We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with Coorg!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coorg Classic Home Stay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Right from the time we booked our room, till the time we reached back to Bangalore, we were thoroughly surprised by the warmth, both Mrs & Mr Ganpathi provided. The stay was a real pleasant one. There are 2 rooms, both are equally good. The rooms open into a nice porch, and a park. Our hosts ensured, we had the true flavor of Coorg, they suggested dining options, shopping areas, sight seeing and even helped us plan our itinerary better. The home made breakfast was amazing, and the evening tea really soothing. The overall ambiance of the place is very positive, and for a quiet stay away from home, this is an ideal choice!

Room Tip: Both the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aditi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We thank you for your excellent review of our Home Stay .
It gave us immense pleasure to read the review from a widely travelled person like you.
With warm regards.
Ganapathi & Vivina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Coorg Classic Home Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 80 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had been to Coorg with family during 15th to 17th Oct and did stay at Coorg Classic Homestay. The hosts Mr & Mrs Ganapathi were fantastic right from the booking experience which happened a month back. Before the day of us starting from Bangalore to Coorg, we received a call from the hosts with suggestions on what to do on the way to Coorg. Each day for us started with an excellent breakfast and also suggestions on what to do with the itinerary that we had planned for the day, so as to make best use of time etc. For shopping too the hosts suggested the best shops in town which provided the best and authentic Coorg items. There were also ample phone calls made by Mr Ganapathi to ensure that we were on track and felt at home. On return back at Bangalore too, he didnt forget to call to ensure that we reached safely. On the whole the trip advisor rating for this homestay is really worth it and I would love to see it move to the first slot among all Coorg home stays. This being a relatively newer property doesnt have too many reviews, but I would say that's just a matter of time as I certainly feel that this property has among the best hosts that one could ever ask for.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, both equally good.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

We thank you very much for your excellent review of our Home Stay.
We are very happy to know that you liked our place.
Your thoughtful review has given us immense satisfaction and encouragement.
With warm regards.
Ganapathi & Vivina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

when i had plans of visiting coorg i decided to stay in a home stay.
On searching in tripadvisor , came across this home stay. The review by fellow travellers were
really inspiring.
So booked it and We was never disappointed.
We were 5 people, three adults and two children and took two rooms.
We stayed for three days and two nights.

The rooms were very neat. The bathrooms were neat. Wifi was available.

We were able to reach the homestay without any issue in our car. its very near to Raja seat.

Mr and Mrs Ganapathy , the host were very nice.
He asked us to visit Golden temple before reaching his place since it is on the way.

Breakfast given was really awesome.

The property is itself full of greenery. Ample parking is available.

would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mahesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Mr. Mahesh,

Thank you very much for your good review of our Home Stay.
Happy to know that you liked the place.
With regards.
Ganapathi & Vivina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

i recently visited madikeri with my friend and enjoyed my stay at classic coorg homestay..Mr & Mrs ganpathi took very well care of us right from hot water(we reached in evening) or snacks or breakfast.i also would like to share that they installed MARATHI channels only for us as my mom was also to visit with us,but she couldnt.however they kept it for other travellers..i rate them 5star..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amol606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear Mr.Amol,
Thanks for your excellent review of our Home Stay.We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We have retained the Marathi TV channel for our guests from Maharashtra.
Warm regards.
Ganapathi & Vivina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am just back from a 3 night trip to Madekeri Coorg from 25th Sept 2013. I went there with my parents, wife and two children. I had an excellent experience at Coorg Classic Homestay with Mr Ganapathi and his wife Mrs Vivina and would not hesitate to recommend it to others. We chose this particular homestay reading other reviews and were delighted to find that all that was written was true. We knew that the experience would be different from the word go as we were suggested to cutdown the stay from 4 nights to 3 as there were not many places to visit near Madekeri. Small things like an SMS to wish us a safe and pleasant journey and a call to check that we reached home safely after a 9 hr drive make the difference. They went out of the way and beyond their call of duty to make sure that we were comfortable by doing things like providing us umbrellas, piloting our drive to the restaurant so that we were not lost on our first day gave us the impression that we were in caring hands.
Mr Ganapathy has a lot of knowledge of the local geography and suggested us daily on the sightseeing trips and the roads we should take making our google maps redundant. He also suggested where we should stop for lunch etc which came very handy.
The breakfast is served in the verandah and eating next to chirruping birds in the garden is a great experience .The breakfast was sumptuous, tasty and a diverse spread to say the least. They always had some local Coorg cousine, South Indian food, toast with butter and jam, eggs to order and fruits / desert.
The property is in the same compound as their home in a peaceful corner close to the city centre. You could easily walk to the main market and there are many banks at a stones throw distance (so you don’t need to carry cash if you have debit cards). The two master bedrooms open into a verandah facing the garden. The whole property is kept neat and clean. The garden has a few trees and interestingly quite a few vanilla climbers. There are also a few fruit trees and a coffee plantation in the backyard.
Throughout our stay we were always greeted with a smiling face. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and the stay and wish them all their best.

Room Tip: there are two rooms next to to each other
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ektasantosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our Home Stay .
We are happy to know that you liked the place.We too enjoyed your and your parents' company.
Thanks again.
Ganapathi & Vivina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were a family of 4 adults and 2 small kids who went to Madikeri for the first time. We went in August for a vacation in the madikeri region.
Pros:
1. The hosts of the place a very warm and excellent people. The first day when we arrived there it was very late and was my wife's b'day too. Mrs. Ganapati offered us a complimentary dinner. Mr. Ganapati suggested us to visit new places like Chiklihole reservoir etc. which you normaly would not visit. We luved all his suggestions.
2. The breakfast offered is wonderful and has at least 6-7 different items.
3. Privacy: There are only 2 rooms. So it is enough for 2 families (but anything more than that cannot be accomodated.)
4. The homestay is located in the heart of madikeri town (very near to raja's seat).
5. The beds are big and spacious.
6. Wifi facility is available on request.

Cons:
1. Not much. but there are mosqitoes due to the thick garden in the homestay but the host provided us with the repellants etc.
2. Not much of a view offered.

Overall: A wonderful place to relax and unwind. Kids love the place and food (breakfast) offered was fabulous! I would reco this place for anybody visiting Madikeri! A home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrashanthBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoorgClassicHomeStay, Owner at Coorg Classic Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks once again.
Ganapathi & Vivina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were five of us who stayed at Classic Coorg Home stay over the weekend in August 2013 & It was indeed a wonderful experience. Mr & Mrs. Ganapathy were warm & excellent hosts who were friendly & very helpful, The place is not too far from the center of the town which gave us good access & its serene & beautiful.
The rooms were nice, cozy & spacious with all basic amenities you could ask for & the best part was the well laid out Breakfast every morning with so much to fill ourselves up.
The hosts who were very informal, helped us with good information on what to explore & shop around the town & ensured we had a comfortable time with them. made us feel like we were at relatives'.
We thank them for the lovely hospitality & hope to visit the again.

Room Tip: Two Rooms & both good :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adarsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.2 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
3.5 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 25 in Madikeri
183 reviews
3.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coorg Classic Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coorg Classic Home Stay

Address: 10/1 College Road | Ranipet Junction, Madikeri 571201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 208 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range: $36 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coorg Classic Home Stay is a cottage consisting of two bed rooms with attached bathrooms having 24 hours hot and cold water facility. Each bed room can comfortably accommodate two persons. Both bed rooms open to a spacious verandah facing a lawn and fruit trees. The cottage is in the midst of flower shrubs, fruit trees and lots of greenery where you have the comfort of a home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing