We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of UDAYA HOMESTAY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Sitout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Exterior
Sitout
mist enveloped
front view
Bench in the garden
View of the hillock
hammock in the garden
The sitting room
Mantel above the fire place
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Surojit03
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed May 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Udaya Homestay for 3 nights and it was a splendid experience. The owners Prem and Preet are a lovely couple who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and our stay a very pleasant one. It's a very well maintained and spacious property with a beautiful porch. The abode is tastefully decorated. The property has 2 bedrooms and a common dining and drawing space which is well furnished. The caretakers were extremely helpful and they were just a call away as they stay at the back side of the property. Preet made us Coorg delicacies for breakfast which was really lip smacking. They helped us with our itinerary too and suggested a place called Mandalpatti which has breathtaking views. The property is located quite near to market place so one can get all basic stuffs from there. This was our best stay during our Bangalore trip and would highly recommend this property. The photos shown in their profile is exactly what you get. We would definitely want to come back to this property when we visit Coorg next.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanchita...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I am little bit late to review this place, but if I don't review it it will be injustice to Udaya Home stay. I went there with my husband and my parents. My stay was really pleasant.

Coming to the location and proprety, the property has hill view and it is not only well maintained but well decorated also. Thanks to Prem and Preet for their effort to keep that property so well maintained. Coming to Prem and Preet they are the most wonderful host you will ever meet. They are very helpful they guided us to all the major tourist attractions to us. .
They served us authentic coorg food for breakfast and diner. The food was really tasty.

We really enjoyed our stay and I definitely want to revisit this prperty again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roli2712
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Peaceful and Relaxing”
Reviewed October 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I with my family stayed at Udaya during end of sept2017. The house is tastefully done with soothing decor. we were greeted by the owners with a friendly smile. They were very polite and took care in explaining every detail and amenities. Her husband too was very humble and guided us with our tour plan. On our last day, Mrs Preeth especially made a Coorg delicacy for breakfast. She was a perfect host and treated us like family.

Some fine details for potential travelers:
- Rooms are spacious and bedding comfortable.
- Outside porch is the best place for having morning tea and enjoying the misty weather
- Care taker is a nice lady, stays at backside, and immediately available on call. We requested tea on our arrival which she readily prepared.
- Hot water supply available in bathrooms/kitchen
- Place is at walking distance from main market (1-2 km)
- Popular restaurants provide delivery to Udaya, in case someone opts to dine-in. They charge transportation extra.
- Restaurants are also nearby within 1-2 km
- Udaya is near "Spice Place", good place to buy spices.
- Udaya is perfectly safe and away from hustle bustle, thus providing a peaceful stay
- RO drinking water available
- Soap/Towels available in Bathroom

- Kitchen related:
--For self cooking, utensils are available, supplies need to be arranged by traveller
--For breakfast, ask care taker what she will be providing. in our case, she cooked dosa-chatni-sabji and on our request she made aloo parathas for kids.
-- For dinner, have to inform caretaker in morning so she may arrange supplies.

In summary, eventhough this was my family's first experience at Homestay we really liked it a lot. The owners are very nice and friendly people and will immediately make u feel at home. I strongly recommend this homestay to all who wish to visit Coorg.

Date of stay: September 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
32vineetv
1 review
“Great stay, hosts and whole experience ”
Reviewed August 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Totally loved the stay there. The property is amazing to chill out and relax, and it's location is also great. The hosts are really amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed their breakfast and conversations with them about local stay experience. Highly recommend it to others.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavanp243
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location but”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I was contemplating a 3 or 4 star but stuck to 3 since i really dont think its extraordinary.

First of all location...yes..it is in the heart of the city..close to Raja seat but you drive all the way here to have some good views and walk in the garden but sadly this has none. It has an average view from outside.

Second..which is my biggest issue..there is no food provided here which is ridiculous. Homestay..you just want to relax and no go in search of restaurants!

On the flip side the property is excellent and the hosts are friendly though i felt a loss of privacy when the host suddenly walked in from the back door and telling us not to lock the back door. Lovely hosts and a good property in summary but average because of everything else.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuhinaaa
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

me and husband were in the middle of transsitionf orm gurgaon to bangalore and needed a break desperately before we get into the new busy life and Udaya homestay at Madikeri was a perfect getaway for us . The Place was absolutely spic and span and very peaceful and quiet . We got all the much needed rest that we wanted there. The cottage is located not far form the town area but in a calm area. One should definitely stay here with family.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singhakir...
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent host and beautiful house”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were so excited to see the pictures on the website and the house looks exactly how it appears there and that is beautiful . However what we liked most are the hosts, there warmth and pleasing personality made the whole stay memorable. The house is well maintained not too much of decoration just the right thing at the right place.I am going to surely recommend this to my friends and want to go back and stay few more days. Thanks Madam Preeth and Mr Prem (:
Details about the place.
1. The house has two bedroom , one of the bedroom can accommodate 3 adults and the other 2.
2. Caretaker lives right behind the house and is available till 10pm.
3. Ms Preeth comes in the morning with breakfast 09AM (amazing food).
4. Lunch and dinner can be ordered from outside restaurant. We ordered from Green hotel, quick service and good food.
5. The place is right at the beginning of the madikeri town. Landmark (India oil Petrol bunk)
6.Wifi available , signal strength little weak in our room though. Hot water too.

Date of stay: February 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing