We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of East End Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East End Hotel
Ranked #59 of 145 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I made a unplanned trip to Coorg in the month of August, Coorg was very beautiful during the rains. We ended up being in this hotel as we went there without any bookings.

We went to 5 to 9 hotels that we could see and East End Hotels falls on your right as you enter the city. They had only one room. It had a single bed, the sheets were damp and the room had a very musty smell to it. Everything was wet, even the walls were.

Since we did not have a choice, we stayed there for the night. The bathroom was a horror show without any window or ventilation and damp. The water in the bathroom took ages to drain away.

I am not sure about the other rooms. It looked like the building was there from pre independence. High ceilings, large bathrooms etc etc. The rooms opened out into a corridor where there was a fireplace and was lite well. There was a restaurant attached and the food was surprising good and they delivered to the room.

Room Tip: Dont go there unless you have a shoe string budget and do not take the first room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bongtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

may be people talk about food, atmosphere, ambience.... but the major thing what makes us feels good is the service, its gone to dogs with service. the worst treatment ever at the restaurant. ill never enter into east end hotel.
bloody i advise not to go there, worst treatment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhanush2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I remember , it was a beautiful interieor than the exterier. room was old looking but so fresh and clean. i and my partner were so happy to see the room. we had drinks at night ,under a drizzling rain...it was a grand stay. we left the hotel with so much happy memories.... still those memories are fresh within me....

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarmila_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We were booked into the East End Hotel, Madikeri, for 2 nights, courtesy some close friends. A quick search on the internet did not turn up any website for the hotel, but there seemed to be a fantastic restaurant attached according to other travellers. So what more do we need? Apart from the sign out front (which looks more like that of a police station than of a hotel), you'd pass by the place without a second look.

But enter we did, and landed up at the restaurant first, where the signage indicates "hotel". Redirected to the hotel, which is essentially the rear of the building seen from the road, we found a quaint olde worlde charming little place inside. The shining red cement flooring of a rather large lobby leading to the rooms was adorned with furniture from the British era.

We got a 3-bedded room which was H-U-G-E, with a dressing area and a modern toilet, all with the persistent polished red cement floor. Costs Rs.1750 + taxes. A double room costs Rs.1250 + taxes. Across the rooms was an east-facing morning room, where one can enjoy the newspapers placed on the shelf over a cup of tea, or even pull out a book from the small library and enjoy it in the sun. (We weren't so lucky - the sun never shone on the days we were in Coorg!)

The rooms are minimally furnished though - no AC, no fridge, no electric kettle, no phones. Room service is practically non-existent, and one waits an infinitely long time for someone to respond to the bell.

The restaurant was brilliant, but in terms of food only and not the decor. The interiors are spartan, but sparkling clean. We fell in love with the keema dosa @ Rs.60, and besides, there was chilli chicken, biryani with raita, prawn masala, naan... An utter paradise for a foodie! Meal for 5 worked out to less than Rs.750.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SS-Shom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0.0 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
0.0 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#3 of 25 in Madikeri
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Madikeri, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
0.0 mi away
Treebo Oleander Serviced Apartments
0.0 mi away
City Comforts Inn
City Comforts Inn
#8 of 25 in Madikeri
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East End Hotel

Address: General Thimaya Road | Mysore Road, Madikeri 571 201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing