We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner's Inn Restaurant- Hilltown Hotel”
Review of Hilltown Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikeri
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hilltown Hotel
Ranked #96 of 152 Madikeri B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Actually this review is all about the resturant of this Hotel- Dinner's Inn.
During our 3 days visit of Coorg, we had dinner in this resturant for two times. We were completely bowled over by the taste of some items we ordered. Chicken Chettinad, Hyderabadi Chicken & Chicken Kabab.
The price was also very low as compared with the other restuarants of the same category.
I would suggest the tourists to try out in this restaurant once.

Room Tip: This review is all about the Resturant of this Hotel. You can try out atleast once
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Shiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 114 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Hotel staff is extremely rude and have no courtesy when in comes to talking to guests.We were 3 of us, booked the room in advance and paid in full.When we arrived at the hotel at 8PM, the hotel manager makes some lame excuse about not allowing foreign national, and asked us to pay for an additional room.When we made them speak to the agency we had done the booking with,they made up a completely different story about their crappy hotel policies. We decided not to stay in this hotel at all, and we also had a very tough time getting the refund.

All in all very very unpleasant experience and I wouldn't advise anyone to go even near this hotel.If you're looking for a hotel near Madikeri bus station there are plenty of other hotels, around the same tarriff range, and infact cheaper.

Room Tip: Do not go near this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bournville27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked this hotel through cleartrip for three days for my trip to kodagu in second week of april. The hotel is located nearby bus stand and center of Kodagu and wasn't much difficult to find.The stay was okay. The rooms are quite small for the price you pay for rent. The room didn't enough space to put luggage. The attached almirah was small too. All-in-all there wasn't much sapce in the room to even move around. The bathroom was also small. The hotel didn't even provide toilet paper. While taking bath the water will enter the room because bathroom was at a step height from the room. But the continuous supply of hot water was there. Room service was average. The hotel food was unhygienic and full of oil, spice and chilly which caused upset stomach for me and my wife. Most of the items from the menu were not available.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalabh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Good, clean room, although the bathroom lock was a problem, it could not be locked at all!!! But it was quite noisy in the morning, probably some neighbour playing loud music. Conviniently located, slightly difficult to find.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nishdata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have booked this hotel through travelguru and now writing the reveiw from the same hotel.on first day I tried to order Naan and some dishes from menu card and came to know that hotel can provide only chapati's. Again strange thing is that you have to pay bill after every order. Hotel take charges if you pay bill by Credit card. The location is the city surrounded by hospitals. No view of nature.Its my advice that please avoid this hotel. There are better home stays around which provide spacious rooms, good food and at very resoanable price.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushildhanawde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

For the price, it is a good option. Good service, good food in the restaurant below. It was crazy trying to find this hotel, as the chief approach road is so narrow that it will be missed. While the hotel is centrally located, that fact is useful only for hitchhikers or tourists who do not have their own car and want to foot around. For those who want to take their own car to Madikere, why do you want to be living in a hotel which is tucked away in some nondescript corner of some offshoot alley of some winding road! Madikere is not a very big place and if you have your vehicle, I would definitely recommend people to ignore 'location' considerations while searching for a lodging/hotel.

If you are a couple, better ask and insist for a double bed. By default they will offer you a room with two single beds 'joint' together. They have enough rooms, so your insistence would be obliged.

Rest, its good for the price, as I said.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, better ask and insist for a double bed. By default they will offer you a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manizoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We booked this hotel, as we were looking for a hotel with basic amenities at an economical price. Also, since our bus was scheduled to reach Madikeri late night, we preferred a place close to the bus station. This hotel is located very close to the bus station. Overall, I would say, we had an average experience with this hotel, with some pluses and some minuses.

Pluses:
1. Located right at the centre of Madikeri, and hence it is at a walkable distance from some of the sightseeing places like Raja's seat, Madikeri Fort & Omkareshwara Temple. Also, there is a taxi stand a few meters from the hotel, where we can get cabs for sightseeing.
2. Room was clean, with hot water available any time. They had an LCD TV in the room also.
3. The staff were prompt and they appeared immediately after pressing the buzz for reception. Similarly, we vacated at around 4 am in the morning, the staff were patient and helpful.

Minuses
1. There were some minor problems everywhere. The tap in the bathroom was not functioning properly. Water was leaking from the shower whenever we opened the tap.
2. Water jug was not filled at the time of checking in. I notice another reviewer also mentioning the same. They filled it upon request, but this is something preliminary, and I guess should be done without we requesting for it.
3. They could do well with more pleasing personalities at the reception. My wife literally got frightened at the sight of the reception guy's appearance at the time of check-in.
4. They have an online booking facility in their website and using that I tried to book. However, when I called them, they are not aware of the online booking facility, and so I have to send an email!

The restaurant has an average ambience, and the food is also nothing special.

You can book this hotel, if you only require a room for sleeping and you do not intend to stay in the room longer. In our case this hotel worked well, as we spent most of the day in sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmnath1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madikeri hotels
0 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Madikeri Town Center
0 mi away
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
Hotel Madikeri Heritage
#7 of 27 in Madikeri
192 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Caveri
Hotel Caveri
#85 of 152 in Madikeri
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
OYO 8499 City Comforts Inn
OYO 8499 City Comforts Inn
#8 of 27 in Madikeri
66 reviews
0 mi away
Taj Madikeri Resort & Spa, Coorg
0 mi away
Club Mahindra Madikeri, Coorg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltown Hotel

Address: Near Private Bus Station,Behind Vivus Hospital | Behind Jedi Hospital, Madikeri 571201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Madikeri
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Madikeri
Price Range: $11 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hilltown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing