We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
Nearby Hotels
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 3009 Coorg Mandarin(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
The Ibnii(Madikeri)
$335
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madikeri Heritage(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imarat Hotel(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
OYO 8499 City Comforts Inn(Madikeri)(Great Value!)
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Coorg(Madikeri)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveler rating
1,280
249
50
19
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,280
249
50
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillfern treeinfinity poolrainforest walkpremium indulgence cottagevirtual golfbuggy servicezip linemuddy bootsmountain bikingthe general managerhotel lobbygm mrdegree viewf btemperature controlledoverlooking the valley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,456 - 1,461 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I would rate it the best property in south india,finest hospitality and great food.Its nature un spoilt.The layout of the resort has done very minimal damage to nature.Its 180 acres of thick forest and they have hardly used 15 acres out of it for concrete structure and roads,most of the structures are not visible even when you are inside the property.Get yourself ready to climb up and Down,waiting for the buggy sometimes irritates.i think that will be fixed soon.If u r health freak then you won't complain that also!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Badri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your stay and for an amazing review.

I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words about our hotel and for our friendly associates.

It is so special to know that you were impressed with overall product and service delivery from the team. It is so inspiring for us to get to know from guests that they had a beautiful stay. This is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. We can't thank you enough for this feedback.

Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri, Coorg gets up, close and personal with nature. The hotel's organic demeanor will give wings to your wanderlust the moment you step in. Our serene, secluded, canopied retreat is located 7 kms away from Madikeri, amidst a 180 acre living breathing rainforest. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and services.

Relaxing ambiance paired with personalized yet unobtrusive service is what we always aim to offer to all our guests. Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Be pleasantly surprised to find some of Coorg's most celebrated food offerings just around the corner. Fern Tree - the multi cuisine restaurant, Nellaki – where the accent is on regional Coorg cuisine. Dew – the unique wellness cuisine restaurant. The Poolside Grill – where grills add to the outdoor thrill. And Hive Bar, where Coorg's most imaginative cocktails come alive. Our indoor and outdoor venues are a treat for the senses. The flavours. The aromas. The live cooking sounds. And the artistic display. All come together in a fine harmony. Dig in. Be thrilled. Let the spirit of Vivanta by Taj enliven you

Your extended family here at the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

excellent hotel. its set in the mountainsin a serene location. service is excellent. the staff knows your prefernces and accomodates you in every way possible. would recommend the premium cottages, particularly 503 or 504 for views. food is excellent and so is the spa and activities. will recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: premium cottages rooms 501-504
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ankur1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your stay and for an amazing review.

Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

Be pleasantly surprised to find some of Coorg's most celebrated food offerings just around the corner. Fern Tree - the multi cuisine restaurant, Nellaki – where the accent is on regional Coorg cuisine. Dew – the unique wellness cuisine restaurant. The Poolside Grill – where grills add to the outdoor thrill. And Hive Bar, where Coorg's most imaginative cocktails come alive. Our indoor and outdoor venues are a treat for the senses. The flavours. The aromas. The live cooking sounds. And the artistic display. All come together in a fine harmony. Dig in. Be thrilled. Let the spirit of Vivanta by Taj enliven you.

And ofcourse , Jiva Grande Spa offers the best in Indian rejuvenation therapies ranging from Indian aromatherapy massages, time-honoured Indian treatments, body scrubs and wraps.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service. You will be happy to note that we have been included in the 2013 'It' list in the American edition of the Travel & Leisure magazine and Conde Nast US and UK Hot Pick list 2013, Best New Hotels Hotlist 2013, World Spa and Travel Magazine- 50 best new luxury hotels worldwide, Trip Advisor – Travellers Choice Hill Station award 2013,Trip Advisor – Hot New Hotels Asia 2013,Trip Advisor – No. 3 Trip Advisor Asia list, Conde Nast Traveller- Runner-Up for Favourite New Leisure Hotels- India, Travel+Leisure India-Chosen as one of the India’s top 25 Presidential Suites 2013.

Your extended family here at the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow Simply Awesome place to stay where you forget about all the noise of City life and live peacefully with Nature. Awesome Rooms , Facilities and Staff .

Tip : Set Madikeri as the Destination then hotel this will take to a good road to the hotel otherwise you will taken inside town where roads are bit harder to navigate

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

The rolling mist and the lilting mountain air have an unparalleled place in all our lives and beckon you to return.

It was thoughtful of you to convey your overall satisfaction. We are glad to have provided you with an enjoyable experience. Service excellence with the urge to anticipate and comply with guest needs is what we believe in. I am so happy to know that you got to experience the best of our hospitality.

We are in touch with the concerned external authorities for repair of the golf course road and hopefully we shall be able to find the solution for a 300 metre stretch. Rest, I am sure you will agree it is the most beautiful picturesque drive.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future to Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg.

Assuring you the best attention and services always.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A beautiful property with an absolute wow factor as soon as you arrive in the lobby - panoramic views of the surrounding hills and Western Ghats. Lovely sunken sofas mean you can relax and take it all in - found it very hard to leave them.

The service is faultless and many of the staff are local, speaking excellent English. The food is also fantastic and we spent a couple of hours in a cooking session with the chef, learning how to make some of the traditional Coorgi dishes.

There's plenty of ways to explore the area - we walked, biked and just soaked up the views during an outdoor yoga session. The two pools mean you can swim either in the valley, looking up at the villas dotted around the hillside (all very discreet and private), or from the indoor infinity pool looking out across the countryside.

Highly recommended - make sure you book at least three nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fabulous views. If you don't want to have a long walk to the restaurant / main lobby with pool and spa, then ask for one of the rooms higher up.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments on the Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri. Coorg.

Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri, Coorg gets up, close and personal with nature. The hotel's organic demeanor will give wings to your wanderlust the moment you step in. Our serene, secluded, canopied retreat is located 7 kms away from Madikeri, amidst a 180 acre living breathing rainforest. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and services.

Whilst staying in Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg , be a part of the magic as the clouds cozily caress the pristine rainforest. Interpret a world around you with our Rainforest Insider . Bask in the warmth of sundowners and barbeques. Shape the earth at our Potters Studio. Enjoy the traditional meal at Nellaki and feel the freshness of home grown herbs at Ferntree. Witness Nature's Prodigy !!

Our hotel offers outstanding activities, indoors and outdoors in the midst of verdant forest. Iam delighted that you found our hotel an enjoyable destination. Situated at 4100 feet in the magnificent Western Ghats - an unparalleled bio diversity, Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri, Coorg is a fairy tale luxury resort set in 180 acres of quintessential Coorg Landscape.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service.

Your extended family here at the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back very soon

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

one of taj's mindblowing properties and a amazing hotel.Excellent service, typical of taj vivanta and great vacation place for a family.children will love it.they take special care of the guests and will help to make a memorable vacation.highly recommended!! their heated infinity pool,spa,and the rooms are spectacular.food is great but can be better by taj standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramit_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments on the Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri. Coorg.

Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri, Coorg gets up, close and personal with nature. The hotel's organic demeanor will give wings to your wanderlust the moment you step in. Our serene, secluded, canopied retreat is located 7 kms away from Madikeri, amidst a 180 acre living breathing rainforest. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and services.

Relaxing ambiance paired with personalized yet unobtrusive service is what we always aim to offer to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable experience.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews