We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Linger at Coorg

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Linger at Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Linger at Coorg is a wonderful deviation from the run-of-the-mill resorts. We were looking for a place that:
* was comfortable without too many extravagant luxuries
* had good food
* good weather

Linger was just the place for all this. Harish and his people took good care of us in terms of food. The weather was excellent, with constant rains. When it didn't rain, we went on a walk through the fields nearby and spotted some nice birds.

We had our books that we read peacefully throughout.

Overall a wonderful experience; one that we would do again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sridharraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
20
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It was our first marriage anniversary, and Sameer and his team at Linger has truely made the experience "unforgettable". The place is designed to touch your sences in every way possible. Outside the cottage you are right in the lap of nature with minimal or no tampering done. You can predict the rain, if it falls by the choir of the crickets. The morning view takes you to a different plane, very mistical. Mango, Orange and Jackfruit trees surround you, while Harish, Praveen and Aunty dishes out the best of pure Coorgi delicacies that keeps lingering in your memories.. It has been an absolute delight, the kind of treatment we have received from all and we are deifinitely coming back. Highly recommended for all my freinds and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrikdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

You take that left beside the bus stand into the property and you will start sinking into a sense of freshness and glee. Park your vehicle and walk down into the cottage verandah(place where you will/ might spend most of your time) and you will realize the magnitude of plant/ bird/ insect life around you -Something that you can continue to stare into and maybe follow the cicada singing w/o ever getting bored.
Like the other Linger property I visited in Balur, this place too shares the magic and slows life down. It is a beautiful feeling - this life slowing down thing - and I believe there are few factors which contribute to this; Linger@Coorg plays them out very beautifully.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adiexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loved the time spent at Linger though couldn't really do 'Nothing'....but an ideal place to unwind, the food was delicious and my son kept talking about it for the next two days....we will surely like to revisit this property and make a visit to other properties to Linger around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrateekVohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We left somewhere from Kushalnagar on our way to Linger at Chettimani. And as usual, I had forgotten to print out the directions. Messaged Sameer. And I got three messages that spelt out my directions, to the tee. I wasn't surprised, knowing Sameer. But from a business perspective, this kind of service is something one doesn't expect usually. I wouldn't call it customer service, since it is mostly a cliche found in powerpoint presentations. Advantage, Linger.

Then the next three nights were just a different experience altogether. Minimalism is a word that comes to mind. Not many subscribers to the exact translation of it, while on a holiday. However, we loved it. Come to think of it, if you wanna spend time with Nature, you might as well. Instead of cocooning it in a cloak of unnecessary comfort and pomp. Don't get me wrong. A stay at Linger is very comfortable, but please, for god's sake do not expect another regular, meaningless resort stay - minus the local touch.

Harish, Praveen and the Cook (oops... don't know her name) were very hospitable, but didn't like us not eating pork. ;). All warm, nice people who made us feel at home. Thank god, the food is basic - and no, please do not ask for indian chinese for god's sake.

Well... am I not being critical at all? Ok, here goes. Just this one point. I didn't mind it, but my daughter and wife did. It was about bugs entering the cottage and disturbing in the night with their buzz. Ask me, I would say that is the real experience of living with nature, but am sure a majority differs on this.

To sum it up, it was different, and I liked it. And oh yeah, thank god I didn't carry my iPad. After all, it is quite nice to break out of this plastic, neon-lit nightsky and hit the shack in a remote corner of Coorg. If you're really looking to Un-Nike, this is the place to be.

Cheers, Sameer!

Room Tip: The highest one or the mud cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lankyiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Was looking for a good way to describe the place and the only way I can describe this place is, if I were to build a home in countryside, it would look exactly like this. A small place a little away from the crowd, yet accessible from the road. Staff that would takes care of you and, you had the freedom to do what you wanted, including offcourse nothing.

This is the exact reason why I returned to this place. It is like a home away from home. The staff treat you like you own the place, not thinking twice before doing what you ask them. We asked Harish to prepare lemon juice in the middle of lunch and he did go pluck some lime and make it for us. Off course the fresh jack fruit was special treat.

In terms of activities, we walked to Bhagmandala temple in the evening and the walk was very nice and too difficult considering the fact that my 6 year old kid also walked with us. We walked in the fields all the way to the river and kids had fun sailing boats. We avoided any treks this time because the rains had started and the kids were a little skeptical of meeting the leeches. Besides this, just read a book, talked to other folks who where there, played scrabble, taught my daughter some new card games. Can't think of any better way to spend a long weekend.

Just a note, please don't expect to find completely sanitized environment. Nature does flow into the rooms, so don't be surprised to see a grasshopper, a spider or a moth.

Room Tip: We stayed at the upper cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank notagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We visited the place between 6 - 8th April. The staffs included two guys in the place who took care of everything. They were very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The food was decent with some items quite good and others ok. The surrounding place is green. However the place looked lacking a bit of active interest for improvements. The porch was very nice with a variety of comfortable sitting arrangements, rooms were clean but with very minimally furnished. We had two rooms one with attic and another without it. The room with attic is not very spacious, but manageable. However they have very limited things like condition of extra pillows were not so good. One fan didn't have regulator. The other room didn't even have the fan. Solar light were not in working condition and the fellows had to give us their torch which I believe they were using in the kitchen. These are not so important for a short 2 days trip, but the place can be made better with a bit more active interest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zenx, Guest Relations Manager at Linger at Coorg, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
We're glad you enjoyed the place, the service and had a comfortable stay - thats indeed the focus of what Linger does.

I assure you we take a very active interest in all our properties, and there's updates, upgrades and changes happening almost all the time based on feedback, and what we notice ourselves (right now, we're looking to add an additional UPS, and have a set of handier solar lanterns ready).

The property is setup like a regular home made comfortable for folks - you would have noticed the traditional architecture, hand finished walls, and materials used. The idea is to not make it too city like, yet comfortable. We are not setup like a hotel - and sometimes when we have a full house, there are no spare pillows and the like. While this means we're not aiming for luxury - what we shoot for is keeping things convenient and comfortable without losing the homeliness of the place. I'm sure you'd have experienced the same in the personalized service and attention you received.

The fans are needed only a few weeks a year - and we have never considered regulators for them, to be honest (though all rooms have one or more fan except for a brief period when one of then fans was in Madikeri for repairs). Torches : there's one for every room and we'll check with our staff why the same was not kept ready in advance as is expected - apologies on that front.

The solar lantern was an experimental one that did not last more than 2 monsoons - like I mentioned earlier - we have smaller, (hopefully) better designed ones as replacements. There are also kerosene hurricane lanterns, and the UPS does manage duty for a few hours. We do keep trying out new/different stuff - as one would for home.

Again, I assure you each of our places is our baby, and gets adequate attention. Of course, we do urge guests to not see these as "hotels" or "resorts" (we're still looking for an appropriate tag) - we are more about you having a good vacation than us having an exquisite property :)

Thanks for the feedback - as always it'll help us get better. And we hope to see you Linger soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madikeri
9.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,447 reviews
11.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
442 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Tamara Coorg
The Tamara Coorg
#1 of 1 in Yavakapadi Village
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Ambatty Greens Resort - An Amritara Private Hideaway
13.5 mi away
Woodstock Villa Resort
Woodstock Villa Resort
#4 of 200 in Madikeri
125 reviews
14.5 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linger at Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linger at Coorg

Property: Linger at Coorg
Address: Bandikad, Chettimani, | Madikeri-Bhagamandala Road, Madikeri 691502, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 200 Specialty Lodging in Madikeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chettimani is a small village near Bhagamandala-Talacauvery. This is the greenest part of lush Coorg, deep in the hills and close to the Cauvery which flows close by. Come over for quiet long walks, treks, a cup of coffee and to catch up with your reading. 5 locally done rustic rooms in a 5 acre estate, with hundreds of acres of open space in every direction. The food is totally yum! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing