We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous beach and location, poor facilities & service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tarkarli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MTDC Resort Tarkarli
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarkarli
Pune, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach and location, poor facilities & service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just had a 3 nights 4 days vacation at the MTDC Tarkarli with friends and family. At the outset, let me say that our overall experience was fun since we were a large group of friends and family and kids. We did not need any additional external entertainment. Oh yeah, the weather during our stay was fantastic. Nice and cool in the mornings and evenings. Very pleasant surprise!

Now, for a review of the hotel, ambience, facilities etc., the facts are as below:

An average kind of resort with excellent location and beach but NOT a luxury resort by "any standards". Please note this at the outset. VERY POOR SERVICE and NO EXTRA FACILITIES. Pretty far away from everything and UNLIKE Goa there are almost no options here for dining, entertainment, shopping etc. The town of Malvan is about 7 kms away and is also pretty basic. Not many options there as well.

There's a few places for sightseeing, the most significant being the magnificient Sindhudurg Sea Fort. I would definitely recommend a visit. It's a 2.5 hr round-trip from the resort, 4 hrs if you do lunch in Malvan and return (recommended).

Pros:
1> Great location; right on the beach. (4.5 / 5)
2> The beach itself is very clean and very nice. (4.5 / 5)
3> Not commercialised and not a lot of hawkers and pesky vendors. (4.5 / 5)
4> It has a serene, quiet and relaxed feel about it. (4.5 / 5)
5> Cottages and the bathrooms are fairly clean and functional. (3 / 5)
6> The food options, though limited are pretty decent. They are not consistent though. (3.5 / 5)

Cons:
1> Very poor service.
2> No extra facilities (entertainment, dining etc)
3> No alcohol served
4> Almost no room service
5> One common dining area for all meals
6> Limited menu options
7> Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner can take anywhere from 30 mins (if lucky) to 2 hours
8> Total chaos in their kitchen and staff (we had to go into the kitchen and serve ourselves, many times)
9> In two of our cottages we had "Rat" issues - can be a horrific problem if it happens in the middle of the night (in one case with us).
Note: The rat problem is more due to poor maintenance and not due to any major garbage problem)

To summarize, "to be fore-warned is to be fore-armed". So if you're a little prepared (hopefully with information from my review), you should be able to have a good time especially if you're in a group. If you're just a couple, it could get a little boring. The beach is fantastic and we all enjoyed it. Good for a short 2-3 day trip, not more.

Room Tip: choose the air-conditioned cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohanino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    145
    71
    21
    19
See reviews for
168
81
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location of MTDC resort. Beach facing room and well maintained. Restaurant is ok ok. Clear sea-water and clean beach...Tarkarli is worth visiting for short break to rejuvenate yourself with some good water sport activities, snorkelling and scuba diving and much more........

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalittk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went with wife , 2 kids and parents.
From Mumbai by Konkankanya (dep 11 PM) . Got down at Kudal @ 8.30am next morning.
Zylo (1200 Rs) to MTDC resort @ 37 KMs

Accomodation in Konkani Hut (AC)
Bang in front of the Beach
Beach is for yours . On all the 3 days we alone were taking bath .
Sunset - Excellent
Weather - Lovely
Food : Good Malvani and Punjabi Option in the restaurant.
Fish extremely fresh . Price a littl bit on the higher side.
There were some senior government officials on the first day - so service was poor. However after the "VIP"s left service was OK .

Rooms - good and airy . However linen and furniture not commensurate with tariff of @ 3,300

Other activities
a) Malvan / Sindudurg
b) Backwater boat ride , Dewbag , Nivati beach , Tsunami Island
c) Helpful water sports option in Tsunami Island

Overall a good trip , if you are not too demanding , Enjoy silently

Room Tip: A/c Huts are in front Non A/c Huts in next row
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank saibal s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Want to enjoy sea, sand, cool breeze, sack experience? Go to TARKARLI & stay in MTDC resort there. Almost on the beach experience even if you are lying on your resort bed.
Open the door & window, the cool air will enter in your room without any disturbance. You can simply enjoy the hanging sacks in front of every cottages.
You can even view sunset from your room. The restaurant offers you delicious Malvani, Indian food almost on the beach. No disturbing crowd, no water sports, food stalls on the beach which allows you to feel tranquility of the place.
Reception is a boat shaped house with open seating place.
Though rooms are not comparable with star hotels with reach décor but well equipped enough to meet your need. Who cares about interior decoration there when it offers you maximum of sea experience?
Can take your family, wife, loved ones for few lazy days.
If you can afford their Bamboo Houses then you are king with open deck experience.
Note, most of the non AC Konkani houses are in the back row where as AC Konkani houses are in front rows. There are only 2 rows & thus it doesn’t matter much if you get room in back row.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebasishMandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

we went to tarkarli last year...We left from mumbai by train reached kudal station and took a rick. It is a awesome place to stay.....and also at the beach there is no crowd.....u can see people only in the evening, else there is like a private beach. The water is pristine clean....there is paragliding, dolphine to see...the best time to see dolphin is go early morning .....the boatman also tells us when u go but its better to prefer going as early as possible. we left by 6.30 morning and we got the opportunity to see dolphins in large number.we stayed at konkani house (MTDC resort)...the rooms are good and well maintained with one tap outside the house to wash before getting into the room when u come from beach. the best part is the hammock..... the food is not good of MTDC resort. there is no room service. we have to go there and eat. only the breakfast is good. lunch and dinner is pathetic over there, anyhow we managed everything else is good except the food in MTDC. we enjoyed staying there and in the early morning don't forget to take a walk at the seashore...its amazing and u can see different species like star fish, shell fish, crab in the shore along with waves in the morning .....didn;t felt like coming back to home...its a heaven

Room Tip: mtdc rooms are good but not satisfied with the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarkarli_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

As others have said, it's location, location, location that pulls this place up from average to very good. We were traveling with two teenagers so booked two rooms for two nights, with one in between on their backwaters barge, and found ourselves occupying both `berths' on the top desk of one of two gigantic beached `barges' bill as the Bamboo Boats. Contrary to some others, I found these rooms very nicely decorated and functional, with crisp bed linen and fluffy towels. The decks were a little untidy and in need of some renovation, particularly at the rear. I'd also have to rate the service as very good rather than average given the remoteness of the location. Everything was dealt with promptly and politely, and they even went out of their way to get me coconut water when I asked less than politely why it wasn't available in a place surrounded by nut-laden palms.
The beach is just pristine. I saw one piece of garbage. Quite a shock after most other places. The herrmit crabs and star fish were so cute, and body surfing the waves was a heap of fun.
The Malvani food at the restaurant was delicious, although they should invest in a larger eating area and some proper tables and chairs - I don't like dining on a bench.
Cruising the backwaters on the houseboat was a real highlight. Great setting.
Given the price, tho, the service should be more professional and the kitchen should be clean. It was filthy, altho that didn't stop us from wolfing down the delicious food. i'd do it all again in a flash. Was great fun

Room Tip: Go for the front room on the upper deck of the bamboo boats. The little huts looked dingy and aged...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachrayong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location of the resort is exactly at sea shore...very great location ! Location is the USP of the resort...
You can book online for the property...As it is government owned corporation, you must have minimum expectation of service.
Till the service is good one...not excellent...!
The rooms are not well maintained....plumbing, electric fitting quality is poor.
The Bamboo House is nice one...some different feeling...but is away from reception and restaurant.
Room Service is not available and at restaurant you need to have patience, it took 40 minutes to serve the order in busy times...

Room Tip: Select the Rooms 101-102-103 as are near to reception and restaurant. Bamboo house is also good opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bkbaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarkarli
3.2 mi away
Hotel Sagar Kinara Malvan
22.3 mi away
Hotel Konkan Crown
Hotel Konkan Crown
#3 of 4 in Sawantwadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hotel Lemongrass
Hotel Lemongrass
#1 of 1 in Kudal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Neelam's Countryside
Neelam's Countryside
#1 of 2 in Kankavli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sun 'n' Sand Holiday Home
4.2 mi away
Maachli Homestay
Maachli Homestay
#1 of 8 in Kudal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Resort Tarkarli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Resort Tarkarli

Property: MTDC Resort Tarkarli
Address: Malvan Sindhudurg District, Tarkarli, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Tarkarli
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tarkarli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Mtdc Resort Tarkarli Hotel Tarkarli
Mtdc Hotel Tarkarli
MTDC Resort Tarkarli Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing