We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Homestay in Madikeri”
Review of Sai Sadan Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sai Sadan Homestay
Ranked #7 of 139 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was our first experience at a homestay. I choose this one based on the reviews and being the only homestay serving pure veg. food. And believe me, it was a wonderful experience.
I asked a lot of questions to Mr. Srihari (the owner) before finalizing and even after finalizing and arriving to Coorg as we were coming from Pune with a 3yr old kid. But he answered all our queries. We came via Konkan Railway and as soon as we reached M'lore, to our surprise, we got a call from Mr. Srihari to see whether we reached there safely or not. He even came to pick-us-up at the Madikeri bus stand. He came to know that we did not have enough food in our journey so he immediately brought us coffee and some food to eat. It was very nice.
We stayed there for 3 nights and those were really memorable.

Room: They have a bunglow and they give out their entire ground floor to the visitors. They live on the first floor. Ground floor has 2 bedrooms, hall, kitchen, dining area, 2 bathrooms. It's fantastic. It gives you a homely feeling. The rooms are clean and the kitchen and dining has enough utensils to serve your purpose. They have lot of toys and books for kids. So small kids won't find it difficult to adjust. Hot water is available 24hrs. Electricity is a bit problem but they have few lights placed in the floor running on inverter. So that is helpful. Bed and Beddings are good. They have a small LCD TV with DishTV connection. They have put a water purifier in the kitchen. So, in short, everything is fine and it really makes you comfortable as soon as you enter the room.

Food: After the rooms, the next obviously important thing is the food. Mrs. Latha (Mr. Srihari's wife) served very nice food. They are vegeterians and serve only veg. food which is what we were anyway looking for. Every morning they provided us with hot coffee and hot milk for our son. Beakfast was awesome everyday. (The appams were the best I have ate till date) Since they are a working couple, they don't provide lunch. But, they guided us on where can we have our lunch. The dinner was provided hot and was tasty.

Location: Location of the homestay is bit away from the central place. But not that far. and if you have your own vehicle, or you have booked a cab for yourself, it is not a problem. The location of the homestay is very nice though. Road leading to homestay is bit narrow. But, that's fine.

Sightseeing: Mr. Srihari arranged a cab for our sight-seeing and even planned our sight-seeing. The cab-driver was also good. You just need to inform Mr. Srihari few days in advance if you need a cab. He takes care of everything :-) The cab-driver took us to all the important places in Coorg and it was wonderful.

Only thing is, since it is a homestay, you will need to do some work, like cleaning the utensils, washing the utensils/clothes yourself.

At the end, I must mention about the owners. They are wonderful people. For a working couple, it's really difficult to manage all this. But they do it with a smiling face. They are talkative and like to talk about various things. We had planned to go to Kannur after Madikeri. So Mr. Srihari found the most convinient way to go there. He helped us to get to the bus stand quickly in time so that we don't miss the bus. He even called us to make sure that we reached Kannur safely. They took care of all our needs. What more can you expect?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kedar-KeKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 246 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have read the reviews of the Home Stay from Trip Advisor's site and I followed the reviews given to the SAI SADAN HOMESTAY. I choose to stay there for 2 days and my Stay was excellent.

Shri Hari and his wife are very gentle and human loving people. they treat you like a relatives and you will never feel that you are away from home, you will feel like you are staying at your relative's home.

He also advise me the whole 2 days plan. He provide good veg. food with tea for our driver also.

I suggest to stay here for the safe and comfort.

Room Tip: Take the room with attached bathroom. if possible then ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayureshTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful experience with family. Have been there last weekend for 3 days. Was staying in the ground floor with complete privacy, ample space for 4 of us. With all modern amenities, which will not allow you to feel your are away from home. Loved the place and the hosts. The approach road is a bit narrow but, the location....worth it!

Highly recommend for family with kids as it is very comfortable, spacious and convenient with things at hand and they even have toys available for entertainment of the kids! Kids will love it. My kids weren't ready to come back. Wife loved the place as it was clean, loving hosts and away from the town but ideally located as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjoyganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently we visited Madikeri, Coorg and Stayed at Sai Sadan Homestay. We found it very nice, clean and cozy. We were touched by warm well come from the owners Mr. & Mrs. Shrihari.
I strongly recommend Sai Sadan Homestay for those who want a home away from home.

Tushar

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tushar297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a very good exeperience at Sai Sadan Homestay. They rent out the entire ground floor of their bunglow even if there are only two members! This ensures total privacy and no trouble from any neighbors which is unlike other homestays/hotels where you have to be on your toes always to see that there is no trouble. Here you can relax without thinking about who is the occupant of the room next to you is !As soon as you see the hosts - Mr.Srihari and Mrs.Latha, you know you are in safe hands. Very decent people, soft spoken, good natured and gentle. You do not feel uncomfortable even for a moment when you interact with them. It is like someone from your own family/freinds and someone whom you do not hesitate to stay with. Mr.Srihari also arranged for a cab with Mr.Dhanu at reasonable rate. The food served was always piping hot and fresh. Coffee was excellent and the breakfast items served very exceptionally tasty. Mr.Srihari insisted that we have lunch before leaving for our hometown even though it was not included in our package. Very kind of the couple to serve our child milk and us coffee during evening time even when it was not included in the package. Mr.Srihari even arranged for pickup and drop from the bus stand even though it was not included in the package. Even after reaching Mangalore, we got a call from Mr.Srihari to check if we reached safely and our journey was comfortable. It gives us a feeling that there are some people in this world who still do business with a human touch ! My suggestion to them would be to install a rice cooker in the kitchen if possible and provide only curries/curd etc. during dinner so that the guests can adjust the water content in the rice as per their choice. Overall its a value for money deal ! I can recommend it to my friends/relatives looking for a peaceful stay in Madikeri!

Room Tip: They rent out the entire 2BHK. All rooms are neat and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrabhuAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Shri Srihari personally came to pick us up from the spot where our taxi was waiting and taken us to Sai Sadan. He guided us and arranged our sight-seeing with very good taxi drivers. Also booked for us a good taxi for our return journey.

Food was home made and excellent. We really enjoyed the two days stay at Sai Sadan. We recommend this place for a relaxed home stay.

Thanks to Shri Srihari, his wife and their smart and polite son.

Review by Mr.&Mrs.Sreenarayanan, Mumbai.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 05lovelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

i was looking for the stay with my family in madikeri which is descent to feel like in home with my kids and my parents and after Seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to stay at Sai Sadan. It was a wonderful stay , we never felt like staying away from home and the location of the homestay is too good , Mr. srihari and his wife who treated us like one of thier family members and our kids also felt so comfortable with them, they have arranged few toys to play which helped kids to kept bussy in playing and having fun and my parents were so comofortable and promised to stay back next time with our entire family members for a little long duration
Mr. srihari came to pickup from rajaseat to the homestay and provided tea, coffee for refreshing and since we are having kids and can't go outside during 8 pm night to have dinner, srihari and Mrs latha srihari helped my wife to cook food in their home itself.

we had a 2 day stay house is really big with 2 bed rooms , one big hall , dining, sofa set and TV with cable and also with CD player , 2 bathrooms , one kitchen,
and its fantastic breakfast in the early morning they provided milk to the kids whenever they needed in our homestay

i promise we will surely come back with my whole family again and let my friends and colleagues know about our stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirishyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.8 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
3.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 25 in Madikeri
1,506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mayura Valley View Madikeri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Coorg
Hotel Le Coorg
#4 of 25 in Madikeri
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
476 reviews
4.3 mi away
Silver Brook Estate Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sai Sadan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sai Sadan Homestay

Address: Subramanya Nagara, Kartik Road, Madikeri, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range: $40 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two bedroom vacation rental home situated in the calm area not too far not too near to the heart of the town of Madikeri, around two km far from the hustle and bustle of the township. Home consists of two bedrooms, one with attached bathroom and a western type commode and a general bathroom with Indian type commode. A big hall with rosewood sofa sets, a separate dining hall with rosewood dining table, 24 hour hot water supply, free parking,LCD TV with Dish connection ,power back-up are the facilities available. Breakfast(veg)will be complementary.Elecric kettle and bread roaster is provided at the kitchen . Chess and carrom boards, some toys for kids are also provided. We give preference to cleanliness, reliability and security to the guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing