We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best homestays!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of MITRA Homestay

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Madikeri, Kodagu (Coorg), Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
prajwalk7...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best homestays!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Located 6kms away from Madikeri..has very good connectivity to all the tourist spots..peaceful place!!..Nice place for family friends and couples to chill out.Very well maintained home..Very beautiful coffee plantation right in front the home.Thanks to Prakash uncle and Ramji for their wonderful gesture through out our stay.Breakfast was good.Overall a very good experience through out our stay here... Looking forward to visit again !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. Looking forward to having you over at our homestay again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
partha g
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of serenity !”
Reviewed February 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Coorg is Scotland of India and Mitra Homestay is the perfect place to stay and experience nature and the bounties of Mother Earth. I was lucky to spot the place on TA . The place is only 6 kms from the Madikeri Town and tucked away in a small lane by the highway. The hosts are extremely helpful and we had a really great time enjoying the warm hospitality and great food at the Homestay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Mr. Partha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshishB11...
1 review
“Homely, disconnected feeling in the coffee hills”
Reviewed February 3, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Positives :
1. We arrived with our parents on 25th Jan, right from our first interaction , we had a great feeling about the place, our hosts were very kind and welcoming and the discussions and talks were great as well .
2. Did I mention the food was just too awesome ( all the credit to Megha ) - especially the pandi curry :p.
3. The scenery inside the coffee plantation, the morning walks, the sounds of birds and the smell of coffee - absolutely scenic and meditative
4. Blacky - the most awesome pet who will keep you entertained

Improvements needed :
1.Shelves to keep towels and stuff.
2.Towels were new and threads were sticking, blankets need to be bigger
3.You can probably add carrom and indoor games for engagement because that is not available at the place.
4. Rooms were not cleaned on the next day - services need better care.

Note :- There would be no phone network,so plan accordingly

Overall,We would love to visit again with our friends and hopefully stay for a much longer duration.

Thank you so much for your hospitality :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2017
Thank you Ashish for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting you and your family. We have noted your pointers and will definitely work on it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomalikaD...
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Felt like home...”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It was an amazing experience..starting from the place to ambiance,hosts,food. It was a great way to celebrate the new year, with bonfire and Megha's awesome food. A nice sit out at the backyard with the view of plantation where you can enjoy your morning coffee as well as evening drink :) :) Lush green lanes for your morning stroll.

Would love to visit again...Thanks Megha.

Only drawback is that there wont be any network reception for Airtel and Vodafone users.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you Tomalika! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepak S
2 reviews
“Mitra Homestay ”
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

It is an awesome place, good ambiance, host is very cooperative and helpful. She stayed back till 1am to serve us hot dinner. Thank you Megha.. Would love to visit again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Thank you Deepak! It was my pleasure hosting you & your friends :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway67...
1 review
“Kakkad”
Reviewed November 19, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Its a really a good place to be.Home stay is surrounded by Coffe estate and good place if you want to enjoy short walk in the morning. Though its additional chargable - do not miss to enjoy campfire in the night with your family.Breakfast was really tasty and of good quality.

Some cons:

Its a middle budget homestay so do not expect supreme services. Television and music system were not working,so if you want to enjoy good music get portable speaker along with you. In a winter you may have to ask for more bedsheets as bedsheets provided were not sufficient. Driver stay and breakfsst is additionally chargeble.

Summarize, PLACE WORTH VISITING.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you for your review on MITRA Homestay. We have abundant extra blankets. We will be happy to provide more on request. Driver stays and food is never included in any hotel / homestay tariff. However, we have noted your feedback and have included this in our policy. Thank you for your comments about our breakfast.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Lovely Weekend Getaway at Mitra”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Three of us, my wife, son and I, visited Coorg during the Independence day weekend in 2016. The Homestay is close to the Madikeri Circle and we had no problems finding the place, thanks to the directions given to us by the owner, Megha. The homestay is situated in a cozy 2-acre property and has two good size rooms with a common living and dining, which are really large. There is a nice sit out, with a view of a plantation, where one can enjoy their morning coffee. When someone stays at a place away from home, one of the first things that worries them is the cleanliness of the toilet and the rooms. We did not have any problem there.
This is the first time I was staying at a homestay, as I have always been skeptical of residing in someone’s house, who I don’t know. But thankfully, the owner Megha and her husband, Pawan, are a joy to meet. We had several interesting conversations, during our stay. Not at any point during our stay, did they make us feel uncomfortable. I should also mention that the food is delicious, especially the pandi curry. Overall, a very pleasant experience and I would definitely give this homestay a thumbs-up.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you Sidharth for your kind words. We look forward to having you & your family visit us again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing