We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manna from Heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Manna from Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ended up spending 5 nights instead of the planned three after experiencing the heavenly delight..!!
The Mojo Rainforest Eco-retreat has been incredibly preserved with organic farming occupying parts of the plantation. The accommodation is basic but very neat and without frills making you realize that you can do very well without getting pampered. You would not miss the TV, cable, mobile chatter nor the newspapers at all !! There is a fire place for cold wintry nights as well. Solar water heaters as well as traditional wood fired heaters provide the hot water bath to soothe your frayed nerves. An Indian toilet is also available alongside the Plantation Cottage for those who trust the natural ways (visit www.sairamacuucentre.in/news-corner or www.naturesplatform.com for more details !!). You wake up to the magical bird-songs and lovely tunes with a crisp mountain air refreshing your innermost senses and revitalizing you. The breakfast with decent varieties and fresh organic coffee add zest to the day ahead. The various trails in the plantation as well as the nearby "Ridge Trail" or the "River Trail" get you connected with the divinity in nature's creation. After an exhausting but thrilling walk, you are treated to a hot lunch with rotis, salads, rice, veggies, fruits, most of which are organic and sourced either from the same plantation or others nearby. After a brief siesta, one enjoys evening coffee with biscuits and you head for a pleasant stroll inside the 25 acre plantation or you could choose the sunset point (which is the only place in the plantation where your cell-phone works !!) Dinner is at 8 PM after which you could laze around watching the dancing fire-flies or listening to the cicadas..!! Look up to enjoy the clear sky filled with zillions of stars, visible without the light pollution of cities !! You retire for the night with a pleasant and thankful smile on your face knowing that you were enjoying the "Maker's" creation the whole day and are looking forward to fresh experiences the next day..!!
Food is great, customized for smaller guest groups; trails are exciting; the nature-connect is genuine; staffs are very cooperative as also are the pets in the plantation..!!!
A must for those who wish to meditate or are spiritually inclined..!! You can find your "Mojo" for sure.!!!
Overall, a great experience...to be lived again and again..!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr-Prem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
20
32
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

if you are looking for a place with nature around, sound of birds, water and not many people around, this is the place. We stayed in tents and had a good experience. There are guided treks In the morning n evening, which are worth it for excellent views. You get good nonveg food , but not much of a variety each day. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasiP_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

The cottage I stayed in was simple, but clean and comfortable. Open the door, and you'll be in the middle of an organic coffee and spice plantation, with at least 1000 different hues of green. Food is delicious, and every morning there is a hike or a plantation tour, which will give you more insight into what's happening at the plantation, or show you beautifull views in the surrouding mountains.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerdien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in November. We loved it - owners away but manager plus other staff looked after us well. Clearly they are very committed to what they do and biodiversity is the key. Is both organic spice plantation and eco lodge. Ravi and Muthu, local guides, hugely knowledgable. Day and half day walks were through stunning countryside but also good to relax and watch birds, flowers etc near lodge. Not good if you need wifi or tv as isolated but great if you want to immerse yourself in beautiful countryside and learn a bit about it and the organic way spices can be cultivated. Food also very good - they use local ingredients, their own if possible, and have a multitude of ecologically sound practices such as using biogas for cooking, solar hot water etc. All the staff were very happy to explain the rationale and the operation of the whole enterprise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynisD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed just one night but felt so good to be in the middle of the forest. We took the Plantation cottage, which is really in the middle of the green, and you can hear all the forest talking by night. The food could really improve - it s really basic indian food, and get really repetitive after 3 meals. The walks are interesting, and the nature really rich.

Room Tip: Take the plantation cottage if you like the wild and don t mind walking in the dark forest by night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louseb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent a weekend with family 12th to 14 October. The retreat is located away from the hustle and bustle giving you a good paeeceful stay. The cottage is well maintained and the staff cater to your needs well. The stream flowing through the place is a bliss. A good familiarisation with organic farming. A good place to spend a peaeful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kariath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent precious 24 hrs there as they were running full . Will remember our stay for a long time and hope to be back there soon . Rainforest retreat is so different from the run of the mill hotels. It is set in a great plantation that still has some superb birdlife - some unreal whistling birds - and a christmas-tree like feeling with all the fireflies after-dark. The host Archana was superb , she manages the place - and she made us feel so comfortable and was also the guide for our superb plantation tour. Above all , their practices in organic farming and whole no-frills , natural approach to construction of the cottages, the food, the amenities - all of it was charming. Whats more - we met some really interesting people from around the world and we looked forward to every meal/tea time to chat with some more new people.

Some qualifications though - this is not a place for those who are used to (and WANT) star hotel amenities. No TV, no 220v power socket in the room(charging outside), no luxurious beds , no super buffett spread - you get the picture, Go here if you want a break from all of that and want to feel connected with nature and learn a good deal in the process. Food here is cooked more to the taste of westerners - less spicy and uses organic rice etc. This is not for everybody. My mom was unhappy w the rice. Bit pricey if one thinks of all the above -ves. But the main value here is the place, the people and what we learnt from them.Totaaly worth it.

Like I said at the start we stayed there for 24 hrs only and then moved to a homestay which had better beds, TV , fan etc - all of those amenities and we were grumpy that we had to give up all that Mojo Rainforest had to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed at Atlas Cottage and loved it. The tents are cheaper but those who stayed there loved them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashok K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
1.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 21 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orange County, Coorg
Orange County, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 21 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
4.0 mi away
Hotel Coorg International
Hotel Coorg International
#21 of 120 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Woodstock Villa Resort
Woodstock Villa Resort
#5 of 185 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge

Property: Rainforest Retreat Eco-lodge
Address: Mojo Plantation | Galibeedu Village, Madikeri 571201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rainforest Retreat, Coorg is a unique destination that combines eco-tourism with sustainable agriculture, biodiversity conservation and environmental education. Our internationally renowned eco-lodge is situated on a certified Organic farm nestled in the tropical rainforests of the Western Ghats of Kodagu district in southern Karnataka. We cater to environmentally conscious travelers who want to experience a harmonious existence with nature. Surrounded by rolling hills and densely forested valleys, this is a naturalist's paradise waiting to be discovered. Experience the true meaning of biodiversity as you explore remote idyllic valleys and tropical forests or learn how coffee, cardamom, pepper, vanilla are sustainably cultivated under the shade of rainforest trees. We also offer some of the finest trekking and birding in Southern India. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mojo Rainforest Retreat Hotel Madikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing