We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay - would love to go back”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of UDAYA HOMESTAY

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Sitout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Exterior
Sitout
mist enveloped
front view
Bench in the garden
View of the hillock
hammock in the garden
The sitting room
Mantel above the fire place
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 2
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikin_Jai...
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay - would love to go back”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I would like to thank the owner Preeth & Prem for providing us a great place to stay in Madikeri. The owner Preeth was waiting to receive us and had a list of attractions in madikeri with the distance from the udaya homestay. I had booked for 2 days which I felt was very less when I reached the homestay. I have listed the Pros & Cons below:

Pros:
Ideal location
Well maintained and clean bedroom, bathroom and kitchen
Lot of space for kids
Affordable

Cons:
1. Complimentary breakfast was not good, there was rawa idli with no chutney and the bread was not fresh.
2. The wi-fi was available but was slow could be used for only whatsapp

But overall it was an excellent place to stay and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Madikeri.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location of the property along with the amenities provided
Liked least: complimentary breakfast
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srinivasp...
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hospitality and unforgettable stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My name is Srinivas Potharaju and I am from Hyderabad and I visited Udaya for 3 days along with my family of 6 adults and 1 kid. I had to tell you that I got excellent treatment from owner of this Homestay and I can always cherish the delightful moments we had at this place. Everything is so nice and tidy and they treated us with utmost care. We really felt great staying here. We were helped with places to visit, shopping and even with booking of taxi rentals. Complementary breakfast was great and the local culinary was awesome. The place is exactly like the photos shown here. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family and I won't think of any where else to stay for my next trip. Fabulous service, nice place and great location is all I have to say about this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice place, perfect location for site-seeing, friendly atmosphere
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hosts
Liked least: The fact that we didn't have more time to spend here.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Udai B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“living it up in style”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I know its very late but i simply had to write about this place . so i celebrated my birthday in coorg and all the days i stayed there was a gala time .
so this place is in madikeri town n have easy access to markets . abbey falls n raja seat is at close distance . this place is located a bit inside from main road . the place is having a nice garden with hammock n you can clearly see the mountains n dont forget to miss the sunrise and have morning tea/coffee at the porch . tehy have two rooms n if you book both then you have the whole property to yourself .i m a traveller n avid lover of homestays . if you want to know how a homestay is then see its host . teh host were simply amazing . preet would specially come in every morning just to ensure we are doing fine n make arrangements for breakfast . the house maid was very kind n quick in service . my only last words that if you want to have a feel of private villa book both rooms n it simply feels like home and also dont forget to watch the clear sky n constellations from the garden .
thank you prem n preet for a wonderful vacation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: that pictures portrayed are not original n place is bit smaller then it appears on the photos
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrbanWand...
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Memorable stay at Udaya. Traveled with family which included my brother sister in law niece and my mother. The property is located well and is conducive to travel anywhere from here. Close to the market as well accessible. Done up very well with beautiful artifacts decorating the home. Interiors are superb and a lot of care has been taken to make this home stay a perfect home away from home. Prem and his lovely wife are great hosts. They made sure we had yummy breakfast and some Coorgi delicacies every morning. They even helped us plan our travel with Coorg and which are they good places to go to especially since my mother is old and would not be able to do a lot of strenuous travel. We visited the coffee plantation recommended by them. We made ample use of the home stay with well equipped kitchen and the friendly caretaker. Usually cooked our own meals at night to avoid traveling at night and general reduce eating outside food. The homestay has a Tata Sky connection as well. The fire place and living room area adds more charm to the house. Overall Coorg is a great place to visit but the experience is made even better thanks to our stay at Udaya. Definitely one of the most memorable family vacations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rohitduga...
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were 2 couples with kids who loved the place too. They have tastefully done interiors and decent outdoors. The owners are very helpful and friendly people. The fireplace is a nice touch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xatyam
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful stay!

This is probably one of the best stay in Coorg. Kids didn't want to come back home... :)

Don't miss sunrise from the porch, a nap in the hammock and the sumptuous breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing