We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a very memorable stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Madikeri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This is by far one of the best Taj Properties in the country. Right from location, hospitality, accomodation to food everything is outstanding. 7 stars from my side.

1) Location - Very scenic amidst the rain forest
2) Rooms - Quite comfortable
3) Food - Brilliant. Compliments to Chef Johnson .
4) Hospitality & Service - Amongst the best you can get anywhere

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr Ahmed

It was indeed a pleasure to have you and your team with us.

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words about our hotel and rate it is 7 star.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service in all of South East Asia.

Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,551 - 1,557 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I visited Vivanta by Taj - Madikeri around the last week of Aug-2012, that was just the second week since they had commenced operations. Since it was a brand new property I went in expecting a slightly unsetelled place, but boy was I wrong !!!
The property was "brilliant", no amount of looking up their website, snaps of the location or reviews such as mine can prepare you for the sheer brilliance of the location.
I must add that the service is as great as the location, which makes it a complete experience. Starting from the GM, front desk staff to the last staff member on the property, everyone ensures that each guest is well takencare of.
This property has something to offer for every kind of traveller, a must visit in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vishnu charan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr Charan

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us.

On behalf of the entire team here , I wish to express my gratitude for your kind words about our hotel.

It has given us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to ruminate.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service.

Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

In all the resorts that I have stayed at especially in India - This one is right on top leaving the others far behind. From the time you enter the resort you are blown away as the hotel is breathtaking and the views from every corner of the hotel makes your jaw drop in awe!!! A truly magnificent property that in my view truly catapults you to heaven!!!

The team at this hotel is so well trained and take such pride in being part of this resort that they go above and beyond their call of duty to make your stay so enriching so memorable. The service is truly outstanding and surpasses all expectations and this is at all levels be it the Front office Team, Housekeeping, F&B and event the executive team. They ensure that once you walk in you are truly at home and are truly pampered and taken care of. Imagine we had the GM of the Hotel Krishan Kant personally drop us in his buggy to our room! Wow is all I can say!!! Kudos to each and every one of them. Would love to list all their names but that list is so so long. In one sentence you blew us away with the level and warmth of your service!!!

The hotel itself is spell bounding - When you reach and walk into the reception you will feel for yourself what I am talking about!!!! Truly makes your jaw drop!!! Every detail of the hotel has been designed with such care and attention and all of it done keeping their guests in mind. The facilities are just awesome - Try their indoor infinity heated pool and jacuzzi's its a memorable experience. The outside pool is also just amazing and if the sun is out I would recommend you take a dip. The jiva spa as always is great and the therapies worth taking

The food is truly outstanding - We sampled all kinds of food - Italian, Thai, Coorgi and even Indian and they were all amazing. Kudos to their Executive Chef and their F&B Team.

If you are looking for a little peace of heaven in our part of the world then just pack you bags and go here it is a trip you will cherish!!! Imagine it is the only resort where before leaving we booked ourselves again to be back there in December 2012.

To the GM Mr. Krisan Kant Aggarwal - You have truly built a world class resort that I feel is one if the finest I have visited and you have a team that will truly take this to heights beyond compare. Congratulations and all the best!!!

Cant wait to get back to Vivanta by Taj Madikeri in December!!!

Room Tip: Book The Premium Indulgence Cottages - The Views are Breath Taking!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sprasadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr Prasad

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you for staying with us for past two occasions.

Your comments gave us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to enjoy.

Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back in month of April with group of friends and family to what we trust is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This property stands apart. Right from the time you enter and see the breath taking view of the rain forest and the paddy fields to the rooms which are very spacious and the food that is excellent. All the people who work at the hotel have a sense of pride for their hotel and make the guests feel at home. This is because the GM Mt Krishan Kant himself leads from the front and leads by example. We came across many people and especially some of them whom I would like to mention are the chefs Johnson, Ali and Santosh, The housekeeping Nagesh, Jishu and Jishnu, the restaurants Gautam, Deepak, and Sanjay and the project manager Pramod were outstanding. The front office people Ankita and the team were also good. However a special thanks to Mr Krishna kant who is a gem of a person. I have always said Taj stands apart from all other hotel chains as the people do the work with their heart. many properties are good but what makes them better is the people. Taj Coorg is one such place where the people make the property more desirable. A must visit place again and again and again. The place has a soul and that is its people. Pray that this remains like this foe ever

Room Tip: All rooms are with excellent views. Sizes wary. But the smallest one is also very very big. So choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Dr Sherlekar

On behalf of the entire team, I wish to thank you and your family for staying with us.

Your comments gave us a reaffirmation that our private Eden in this breathing rainforest, offers an abode for our guests to ruminate.

Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon ( third trip ) to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visitied Vivanta by Taj, Madikeri first week of Nov. It took us about 6 hours to reach with rains from Bangalore and it only got worse when we got close to the property with narrow roads filled with water and heavy rainfall. With a 7 month old baby, when we finally reached Vivanta, we were a bit skeptical but as soon as we entered the lobby, we forgot all about the treacherous drive. What a great property, beautiful views from the rooms, amazing facilities, great pool (which we couldnt use cos it was kinda cold). The staff had arranged for all the things we had requested for the baby and the hospitality was just awesome. Kudos to the staff!
When we were not very pleased with the thai food in the room service, the chef made sure to cook us a great meal the next day for lunch. We just had an amazing experience, it is by far the best Taj property we have visited.

Couple of pointers:
It would be nice to visit when its not raining too much cos otherwise the view is just blocked with the mist, but for ppl those who enjoy rainfall it may work.

Because the suites give you utmost privacy and great views, it is a bit of a walk to the restaurant, lobby etc and its hilly area..but the staff will send you the buggys whenever needed.

We had a great holiday and will definitely like to visit again!

Room Tip: Get a room closer to restaurant, lobby if travelling with a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prakriti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your stay and for an amazing review.

I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests. It is so special to know that you were impressed with all your interactions with the team.

Your testimonial will go a long way in encouraging us in our endeavor to provide the highest quality of product and service. Your extended family here at the hotel now looks forward to welcoming you back very soon to what we now hope is your new home in Coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We traveled to Vivanta by Taj, Madikeri on 19th to 21th. And we have come back different people. This resort, that opened on the 15th, is Taj’s best kept secret. Nestled in a slice of paradise, it is a must visit for all.
Firstly, what this resort is not:

1.A place for multiple activities for uncles, grandparents, kids, relatives, etc. This resort is where time stands still, where you can sit and watch beautiful clouds grace mountains and the incoming rain.

2.A place where your 3 year old can run amok, I have one of those and the first think the GM told me was to be careful with small children. The resort has staff who are so wonderful and caring – they kept an eye on my children while we ate, etc.

3.Coffee plantation – This is about rainforests and the sounds of the forest with pristine mountain air that will bathe you every second and calm your soul.

4.Work in Progress – though the resort still has a few ‘pool villas’ and ‘presidential suits’ to be completed, don’t let that bother you. The cottages and villas that are functional are exceptional. The views are much better than what you will get from the ‘pool villas’

Any picture you have seen on the web and the official site pales in comparison to what you will see. It is simply breath taking, it is guaranteed to blow your mind away.

Drive from Bangalore: It’s a 5 hour drive from Bangalore and the road is superb (except for a 30 min stretch if you take a shortcut) up to the main town of Madikeri. From there on all you need to do is to follow the signs of Club Mahendra until the 0.5 km marker where you will find and follow the vivanta signage. A narrow road will lead you to the resort and takes you through the Madikera Golf course! It’s a beautiful old road (cemented) and an experience on its own. 10 km from Madikera town.

The resort: You will be greeted with a surprise that you will be stamped in your mind forever! (and I will not spoil this for you). The blocks are perched on the hillside of a rainforest and are at multiple levels making walking an option only for the fit. There are 20 buggies that will take you around. The resort is huge over 200 acers! (feels like a lot more!) The minute you arrive, stress melts away and you are absorbed into the vista.

We stayed at a villa that had one of the best views. 3 sides of windows ensures you cannot miss this gods slice of paradise. A huge comfortable bed, well designed bathroom are all very much what you will expect. In the room was also a beautiful fireplace that added a magical touch. Each is designed so that you get a great view but ensuring privacy.

Executive Chef Johnson’s fantastic food will ensure you will eat the best, freshest food you can get. The coorgs specialities of ‘Pandhi Curry’, and Koli Curry’ are to die for. You must visit his domain. The kitchen is spotless and resembles my operation theatre! The food is fantastic! You are assured to put on a few pounds. Food is served at 4 different resorts, which ever will suit your mood, we stuck to the main one that has exquisite views. A very memorable experience.
The staff of the resort are amazing. Despite the difficult logistics of a spread out resort, they take care of your every need. Even before you asked for. I must mention during my stay, the room safe was left unlocked with considerable valuables. The housekeeping staff locked the safe, called me and one person was waiting outside the room for my return. Not a cent was taken!

There are two pools, an indoor heated pool with a Jacuzzi and a huge outdoor pool. The view from the infinity pool is amazing. You will want to linger on and on, despite the cold!. A well equipped gym and activity center is present. The Jiva spa was given high marks by the wife who enjoyed a 4 hour treatment. A large amphitheater is under construction.

The GM of the resort deserves huge appreciation. From the time we arrived to our departure he ensured that the guests were well taken care of. I was so taken aback by his personal touch to every aspect, including knowing the name of a gardener (one of about a 100 I am sure) who was walking by! He ensures that is one place that does not have any of the problems of a resort but with all its glories. He has done a fantastic job on selecting, training and building the resort. He is without doubt the michelangelo of Taj to have created this resort.

This is paradise. And we wished we could stay there longer. I wold suggest you head over there as soon as you can. Its going to be difficult to get a room in the near future when more people discover this beautiful resort. Even for the owners!

Its definitely on my 100 places to go before I die list and am looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Room 506 has one of the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank drcharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Dr Charit

Thank you so much for your amazing review.

I am proud to be working with a team of fantastic individuals who with their tremendous commitment to quality service create unforgettable experiences for all our guests.

It is so special to know that you were impressed with overall product and service delivery from the team. It is so inspiring for us to get to know from guests that they had a beautiful stay. This is the biggest recognition for all the efforts we put in. We can't thank you enough for this feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming your parents to our private Eden.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

really impressed with the Vivanta by Taj madikeri coorg property , could not resist sharing our experience ,it took us around 7 hours to reach the property and even one km before the property you cant think what lies ahead !!!!!!!! The staff is great as the property is fresh and new they go out of the way to make guest feel at home. Good Job by Vivanta after staying at these property looking Vivanta in a new light

Room Tip: luxury indulgence rooms are the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARUN214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBTMadikeriCoorg, General Manager at Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking out the time to share your feedback of your stay at the Vivanta by Taj – Madikeri, Coorg.

It was thoughtful of you to convey your delight , We are glad to have provided you with an memorable experience.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to your home at coorg.

Regards
Krishan Kant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
15.5 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
541 reviews
16.1 mi away
Evolve Back, Coorg
Evolve Back, Coorg
#1 of 1 in Siddapura
1,871 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 28 in Madikeri
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#5 of 28 in Madikeri
79 reviews
16.7 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
20.6 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg

Address: 1st Monnangeri, Galibeedu Post, Madikeri 571201, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Madikeri
Price Range: $246 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched 4000 feet above sea level in the midst of a 180-acre rainforest is the Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg. With Kodagu architecture, a temperature controlled Infinity Pool, an outdoor pool, 4 experiential dining experiences, a fully stocked Hive Bar and serenity that lingers long after your blissful break at this 5 star hotel in Madikeri, Coorg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing