 in Monywa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yadanar Theingi Hotel
Yadanar Theingi Hotel
#83 of 106 in Mandalay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
70.2 mi away
Kaday Aung Hotel
Kaday Aung Hotel
#22 of 44 in Bagan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wilson Hotel
Wilson Hotel
#84 of 106 in Mandalay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Win Unity Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Jade Royal Hotel
Jade Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Monywa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monywa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monywa Hotel

Property: Monywa Hotel
Address: Dornachanyat Bogyoke Aung San Rd, Monywa, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Sagaing Region > Monywa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Monywa
Hotel Class:2 star — Monywa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing