We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
Nearby Hotels
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ibnii(Madikeri)
$323
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OYO 8499 City Comforts Inn(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madikeri Heritage(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$22
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Le Coorg(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveler rating
1,298
249
53
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,298
249
53
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillfern treeinfinity poolrainforest walkpremium indulgence cottagevirtual golfbuggy servicezip linemuddy bootsmountain bikingthe general managerhotel lobbygm mrdegree viewf btemperature controlledoverlooking the valley
Filter
Updating list...
1,304 - 1,309 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Its not just a luxury resort. Its a complete experience ! We stayed for two nights (19-20 Aug'14) and I must say, is a very short period to absorb the atmosphere. Right from the reception till the time we checked out, we were made to feel special (and not just by the Hotel staff...but by the other residents like the birds, crickets, frogs who make a charming music medley all the time...free of charge). We particularly enjoyed the early morning song of the Malabar whistling thrush who cheerfully woke us up without any need for an alarm clock. After that, the breathtaking views of the hills in the early morning light was out of this world. I was speechless for quite some time when I saw the vast expanse before me from the reception area. I have managed to click some shots with my wide angle lens, however a camera can never express the magic one can experience being there in person. It was not raining while we were there so we enjoyed a nature walk with Naveen (Muddy boots) who is an excellent naturalist. I would recommend all to experience the walk through the woods, its very refreshing. Since we did not have much time, could not go for the hike and other activities. The local cuisine on offer was excellent. We tried some local dishes and a sweet called Madhu soppu and found it to be really delicious. Mr Ali (the chef) and his assistants go out of their way to help the guests. Mr Krishan Kant Aggarwal, the General Manager deserves applause for the way he takes care of all the guests. He always looks cheerful and lively and ready to interact, adding to the charm of the place. His team also ably supports him in every way.It is a place where one can easily spend 5-6 days in pure bliss. The rooms (cottages) are quaint and comfortable. We stayed in room no 107 which had a spectacular view. I will recommend everyone to stay here at least once in your lifetime. Next time you are sure to come again.... on your own !

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the restaurant area...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sutscity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests. Naveen is also very thankful to you for your appreciation.

It is so special to know that you were impressed with overall product and service delivery from the team. It is so inspiring for us to get to know from guests that they had a beautiful stay. This is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. We can't thank you enough for this feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our private Eden.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

i was not staying at Taj . we friends went Taj Madikeri for Lunch the moment we entered reception and told them that we are here to have lunch, what they said is you have to have minimum bill of 1500 per person .
dude how can you even say at the reception gate that u cant come in if you are not going to eat for 1500!!!! if you have such kind of rule in hotels then do mention in big bold letters everywhere on websites and what the people working for the resort thinks that the people who are coming to have lunch there they cant afford to pay 1500 . ofcourse if somone is going to five star for the lunch they will have that much bank balance to spend !

we went there we had lunch . Again when we asked for the drinks menu what that waiter said was your bill of 1500 will not include these drinks!!!
what a shame man!!

you treat customers like this!

if you can serve customers who are not staying in resort then mention this also,
that resort is only for people who are coming to stay and not for other services!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
19  Thank teary30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Our stay in Taj @ coorg has been the most romantic, relaxing & beautiful holiday we have had till date. Once you are in the property, you would literally feel like you are moving around in the clouds!! The greenery, the rains, the view from the cottages, a small lake , herb gardens ...simply nature at its best!
We arrived on a saturday afternoon and were quickly given our cottage, the cottages are very luxurious & have a great view but since we went during the monsoons, we could pretty much only see the clouds . The food is delicious in their all day restaurant Fern. We tried various cuisines and had a finger licking experience every single time. There is also a barbecue cum bar which serves a very limited range but is worth it!
The hospitality was impeccable & we were easily able to get the buggies to travel around the property which is as huge as 180 acres. We also went for a trek to Nishani point & a bike ride. It was organized by Taj & we got a personal guide!. There is a small museum as well where you can look through the history of coorg,
We stayed for 2 nights & had a great time!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank love_for_travel_611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your appreciation.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy and ruminate. It is always a thrill to wake up with the drawing realization that you have a misty morning , the unaccustomed views and sounds ( birds chirping !!).

The monsoon is one of the most fascinating seasons in the Coorg. It transforms our landscape into a completely unique eco system with all the foliage coming to life, including the moss and lichen which are an indication of the health of the ecology that we are reposed in. The canopy of trees here paint every possible shade of green making our verdant rainforest similar to none other.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon with family.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I am visiting Coorg with a friend next week for his Birthday and wanted to go out for a lunch to Taj ,so i called them up to book a table for 2.I was told by some gentle man that they "do not allow non residents guest for lunch unless the minimum bill is 1500 per person".
This surprised me since i have never heard of such a policy at any other hotel.So i inquired that what if we go for Ala -Carte and our bill amount is less than 3K (1500*2 =3K) .
He curtly replied "We will tell you the difference and you can have food worth that amount packed".
Though the message could be genuine,i know of a few more hotels who follow this,but the communication tone was ridiculous .Almost telling me that its sinful to come to to coorg and not being able to afford a Taj stay .
Mr GM ,you must be having a great property i am sure ,and I am no Birla/Ambani that you would miss my presence /opportunity loss but i wish they were more courteous on refusing me the reservation

Room Tip: Didnt stay so no review
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank luv2exlpore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very thoughtfully designed resort...Great for couples and for groups as well...

One should go during the rains only if one really enjoys them...Otherwise its better to go in the summer, as some of the resort activities are curtailed during the rains...But it's still a great overall experience...

Rooms: More like cottages, they are huge and spacious; The lack of ACs was not a constraint for us; Handling the blinds is challenging; Another minor issue is that you can hear people in the adjoining room

Food: Food in general is good, though a bit limited in variety; There is a conscious effort towards not over-spicing the dishes, which I liked; The buffet spread is quite lavish; The grill restaurant feels very expensive and limited in variety compared to the main 24 hour place;

Activities: The traditional Kodava dance performance, indoor temperature controlled infinity pool, museum & pottery sessions were great; The spa looks good too though we didnt use it...

Airport Pickup & Drop: This was part of the package which we had selected and was one of the best features, with Toyota Innovas on both legs of the journey...

In-Resort Transportation: They try their best to ensure availability of golf carts for transportation, but the wait can be a bit long at times...

Overall, highly recommended. Possibly one of the most unique Taj properties in India!

Room Tip: Our room (202) was reasonably close to both the Lobby building & the F&B block
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank akshatkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2014

Dear Guest

At the outset I wish to state that we value your feedback and your review.

Whilst we endeavour to give every guest a fantastic experience with us, we understand that each person’s needs and expectations differ.
This monsoon, the rolling mist has been quite a draw and we have had people from different parts of India who have come to experience the rolling mist through our lobby with the clouds below. In most guests words , it is a divine feeling of almost being in heaven.

Have also noted your observant feedback on buggies, despite having 33 of these, it does sometimes becomes a concerning point especially during peak hour. I assure you that we will strive to make it more efficient. Hope this will not mar the favorable opinion on us.

Your extended family here at the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews