We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice place to visit

This beautiful waterfall is narrow but you can't reach it very easily as if you want to go and... read more

Reviewed August 11, 2018
KhyatiK15
,
Vapi, India
via mobile
falls

it is good view and natural beauty. I loved the place. Go early in the morning . Do not go anywhere... read more

Reviewed July 1, 2018
deepakram67
,
Noida, India
Read all 188 reviews
  
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveler rating
65
74
30
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
74
30
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slippery stones small kids club mahindra virajpet rainy season lovely waterfall car parking is water flow private estate senior citizens worth a visit tourist spot nice place enjoy the view beautiful view path trek falls
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 188 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

This beautiful waterfall is narrow but you can't reach it very easily as if you want to go and touch the water it's way is slippery so have to be very careful with that..

Thank KhyatiK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

A very mesmerising waterfall which has to be reached by walking a steep rocky trail not quite feasible for senior citizens and people with knee problems. Though the trail takes around 5-6 minutes, but the falls can only be seen from its side as authorities have blocked the pathway leading to the plunge pool of the waterfall due to some accidental drownings of tourists. There are various danger signs hung up at the end point which prohibits tourists to go down to the foot of the falls.
We visited Coorg in June which is the monsoon season and the waterfall was in its full bloom leaving us all in awe.
We had to stay clear of leeches which were abundant due to the incessant monsoon rains.

1  Thank Nishijyotsna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

It's a must visit place if you are here in Coorg specially in rains, we visited here when there were record breaking rains, it's beauty increases with high rainfall. It's safe, need to walk 200 mtrs uneven tarrain. No place to go to the fall and water , only you can view it from a certain point.

Thank Kunal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

Going to virajpet during monsoon is the best time, you see lot of greenery and water every where, all the water falls will be full and good to watch them in full bloom.

Thank RamkumarR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2018

it is good view and natural beauty. I loved the place. Go early in the morning . Do not go anywhere in coorg after sunset as roads are narrow and accident chances exceed.

2  Thank deepakram67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

Glad I visited. I personally loved it, even more than the much acclaimed Abbey Falls. This lies in the heart of coffee and herb plantations of Chelavara Village, about an hour's drive from Madikeri city.

2  Thank manikd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Its far from Madikeri and we went there on our way to Tala Cauvery. You cannot go to the base of the falls, just have a view from above. The way to down is completely fenced. The water is running low now. A complete waste of time if you go in this period.

6  Thank venki_lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

The water flow was less in April'2018 but the water was clear and pure, means free from dirt pollution etc. Enjoyed the bath along with my son and the water was really cold carry necessary clothing to make yourself warm. Awesome expirence.

6  Thank chvkarthick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018 via mobile

It's a serene, steady waterfall amidst the beautiful coffee plants. Located in an interior place. Beautiful place. Really liked it a lot.

1  Thank Deepthi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018

Chelvara Falls,
&
Chomakundu Hills, Vijarpet, Coorg.
• A natural waterfall formed by small streams on the tributary of Kaveri (near Cheyyandane village – Google gives the correct location) {16 km from Virajpet}.
• This Beautiful and scenic waterfall and surrounding make a huge gift by mother nature and is a part of a private property!
• Chomakundu (Separately Reviewed) is another mountain Area full of nature (On the way) with many Mini-Trekking options (Safer)
• HONESTLY speaking only to visit the Chelavara Falls not very worth (there is nothing else to see), as we are not allowed to reach the water, as it is dangerous (Unfortunately, many human lives were lost here). Chelavara Falla is said to be 100 Feet deep, with the water flow having high suction, where even expert swimmers can lose their control. Overall, Abbey Fall is much better!
• We suggest to make the trip more enjoyable, to visit (Bike reaches almost the 2nd & the top peak) KABBE HILLS (VIEW POINT) which is roughly 2 KMs from here. (Separately reviewed)
• We passed two Resorts (Coorg Summer Palace & “Now or Never Land”) to reach Chelavara Falls
• One can see the falls after walking after walking a few meters (into the forest) from the parking.
• Kindly respect the “Danger signs Boards”- they are for our safety!
• Isolated place – NO FOOD or water (No proper Restaurants, particularly for Vegies).
• Some stretch of the road also is poor (Accept it as 1 Hr 30 Mins drive).

5  Thank Traveller G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews