We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience@ Victorian Verandaz (Rusticaa)”
Review of Victorian Verandaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Verandaz
Ranked #2 of 146 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was an amazing experience of three days @ Rusticaa Cottage in Victorian Verandaz. We reached the cottage late in night and I am very thankful to Mr Thimmiah for guiding us as along the way.The highlight of our stay was the hospitality offered by Thimmiah and Diana. They made sure that every moment of our stay was a pleasant experience. My special thanks also to the caretaker couple, Baiju and Sreeja for accommodating all our requests. The drive through the more than 110 acres coffee estate was an wonderful experience. The cottage (Rusticaa) where we stayed in, has an old world charm to it while at the same time has all the modern amenities with a full fledged Kitchen. Last but not the least, the bonfire party in the evening with Mr Thimmiah himself joining us....To sum it up an excellent experience. I look forward to visiting this place again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeepakBehera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Deepak, both Vineet and yourself were good fun. Sure you loved driving your SWANK car in Coorg too!!!! I sure did enjoy your company and am sure you guys are gonna be back. So until then......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved the hospitality showered by Thimmiah and Diana. They made us feel at home. View from the estate was amazing. Was great sitting in the Verandah chit chatting overlooking the gorgeous plantation landscape. I would die to have another cup of the home brewed coffee. Thimmiah and Diana were so patient and let the kids run around the property and explore.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Was great to have Sarita an Kavita stay with us @ VV. Your kids were really good mannered and wasn't a problem having them around. Will wait for your call once you an your best buddy decide to catchup in Coorg again!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Still on way to home from V V and could not help taking some time out to write this review. My kids are still missing Baiju (the caretaker) who was patient enough with my 2 kids.

V V is located some 8 kms from the Madikeri Main town but it seems to be in an altogether different world itself. The entire place is a 150 acre plot and we were like in the middle of a Forrest with greenery everywhere. The place has 2 man made lakes where you can chill out, 1 falls (watch out, the road to it is a bit steep) and a small fountain where my children were trying to learn swimming.

The Estate has abundant of Pepper plants, coffee plants , jack fruit trees and some sweet line and orange trees. This place brought back memories of my native place which has a similar setting. We stayed in Rustic-aa (independent cottage) which was recently renovated and we were the seventh guests there. There are 2 big bedrooms which can accommodate 4 beds each, one big hall with a Satellite TV (so that my dad and kid dont miss their IPL games ) , a kitchen with all essentials like utensils and plates and a refrigerator with eggs and bread/butter for your daily breakfast. This was my first experience in a home-stay and was totally worth it.

Thimaiah and Diana are wonderful hosts and they sure know how to make Guests welcome there.
A few tips:
1) a vacation is for sitting back and relaxing and at V V , you shud do just that. We stressed ourselves going to nagarhole and iruppu falls, but the next day, just decided to roam the estate and enjoy the vacation.
2) Try the cottage stay for an out of the world experience.( be prepared to make ur own food or go to town to have lunch and dinner)
3) Nisarga travels owned by Nanda (suggested by Thimaiah) can help you plan your travel in and around Coorg.
4) Buy Honey , spices and homemade chocolates for gifting from sh

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Hey Sunil, just got your sms sayin you reviewed on TA and I'm already reading about your stay with us. Glad you and your family had a good time and YES, I tell all my guests that when they come to stay with us, not to do unnecessary travel. Just sit back and enjoy the Estate like you did on your last day @ VV. I'm lookin forward to see you in a year's time. The place might see some changes, but we'll be the same. Love to your kids too!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Me and my husband had visited Victorin Verandaz in the last week of March. The highlight was the hospitality of Diana, who single handedly managed the guests and made sure all our requests were accommadated from simple dinners and ginger tea (I had fallen sick during the trip and required special attention) to home remedies which really extended her warmth. She made sure that we felt comfortable and ensured a great home stay experience. Also loved the space in the estate and the location overlooking the mountains. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_India_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thankyou for your review Maam. Yes, Diana does run the place with great dedication. She still talks about how warm you both were!!! Look forward to you visiting us again as I missed you during your visit. Warm Regards. C.C.Thimaiah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Victorian Verandaz is a home away from home.... it is not a typical home stay but gives you all the benefits of home stay.... The main house is separate from the rooms.... they have 2 rooms n a cottage available... with a separate dining area for the guests.... the rooms and bathrooms are of decent size.... n very clean....
It is a coffee estate which is fully functional and have lots of ground to walk n explore... its the best place to kick back n relax.... the location of the estate is perfect as it is away from the hustle bustle of the city but at a decent distance from all the sightseeing spots....
The home cooked food is amazing, they serve a good spread of local dishes..... if you are a non-vegetarian... its the place to be.... i still drool at the thought of the pork curry...
Last but not the least.... Diana and Thimmaiah.... they are a lovely couple who welcome you with open arms to their home.... they made our stay very pleasant and they really pampered our son.... who on the last day was very upset that he had to go back home.... Thimmaiah took us for a tour of the estate and for a small hike down to see the waterfall on their estate....
We will def hope to visit them again....
We wish them luck and hope their lil peace of heaven in coorg prospers....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Nice to read what u ve written on VV, Richa, an both Diana and myself look forward to your return to our little heaven in Coorg!!!! Sabeer was great fun and really kept us entertained. Will keep his plot of Land safe!!!!! Cheers!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ours was an extension to our business engagements at Bangaluru and we enjoyed our stay at Coorg and specifically at Victorian Verandaz. We spent a day on a tour of the estate and it was the most interesting part of what all we did in Coorg. A Bon-Fire in the winderland was a treat. The place is clean, well kept and practical for a comfortable stay. Diana Thimmiah was by far the important reason - considering the way she takes care of the guests. We strongly recommend for a short stay. - Veena & Juggi Khanna

Room Tip: Accommodation is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Juggi821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thankyou for your review on VV. Diana still hasnt stopped talking to me about one Mr & Mrs Juggi Khanna, I missed meeting!!!!! Look forward to you coming back to VV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We selected this place after going through Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Diana and Thimmaiah made sure we had a pleasant stay. When my kid got cold, Diana even prepared a local remedy using some herbs and honey. Overall we enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanmuga_S_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Everybody relies on Tripadvisor, Shanmuga. Us too!!!! The next time you decide to come to Coorg, hopefully you come straight to VV. Cheers!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
7.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#2 of 26 in Madikeri
493 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#5 of 26 in Madikeri
72 reviews
7.5 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
2.1 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
Notting Hill Homestay
Notting Hill Homestay
#1 of 146 in Madikeri
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Verandaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Verandaz

Address: Modur Estate | Kadagadal, Madikeri 571248, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range: $33 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verandah is typical of British colonial architecture. It allows us to enjoy the outdoors in a protected manner. We get to relax and enjoy the scenery, without being troubled by sunlight or rain.Victorian Verandaz is a pretty little cottage with a lovely verandah in front. It is designed for guests to rest and play in safety and comfort. This cottage is tucked in next to a planter’s bungalow. A bungalow that has played host to Coorg’s bold and beautiful for over a 100 years. Coorg aristocracy, British officials, army officers and planters have gathered here many a time. To discuss state affairs, hunt and feast.Victorian Verandaz is built on top of a slope and offers a view of thickly wooded slopes. Surrounding it, is a typical coffee plantation with lakes, a nursery, drying yards and the sounds of Birds.Let Coorg slow your heartbeat and make your mind sit back and rest in relief. Unwind in the pleasant climate at 4,200 feet. We extend you a warm welcome to Victorian Verandaz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Victorian Verandaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing