We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice home stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbydhama Estate Home Stay
Ranked #3 of 122 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice home stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We, 5 couples spent one night on 19th June 2013 and we really enjoyed stay here. It's really well maintain home and rooms, it's more than home stay.

Food: We did not take dinner there but they prepared masala dose for us on request for breakfast. we all liked it well.

Location is also good,on the way to Abby falls on main road itself.

if money is not a problem then you can opt for this home stay

Room Tip: All rooms are almost same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishnupatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    112
    28
    2
    3
See reviews for
187
68
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here from 7th June 2013 to 12th June 2013. Though this place is called as a "Homestay", I would like to rename this as " The Ideal HOME to STAY". The location was ideal. Rooms were spacious and neat. The sit out in the rooms were excellent. Sipping a hot cup of Coorg Coffee in the sitout gave a feeling that we are sitting in the middle of the Jungle! I have never seen so much greenery around me in my life.
( This para is only for pure vegetarians ) - The food was awesome. The service was excellent with Mr.Vijay Raghavan, Proprietor, and Mr.Chidvilas, the owner, personally attending to you during every meal.
Room Choice - any room in the first floor has an excellent view from the balcony. The roof top dining hall can also be used for a relaxed dinner.
Will surely recommend this place to all my vegetarian friends. Happy Holidays !

Room Tip: Choose a room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramanan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Located at a peaceful, isolated location with out noise. Location is good and rooms are well maintained.

Pros:
1) Very good location. around 3KM far from city center, yet just 10 min drive.
2) Good view. Nice place to relax. Good view from the rooms.
3) Pool: Well maintained pool and is located just at the right place.
4) Reasonably well priced, compared to similar properties.

Cons:
1) Food: What we get is a typical Kannada food. This does not mean the quality is bad, just that it does not cater to my preference. City center is just 10 min drive..
2) No room service.
3) Will have to leave the footwear outside the main reception. You will be provided with the slippers inside. But if you are travelling lite with just 1 pair of shoes, then its ok.. but its annoying to leave the footwear outside everytime.

Overall, very good experience. Would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upratap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here during 13th to 16th of may. The highlighting points are the location, food and hospitality. Location is very good, inside a plantation nature also which is pretty near to the town.
Food is a special mention, both the chefs were wonderful mainly the Rasam was excellent on all the days. Heaven for veggie lovers. Swimming pool is well maintained and awesome, All the attendants were showing a great hospitality, and no negative things to say about.
my 3 years old little one enjoyed the stay a lot and very surprisingly she got attached with a person called LINGANNA, and we had a very nice time.
Television was too good and all channels were there and working perfect, which does not happen in most places.
Newspapers were not supplied saying that it disturbs the purpose of the trip, accepted, but not everyone can, I think.
The gutts to display the kitchen for any guests is appreciable, ofcourse which is well maintained

Some suggestions could be: a pathway inside the plantations, roads/big pathways connecting the hale mane and pool, can be laid with concrete road, cards can be accepted for payment, the fur rugs provided is not sufficient for winter, can be given with a woolen thick rug.

Chidvilas and Vijayaragavan doing a wonderful work, and reputed for their newspaper publication in madikeri town.

Visitors, please take help from chidvilas for buying spices and coffee powder, dont buy in unknown store, most of the stuff are duplicate and substandard

Enjoy your stay in abbydhama, I strongly recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srikanthgowtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Again I just went by TripAdvisor review and highly impressed with Abbydhama and the hosts Chidvilas and Vijay. Booked at a short notice, we were impressed on entering this property, which starts with a huge sitting area and open office. Asked to leave footwear outside gives a homely feeling like you are entering a home, not a hotel, some people might not like it though!
It's in the midst of a coffee estate wth greenery all around. Hosamane rooms are modern and very well planned and maintained. Again I had booked this place as they advertised that they have separate kitchen and dining area for vegetarians and non-vegetarians which my family prefers! Food served here is fresh, non-malasa oriented, plain simple south indian items, good for tummy while on trip! They have swimming pool which is charged extra which was a bit overdo for us, we used it once as my wife and kids couldn't resist looking at cleanliness and the location of the pool which has a full view of greenery around. But realised anyway that it was so clean because it is charged extra!
HaleMane would be an excellent choice if you have at least 10+ people, it can accommodate 30+ people easily!
Mr. Chidvilas is very accommodating to his guest's needs, gives personal attention to every guest and he has a very complementing manager in Mr. Vijay. This is a fairly new property and hope they maintain it in long term.
Suggestion: Introduction of payment by credit card would definetely help, fortunately We had cash with us, otherwise we had to make another trip to town!

Room Tip: All rooms in Hosamane have similar view, balcony space etc., Halemane is good for large groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeshNKenkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut, Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Five of us decided to give this place a try and found it to be a very comfortable and a value for money experience. The food was good and the people in-charge were very friendly and hospitable. I found them to be quite flexible in terms of check-in, check out. Very good location, close to Madikeri town and Abby Falls.

Room Tip: Plan in advance to get most suitable room. And you really don't require AC even in the peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clusterbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited the home-stay in May 2013 with family of 10 members

Right from the booking Mr. Chidvilas was very open in terms of all information and charges so that there were no surprises later on

Had a great 3 days of stay and enjoyed the simple yet delicious South Indian cuisine (special mention needed for the awesome rasam that Mr. Chidvilas's mother makes)

Mr. Vijayaraghavan and Mr & Mrs. Chidvilas all looked after the guests very well

We stayed in the comfortable rooms in Hosa Mane but also got to see the traditional Hale Mane. The rooms are well kept and pleasantly coloured. The balacony is an amazing place to wake up and spend a few moments looking over the estate listening to the chirping of birds. The drawing room (common area) is very spacious with a nicely designed artificial water fall and very comfortable sofas to sit back and relax. The soothing lights and the classical music / bhajans played at the right volume makes this place a very calming experience

The pool "Matsya" is one of the coolest spots in this home-stay. It is built to relax and rejuvenate at the same time. With high rising forest trees at one end and a natural lake at the other and the Hale Mane towering over it on the third, it makes a very private and wonderful place to just splash around in the water for hours together

The well designed cement benches and coffee table offer a great place to take a break inbetween your laps in the pool.

Early mornings spent by the pool is a fabulous experience that words can hardly express

The outdoor kids play area next to the pool has a slide, a couple of swings and see-saw. Indoor kids zone has a small slide, a carrom board and a small swing for toddlers

The tree house atop a huge Jackfruit tree inside the estate is an awesome place to view the estate from a good height. It is an awesome place to retire with a book in hand and enjoy the silent wonder of the natural surroundings while you are engrossed in a nice page turner

They also have thoughtfully made a washing area and parking facility for drivers accompanying larger vehicles so that they are also housed comfortably.

I would certainly recommend this place for a small or large family, especially vegetarians to have a great stay here.

For the betterment of the facility (still further - it is already pretty good) I would suggest the following:

1. Kids Play area (indoor) could be a bit more large with some more play stuff
2. Pool charge could be included in the room tariff or should be waived off (But I was ok to pay the additional amount for the pool as it was in pristine condition)
3. Facility to pay by card to be introduced
4. Frequency of room cleaning to be increased a bit so that bins do not get full

Room Tip: Any room in the ground floor next to the office in Hosa Mane is good mainly due to the excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lionking1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chidvilas G, Owner at Abbydhama Estate Home Stay, responded to this review, January 26, 2017
Abbydhama estate stay Madikeri recalls your visit to us and has read reviews. Good opinions kept in the heart for memory and bad opinions taken to mind for improvements.
We welcome all our guests. Wishes - Chidvilas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
2.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
10.4 mi away
Coorg Jungle Camp Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#2 of 22 in Madikeri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 22 in Madikeri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
4.5 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbydhama Estate Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbydhama Estate Home Stay

Property: Abbydhama Estate Home Stay
Address: Abbey Falls Road | Karnataka, Madikeri, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbydhama, purely an estate stay, nestled in the serene environment of a coffee estate, is perfectly located for a weekend break or a leisurely mid-week holiday. It is just 2.5 kms from Madikeri on the main road to Abby falls, a tourist spot. Just near the town but far from the bustling crowd, HOSAMANE the contemporary bungalow and HALEMANE the traditional house situated amidst the lush coffee greens are open to serve the guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing