We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hospitality and overall experience!”
Review of Victorian Verandaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Victorian Verandaz
Ranked #2 of 129 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hospitality and overall experience!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at VV along with two couples (my parents and aunt/uncle) who were senior citizens (or almost senior citizens) and they thoroughly enjoyed the 2N/3D plantation experience. VV is around 6-7 kms from Madikeri town and is an ideal place to stay and tour the area. The hosts - Diana and Thimaiah went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. We wanted a combination of relaxation and tourism and went by their recommendation of the tourist spots (Day 1 - Nisargadhama and Bylekuppe on our way up from Bangalore; Day 2 - Plantation stay and Madikeri town; Day 3 - Talacauvery on our way back to Bangalore). The food was homely and the plantation tour was very informative as Thimaiah took us around in his 1966 Willys jeep and explained what was being cultivated in the plantation (robusta & arabica coffee, pepper, cardamom, oranges, lime, paddy), the harvest season, their coffee curing areas and all natural formations like water bodies inside the 100+ acre estate. The Plantation homestay has 2 near-identical rooms with neat attached toilets and a dining room with a fabulous verandah connecting these 3 rooms. The veranda is really the focal point as you can laze on the chairs with a book in hand or just simply sit and experience nature over umpteen cups of coffee that Diana provides. We just felt one with nature here and my folks were excitedly running around like small children, totally oblivious of our city life for those 3 days!

Diana & Thimaiah - Thank you for the amazing plantation stay experience, the bottomless cups of coffee and of course the warmth & care you showered on us! We'll be back soon!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and both have similar amenities and neat toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you Vinay for Complimenting VV for your stay with us. We did what we had to do as Hosts and we enjoyed your company simply becoz your folks and your Unc & Aunt enjoyed our Company and the Nature surrounding VV. Now we are eagerly awaiting your next trip here and this time with your Wife!!!! Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    37
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
153
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It s been long time since me and my wife with our kid were thinking for a vacation...got to know about the homestay, I would call it Estate Stay.....through trip advisor. As the rating was very good thought of venturing this place…for us it was the best vacation we had till date. The host Thimaiah and Diana took care of everything and the best part is that they were available for us all the time like one of our close relative... One of my personal favourite moment during stay was the estate tour which showed us the real Coorg beauty,the Coffee/Orange plantations.
Should say that we were staying close to nature for 4 days… and had real beautiful experience.
I would definitely prefer to stay here again…Guys who want to try homestay…don’t think….just book this one..

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available both are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VishnuNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Both Diana and myself enjoyed your company too Vishnu. Glad you had a memorable stay with us and we are most happy that you stayed with us as 'family'. You did the Trek on the Estate really well, and carrying Arnav too in your arms all the while. Look forward to see you sometime soon @ VV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Had experience of Mother Nature (jungle) with comforts of home… Both Thimaiah and Diana are wonderful hosts, taking care as if a close relative… Didn’t feel as if we are meeting them for first time. Friendly and supportive… Also, took care of various arrangements like cab at a very decent pricing… Food was good… ICING ON THE CAKE WAS THE ESTATE TOUR IN THIMAIAH’s 66 MODEL WILLEYS… Lovely!!! For all those who want to enjoy Nature, can’t get better than this… Would love to be back there as soon as I can.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumitd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Great to know you had a lovely holiday at VV. Hey Sumit, I try my best to keep the Jungle away from our Coffee Plantation!!!! Glad u loved it tho. Look forward to your next visit here. You gave your parents a Holiday this time, now VV waits for your Bro. Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We - Dev, Nirmala and I - enjoyed our June 2012 vacation at Victorian Verandaz to the lees. Every moment and every inch while there. Mrs D and Mr C Thimaiah gave us heaven and earth! The coffee and the food were the best. We roamed around Victorian Verandaz like children lost in a friendly maze.

Room Tip: Choose the room near the dining room. That is what we got. We felt closer to the food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GRamachRamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Great words you have written about your stay @ VV, Mr Ramach. That friendly maze just gets better when we meet people like you. Sure hope Dev is doin well. 4 Months gone since you visited and Victorian Verandaz is waitin for you !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Thiamiah and Diane open their bit of paradise in the Coorg hills in a wonderfully generous and gracious manner! The room was spacious and clean, with welcome hot water in a cool evening, and delicious home-cooked meals--and coffee! We were taken around the estate, which includes forest, stream, pond, even a rice paddy down below, and shown how coffee is grown, harvested, and prepared. We were interested in bird life and were not disappointed. We were encouraged to get out during the day to visit sites in Madikeri and the area. They hired a driver to take us to the Golden Temple, maybe an hour away, which was well worth the trip. The history of the area and culture of the Coorgs is fascinating. I recommend borrowing a few of their books and reading about it early in the trip--and then having interesting discussions with Thiamiah and Diane about the Coorg people and this family estate. It was an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccainCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Rebecca, Those were lovely 2 days that Alan and You spent with us at Victorian Verandaz. We r glad you had a memorable stay in Coorg. Happy to hear Alan managed to sight a few of those Birds he looked for on our Estate. We sure hope we'll meet again. Cheers to you, Rebecca an Alan!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hosts are a warm family and they ensured that we had a very comfortable stay. With young kids we were a bit worried about the food but Mrs Thimaiah and the staff meet are every needs. The property has two rooms so its really private. The location is excellent-- about 7 kms from Madikeri so you can get to the town quickly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeRandomGuy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thankyou for your nice review Dhairesh. I guess you should have stayed a little longer. We are glad you were comfortable at our place having your little kids with you. Please let us know anytime you would want to spend a weekend with us. Was a pleasure to have Rizwan and his family too staying with us. Until we meet again.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got to know of them via TripAdvisor itself. People had only good things to say about the host couple and we wish to add to it. They were very sweet indeed and gave us a lot of time and attention.
They served us great Coorgi food too, cooked out of their kitchen - both veg n non-veg. (do not forget to ask for the rice chapatis)
The room and bathroom was very clean and simple and the verandah was good fun to chill out and read in. We were taken for a tour of their own coffee estate in their Jeep (I forgot the year of the model, but it was almost heritage ;)
Interesting stories and nice walks are guaranteed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thimaiah C, Owner at Victorian Verandaz, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thanks Divya, for your review. That is a 1966 model Willys Jeep. Glad you enjoyed the Rice Rotis. You are welcome anytime you plan to come back. Our Veradah will always be waitin for u. Cheers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
7.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,452 reviews
7.3 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
444 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
307 reviews
2.1 mi away
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
Old Kent Estates, Coorg
#2 of 2 in Suntikoppa
246 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Verandaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Verandaz

Property: Victorian Verandaz
Address: Modur Estate | Kadagadal, Madikeri 571248, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A verandah is typical of British colonial architecture. It allows us to enjoy the outdoors in a protected manner. We get to relax and enjoy the scenery, without being troubled by sunlight or rain.Victorian Verandaz is a pretty little cottage with a lovely verandah in front. It is designed for guests to rest and play in safety and comfort. This cottage is tucked in next to a planter’s bungalow. A bungalow that has played host to Coorg’s bold and beautiful for over a 100 years. Coorg aristocracy, British officials, army officers and planters have gathered here many a time. To discuss state affairs, hunt and feast.Victorian Verandaz is built on top of a slope and offers a view of thickly wooded slopes. Surrounding it, is a typical coffee plantation with lakes, a nursery, drying yards and the sounds of Birds.Let Coorg slow your heartbeat and make your mind sit back and rest in relief. Unwind in the pleasant climate at 4,200 feet. We extend you a warm welcome to Victorian Verandaz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Victorian Verandaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing