We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My First Chinese Hotel Star Rated”
Review of New Era Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Era Hotel
Ranked #37 of 397 Hotels in Yantai
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was extremely disappointed with the CROWNE PLAZA YANTAI Hotel, and decided to go for my next stay in a Chinese Hotel in Yantai, China.
Well, I think that this New Era Hotel is good, and can compete to the Euro/American owned hotels. The ERA hotel has everything & more than above mentioned & better quality. Of course this hotel is 'new kid on the block', but can compete with the major players!
Especialy the pool is good >> down point is that the staff were smoking in the pool changing rooms :-( Smoking is still considerd OK in China by many hotels >> of course we have to be strong to abolish this disgusting and health dangerous habbit througout China..

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was my first time to Yantai. I travel to many Chinese cities, and usually stay at local hotels in outside Shanghai and Beijing. I am used to the local fare. The New Era Hotel was a pleasant local surprise. It had many refinements that local hotels miss, like the soft, comfortable western bedding. The view of the bay was extraordinary, even in the winter. The TVs were old tube-type, but I was not there to watch TV. The room was clean and well laid-out. The bathroom was mostly clean. As with most local hotels, there was mildew and mold in the tile grout. It seems they don't understand how to clean grout. The ceiling of the bath was also water-damaged. The amenities were typical local hotel quality.
Overall, this was a good choice, and I would gladly spend a couple of more days here.

Room Tip: I love the view of the bay to the north; plus it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vzqk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel is in perfect location with beach view from hotel.
Break fast is good and have wide options.
Rooms are good and clean.
getting taxi is very easy and also every taxi person know this hotel.
there is Gym and swimming pool in the hotel
Overall perfect hotel with all facilities.

Room Tip: rooms near restaurant have beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvprasanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in December 2011. The weather was cold and snowy so I did not have a chance to walk around the property and area. I could look from my window and see the beach was very close to the hotel.

I stayed in the new section on an upper floor. My room was very large with separate sitting and sleeping areas. The room was clean although there were a few cigarette burns in the carpet (it was a no-smoking room, too!). The room did not smell of smoke, though.

The building is set-back from the main road so there is very little noise from the street. The windows sealed well (something you don't always find around here) so the room was very quiet. Breakfast was ample although they do not know how to make a good cup of coffee.

I did not have a chance to try many of the amenitites. The room TV had a decent amount of stations in English--again, that is not the case in many hotels here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The hotel is a new section and old section.
This review is based on the old section, I tried to upgrade to the new
section but the hotel was full.
I stayed in the hotel for 5 nights
The lobby is nice,large and clean.
In the hotel they don't speak English fluently but one night I needed
a blanket and they didn't undrstand me so I ask them to come to my
room and show them the blanket, After 30 seconds I got an additional
one...
I come with a chinese coworker so the language wasn't a problem most the time.
Let's start with the cons:
The main problem is the building is old and the maintenance is not
good, specially the corridor that leads to the room, many stains in
the wall.
Also no elevator in this building.

Pros-
Room was very nice, good size and very clean.
There was plenty of light
Free internet that worked most of the time.
Quick Laundry service
Very good breakfast- my coworker told me it's the best for this hotel
category.
1 minute walking distance to the beach

Overall I felt very comfortable in the hotel and was a pleasant staying.

Room Tip: new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
Thank HiElisabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yantai hotels
4.4 mi away
Hilton Yantai Golden Coast
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort
7.6 mi away
Wanda Vista Yantai
Wanda Vista Yantai
#2 of 397 in Yantai
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Bridal Tea House Hotel
Bridal Tea House Hotel
#9 of 397 in Yantai
8 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Center Hotel
The Center Hotel
#6 of 397 in Yantai
155 reviews
7.0 mi away
Yantai Asia Hotel
Yantai Asia Hotel
#21 of 397 in Yantai
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Era Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Era Hotel

Address: No.86 Huanghe Road, Yantai 265500, China
Location: China > Shandong > Yantai > Jinshatan Resort , Economic and Technological Development Zone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 397 Hotels in Yantai
Price Range: $44 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — New Era Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your New Era Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing