We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anitha Menon, Excellent location, clean lovely beach, very good family stay”
Review of Hotel Visava

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarkarli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Visava
Ranked #2 of 28 Tarkarli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

After much deliberation we decided on Visava and we didn't regret it. The Hotel has nice clean sea facing rooms, mouth watering cuisine and friendly atmosphere provided by the Padwal brothers. The resort boasts of clean pristine beach. The view from the verandah is breath taking.. My kids and mom enjoyed lazying on the hammocks. Excellent location for a family vacation.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have breathtaking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnithaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

The resort lies between the road and the beach. We booked a family suite for our family of 4. There are double rooms that face the road and then there are "family suites" that face the beach. The room was big enough and very clean.

The "extra bed" that we had requested, however, was only a mattress on the floor. The bedding on the main bed was spotless but that on the extra mattress was a little stained and looked old.
However, barring that one hiccup, our stay was absolutely lovely. The family suites have outside seating facing the beach and one day my husband saw dolphins frolicking in the sea right from our doorstep!

The beach is a two min walk away and is very clean. Unlike Goa, there are zero shacks. While this makes the beach more pristine, you cannot really spend an extended time relaxing on the beach in the full sun. We used the shade of a fishing boat to relax in, but even then, we went back to the room sooner than we would have in Goa. I presume it's illegal to put up shacks in this area, but the the resort should look into putting one alongside the hotel boundary wall. It's right on the beach and the view is fabulous. Until then, bring your own umbrella.

The hotel helped up set up our scuba diving activities @Sindhudurg, which is about 15-20 mins drive away. We didn't eat lunch/dinner there, but there are plenty of shack-ish restaurants up the road. Beware - these may be seasonal. Otherwise, you have to drive to Malvan for restaurants. Breakfast is served on benches under the coconut trees. It is very pleasant.

We were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a "family suite" facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vgondil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were deciding on a beach destination and we zeroed in on Tarkali thanks to Tripadvisor and the reviews we read about Tarkali.
We initially thought of MTDC but then zeroed in on hotel visava. And trust me we were bang on on our choice of hotel for tarkali.
Hotel Visava is just located at the begining of the devbagh beach road and is a sprawling property. Lots of parking space for all size of cars and even buses. They have 3 different kind of rooms non ac , standard Ac and Deluxe AC. the difference ?

All the rooms are nice just that the Deluxe ones get you the SEA VIEW directly from your room. There are only 4 rooms as of now but the owners are constructing more. There is no reception you have to call Bhai Padwal for all that you need. Its like a hotel cum home stay. The staff are all family people and are extremely courteous.

We wend in the end of Nov and drove all the way from mumbai, we reached around 3pm and i must say a big thanks to the hospitality of the staff they prepared roti subji of our choice for lunch and served us.
They have an open air restaurant with a line up of coconut trees and in between the trees they have tied hammocks , so you could actually relax during day time on the hammocks under the shade of the trees and the wonderful sea breeze.

the intresting part - they have direct access to the beach and its like a private beach , you can have a blast , no crowd and its only you and your family and few other who stay at visava that you will see. This was awesome for beach lovers like me and my wife. We spent the early mornings and evenings on the beach with long walks and collecting sea shells.

Our Deluxe AC room was quite spacious and to our utter surprise the bathroom was quite big and well maintained. The linen was clean and washed. The only issue is that this being a village the electricity kees fluctuating so you may get power cuts , so pls keep a torch in hand when you go down here. Hotel Visava also has a generator so even if the power goes you still get some light and a fan and TV that runs for company. We paid around 2200 per night only for room, food not inclusive.

the hotel management help you arrange for your next day water sports and sea visits. We were lucky to get hold of a good local who arranged our sea visit to the various spots at 1000 for couple. We went on sharing so there was another family along with us in the boat. As luck would have it we were able to spot dolphins in the sea, friend do go early around 7-8 am if you wish to spot dolphins and shoot a viedo of them playing around in the open sea.

Water sports are quite expensive with each sport around 250 - 300 , Goa is cheaper for water sports. The best thing we loved was Kayak ...100 per head and you take off in a Kayak and have a blast rowing yourself across.

Then there is the sindhudurg fort where snorkelling and scuba diving takes place, in case you want to do snorkelling and scuba diving at a low cost this is the place to visit, snorkelling at 500-600 per person is a good bargain and scuba at 1500 per person with video shooting of you underwater !!

Now to food - well unfortunately since we are vegetarians we really did not enjoy the food there, but i guess non veg lovers would love it. We tried lunch at Malvan on day at Samindar restaurant and we loved it !

Overall a great trip and we had a blast and suggest if you have your own vehicle and wish to visit a beach destination that is less crowded and clean and mid blowing go to Tarkali.

You can contact Bhai Padwal - 9423304305 / 9423686315

Enjoy !
Rgds,
Ajay

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Super Deluxe AC - sea facing , or if sea view is not important go fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VenkiDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel location is perfect for vacation. When you will go der, u definitely get a feel that hotel is managed by our brothers and sisters...Hence hospitality is great but management is not upto the mark. Definitely you can opt it.

Room Tip: Choose sea facing room. it will cost you 2500 per night for couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prathamesh1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

In Hotel Visava, you would not feel like you are staying in a Hotel.... its as good as a weekend home for you.

The staff is very polite and helpful.

We have stayed here twice, and experience was good.

The food cooked by them is awsome.... we just kept on eating and eating.... The Crab Handi and Rice Bhakri was simply the Best...

The beach is just 4-5 mins walk from the rooms.... The evening just gets more and more beautiful, where you can njoy the dinner... or calm walk on the beach...

There are various packages for day tour or Water Sports offered here. Ask for Mr. Bosco's contact details here. The Watersport package offered by him and his team is really good. And they are veryprofessional.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhananjay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having missed the Dolphins during our visit to Tarkarli in May 2012 we stayed at the Visawa once again in December 2012 after our wonderful experience the first time around.

As always the property was clean and well maintained and the beach gorgeous and clean. Love lazing in the hammocks under the coconut trees.

Rooms are pretty basic but have all the necessities. Clean bathrooms, clean linens.

I think the location of the property and the natural beauty of Tarkarli does a majority of the work for the place. Perhaps that might lead to a sense of complacency and may have affected the service levels as reflected in the more recent reviews.

What surprises me are the reviews on the food. We have during all our meals there found the food to be tasty and the sea food absolutely fresh. One of the main reasons we returned to Visawa was the incredible food.

Pricing though seems to be on the higher side. Once again perhaps a case of success getting the better of them.

You do get excellent food at other restaurants in and around the area at better prices as well so if you have your own transport then you are not dependent on them.

My experiences with both Bhai and Bhau Padwal have been excellent and have always found them extremely service oriented. Hopefully the recent reviews are just a glitch and Visawa returns to the standards that we have experienced during our trips there.

Room Tip: Don't think the sea view rooms are worth paying extra for unless you plan to spend a lot of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rahim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Must say this is a busy area. All "resorts: are small and few rooms so book early on weekends.
The beach at tarakarli is awesome. Scuba diving is a must if you can....cheap and average...not the best but good for first time.

I followed trip advisor and at at chaitanya...was gr8 food and VFM.
Bamboo athithi was closed but chaitanaya was great too

The resorts in this are all just average so be reayd to rough it out

Room Tip: Sea face rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMG_where_to_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarkarli
23 mi away
Neelam's Countryside
Neelam's Countryside
#1 of 2 in Kankavli
22 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Chivala Beach
Hotel Chivala Beach
#1 of 6 in Malvan
81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sagar Kinara, Malvan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Konkan Crown - Resort & Club
13.9 mi away
Hotel Lemongrass
Hotel Lemongrass
#1 of 1 in Kudal
19 reviews
1 mi away
Tarkarli Niwas Nyahari
Tarkarli Niwas Nyahari
#1 of 28 in Tarkarli
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Visava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Visava

Address: Tarkarli, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Sindhudurg District > Tarkarli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tarkarli
Price Range: $39 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Hotel Visava Tarkarli, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing