We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Stay!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of MITRA Homestay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anitashir...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Great Stay!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was great experience staying at Mitra!

We stayed for 2 nights.The room was spacious and comfortable considering that we were a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) staying in one room.The food served was also very good.

The Homestay is located in a very quiet and calm surrounding which was very much to our liking.The bonfire was a welcome add on.

The place is exactly as per the description.

The striking feature of course is the hospitality. We felt at home instantly and loved the hosts!!

We highly recommend the place.

Thanks to aunty and Megha for making the stay memorable for us.. we would love to be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words Anita. We loved spending time with you and your family. Love to your adorable boys :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeretS15
1 review
“Lovely place and great food!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked short in advance and we're lucky to even get a room.
When we arrived really early in the morning we were welcomed friendly.
WE were enjoying a wonderful time with great food and nice talks. They even lit a bonfire for all guests!
Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you and your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prabhu R
1 review
“get to your home”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We were 8 guys booked all home for 2 days, we expect to loose ourself and it happened with greatest hospitality from host Megha and Shanthi mam.

The food was extremely great - had chicken gravy with fish fry along with rice balls. From all of the food tasted in different hotels at madikere- the dinner at stay was great and tummy friendly.

Went along the homestay for more than 3 km,s accompanied by blacky- the most welcoming pet.love to be back again in the coolest season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you gentlemen. We look forward to your visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prajwalk7...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best homestays!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Located 6kms away from Madikeri..has very good connectivity to all the tourist spots..peaceful place!!..Nice place for family friends and couples to chill out.Very well maintained home..Very beautiful coffee plantation right in front the home.Thanks to Prakash uncle and Ramji for their wonderful gesture through out our stay.Breakfast was good.Overall a very good experience through out our stay here... Looking forward to visit again !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to having you over at our homestay again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
partha g
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of serenity !”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Coorg is Scotland of India and Mitra Homestay is the perfect place to stay and experience nature and the bounties of Mother Earth. I was lucky to spot the place on TA . The place is only 6 kms from the Madikeri Town and tucked away in a small lane by the highway. The hosts are extremely helpful and we had a really great time enjoying the warm hospitality and great food at the Homestay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Mr. Partha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshishB11...
1 review
“Homely, disconnected feeling in the coffee hills”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Positives :
1. We arrived with our parents on 25th Jan, right from our first interaction , we had a great feeling about the place, our hosts were very kind and welcoming and the discussions and talks were great as well .
2. Did I mention the food was just too awesome ( all the credit to Megha ) - especially the pandi curry :p.
3. The scenery inside the coffee plantation, the morning walks, the sounds of birds and the smell of coffee - absolutely scenic and meditative
4. Blacky - the most awesome pet who will keep you entertained

Improvements needed :
1.Shelves to keep towels and stuff.
2.Towels were new and threads were sticking, blankets need to be bigger
3.You can probably add carrom and indoor games for engagement because that is not available at the place.
4. Rooms were not cleaned on the next day - services need better care.

Note :- There would be no phone network,so plan accordingly

Overall,We would love to visit again with our friends and hopefully stay for a much longer duration.

Thank you so much for your hospitality :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Thank you Ashish for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. We have noted your pointers and will definitely work on it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomalikaD...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Felt like home...”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It was an amazing experience..starting from the place to ambiance,hosts,food. It was a great way to celebrate the new year, with bonfire and Megha's awesome food. A nice sit out at the backyard with the view of plantation where you can enjoy your morning coffee as well as evening drink :) :) Lush green lanes for your morning stroll.

Would love to visit again...Thanks Megha.

Only drawback is that there wont be any network reception for Airtel and Vodafone users.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you Tomalika! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing