We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
22
9
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
9
1
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 35 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A really nice experience staying here away from the city traffic and pollution.The food served was really great!!! we loved the brinjal curry served on the first day. we would love to get the recipe of all the yummy dishes you prepared.The rooms were clean and well maintained.The ""BUTTER"" served with the breakfast was delicious-reminded us of our home made butter.we loved the greenery around. It was a feast to the eyes to see "farm fresh organic oranges". we would surely recommend this place to every one.we would add this homestay as a must experience to all people who visit coorg.
Thanks a lot for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhargav303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

This was our first trip to Coorg and first stay in a homestay. It is a very nice place nestled in the coffee plantation. nice greenery all around and independant house next to the owners house. The owner family is very friendly and do not bother us.
I read the reviews before I selected this place, but surely did not experience any of the comments as told by people who did NOT like the place.
Some pros:
- Neat rooms and greenery around
-away from traffic and city life
- you get to see many plants and coffee plantations and variety of fruit trees.
- food is good and coorg style
- they cleary tell all terms and conditions in the email they send and also on the phone. So no need to argue there. What they send in mail was what I got. So no problem for me.

some cons:
-hot water is not available 24hrs. You have to ask them if you want in the evening as they burn wood and hat water. If you have kids then this would be a problem
-quite interior to madikeri or bigger town. If you want any small thing then you will have to travel or ask owner. Everytime you wil have to ring their bell and ask.
-vodafone network doesn't work there.(during any emergency it would be a problem)
-i feel the food is quie expensive (200 per plate for veg) for the quantity they give. though it is tasty but still.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

coorg karishma is about 16.5kms from madikeri Thimmiah circle The ambience is really nice green and relaxing,the sound of air and the chirping of the birds was soothing.

The cottage is very clean and spacious with lot of light there are two rooms in thecottage with a dining room.

The place is very safe though away from the town. There is ample car parking space.

The host and hostess are very good and cordial.

The breakfast was really good with farm fresh butter with bread & jam and a traditional dish.The coorg cuisine is good the Native vegetable curry was good .wild mushroom curry with rice roti was good. The dining room is located suitably where we can enjoy the nature &have our food.[They serve organic food where ever possible.

Things to do

we can take a walk in coffee plantation we can pluck wild and exotic fruits.

The cauvery river course is 2KMS from the home stay.

There is a table tennis room & carom board.

"Awesome & unforgettable" I see the love with which the host maintain the property& feed the guest & chat with them Marvellous Meticulous& unforgettable.

Room Tip: Both the rooms in the cottage good
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kakra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a first visit to coorg & this was the first time we were going to a home stay.After reaching the place and seeing the room facilities& surroundings we were thrilled &happy. The dinner & breakfast was homely& well prepared & delicious too.We really liked the place because of its cleanliness & greenery.It was like staying amidst nature.

Will recommend my friends to visit coorg & coorg karishma in particular.

Room Tip: Both the rooms in the cottage are good& the sky lights are good.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thauu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We went in August with 2 familes, the place is situated outside the city, 18 kms from Madikeri, it sucks because of the following reasons
1) Expensive food, Rs 200 + non veg charges per plate
2) Owner's son is an advocate, he would argue on various points which you can't win since you are there to enjoy
3) They want all the money at the time of check in but never mention this at the time of booking, if you don't have money, they will give you 10 min to arrange
4) The hospitality is very bad
5) We booked for 2 nights but decided to come after just 1 night, all because of the above reasons
5) The food charges are very high as compared to other home stays - Rs 200 per plate for veg food and no choice of food, Rs 30 per cup tea, complimentary breakfast has only breads (not toasted), butter, jam and some local cuisine without spoons
6) The debit the bank charges when you transfer the money into their account (NEFT, RTGS) which banks never debit which is unethical

Please avoid this stay as far as possible

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bangalore_trip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews