We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kohinoor Samudra Beach Resort
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveler rating
17
33
21
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
33
21
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset pointhill toptoy trainswimming poolhuge propertysea viewrooms are spaciousgames roomthe main hotelhealth clubchildren playroom servicehotel managementrestaurant serviceevening teasuperb locationscenic beauty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 86 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Even as my trip came to end, I was thinking when I would be coming here next. Yes honestly a fantastic place which is a mix of both scenic beauty as well peaceful. The more people you travel with, the merrier it gets cause the villa/bunglow rooms are simply beautiful, even with a large family you have a combination of closeness as two or three rooms are beautifully joined together that they don't feel like seperate rooms and at d same time each has its personal washroom, TV and balcony so I guess it cant better than this! The view from the rooms is unbiased as each room as the same view of the beautiful coastline, hills and the lighthouse on top of it. I cant remember any other resort that can promise a hill top and a beach view side by side. The food's good, however service slightly needs to be improved on weekends and holidays especially if lotsa guests r expected. Choice at breakfast was dissapointing. Swimming pool was beautiful. Many activities for the kids especially the toy train. However certain issues faced were ants n cockroaches in rooms, so pest control wasnt done and the bathtub was rusted so check for all this before checking in the room. Overal a plesant experince worth remembering.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank L0VE-travellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

At the first glance the Resort feels wow and as we were driving up the winding road we were looking forward to our stay at the Kohinoor Samudra , but after a nights stay, the reality was much more clearer.
The resort has tremendous potential with great views and location.

The negatives:
1. The room was smelling with pesticides ( pest control was done recently).
2. One of the windows panes were broken and were taped with a plastic sheet.... come on cant you simply replace the window pane when you are collecting over 5K for a single days stay.
3. The minibar fridge was not working and had to replaced. Tea/Coffee maker kettle was missing.
4. The AC was very noisy was barely able to sleep for 2 hrs thru the night
5. The curtain rods holding up the huge curtains alongwith the pelmate cam crashing down at 2:00 am in the night and all of us were jolted out of our sleep. For a moment i thought that the second window was broken. There was no one at the reception and the only maintenance guys on the premise said that he could not do anything at that time of the night.
6. There are no balconies, it would have been really nice to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the nightviews of the lighthouse and the city below.
7. Food choice and quality way below average and was a big big let down.
8. Buffet dinner and breakfast was setup for just 15 guests (which explains why they are losing money) and there was simply no choice.
9. The restaurant was stinking and was not clean.
10. The hotel also functions as a Kohinoor Catering college - the guests serve to be the guinea pigs for the culinary experiments.
11. Staff was maintained at a very minimum.
12. The service area entry is right next to the pool and through the garden. A cardinal rule of any hotel to you can see the service staff going in and out
13. Except for the pool and the slide-swing most of the other childrens activities are non-functional which include the mini-train, multi play station, trampoline, rope climber, and a so called thrilling helicopter.
14. Bhatye beach would probably rate amongst one of the most dirtiest beaches.
15. Apart from a few local sightseeing points there is nothing much to do in and around Ratnagiri.


The positive
1. Rooms are big and airy.
2. The swimming pool is nice big and clean and also has a fun slide.
3. The threadbare staff is very polite and hard working and they try to do their best to keep the guests happy.
4. The view from the sunset bar at the edge of the hill and the titanic deck is simply outstanding.

We had checked in with the intention for staying for 3 nights, but promptly checked out the next day morning.
Probably a good experience for a one day stay but not more than that.

Needless to say i would not choose to go there again..!!

Room Tip: Make sure that the AC, minibar are working.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ShekharBhosle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Honestly with a bit of thought put in this place can become one of the best resorts of india such is the location. But I am not complaining because if that happens I might not be able to afford it. Such is the loacation of the place. Thats the first thing that blows you away. on a hill top overlooking huge palm trees and the beach cool breeze and huge opens space. just the place you want to go to releive yourself of the stress.

the PROS

The location is 5 star : As I said just the way this hill has been used and the room face the swimming pool and next to the swimming pool the beach. the catch is the Beach is not as close as it seems but at a fair distance. but the illusuion created due to being on top of the hill is truely magnificent.

Freindly staff / Relaxed enviornment

Not too much of aretificial stuff around and that is one reason you feel very close to the nature.

Kid freindly: plenty of space for smy super active kid to run around (he had the best time in this resort)

Cons

Food could be more innovative

Could have a lounge area: some thing I missed a place to have a drink though there is a bar but lacks the style of a nice bar lounge

Overall thumbs up will now take my parents there as honestly this is a place you can enjoy with a group of 10 peple or more as this has so much space that it can afford you the liuxury of having some individual space as well as fun for group stay as well

Thoroughly enjoyed this.

I have been to more stylish and more expensive resorts but this has left quite an impression on me.

Will upload a few photos shortly

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashutosh_gore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I am a teenager who just went to kohinoor samudra of ratnagiri in december 2010.i felt that i was in heaven.there are all facilities for our satisfaction.they have a huge huge huge property.their rooms are excellent.there is a quiet neatness.children enjoy there.the views of nature are mind blowing.they have huge huge place for children to play various sports.THESE ALL WERE THE GOOD POINTS.but bad point is that they keep the same variety of food and type.that is they always keep punjabi.rarely there may be south indian or chat.but the chef is excellent.HATS OFF TO THE CHEF.this is my description about the resort.SO HURRY UP AND BOOK YOUR DESTINY!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kushang07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Reception was grand. Hotel interiors and furnishings were great. Lacked occupancy. So was boring. Food was great. Hats off to the chef. No Konkani food on the menu. In seafood , only bhangda available. No promfret, crabs, surmai or prawns. The infrasture was great but no guest. Accessibility to the beach very poor. Beach from sunset point very dangerous.Driver not available when needed to go the beach. Till 7.30 am nobody switched on hot water facility. Evenings will be boring as lights are also not put on and you may feel lonely

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsLeisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews