We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rival for the crown?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 390 Hotels in Yantai
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have eaten here in the buffet restaurant and generally had a pleasant dining experience. Staff are well chosen - very helpful and attentive. The range of meat and vegetable dishes is very pleasing, but maybe another roast option would be more agreeable. Some people have told me the buffet price is somewhat unreasonable, but this is at the high end where quality like this is pricey. Still, the Crown Plaza does seem to offer a little more for what you pay for a dinner out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear guest, we do appreciate your response to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort. Our hotel is the first international brand hotel in Yantai Economic &Development Area. We have perfect facilities and our staffs are professional &well trained.There are three restaurants:Feast, with hundreds of buffet foods which are internaitonal and local;Miyabi,you can eat authentic Janpanese foods,Yue, our best Cantonese cuisine restaurant, providing Shandong,Cantonese and local cuisines.All can make your stay relaxed and enjoyable.We are best in class. Thanks again. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 128 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was stayed this Sheraton hotel from January 24 through January 27, 2013 for 3 nights personal vacation. I was satisfied with everything provided by this hotel, and especially in the club lounge that all staff are so nice and friendly to assist me what I need. The front office staff also are very help in need. In overall with my stay in this hotel, I feel I am in home to be relaxed and no worries to be carried on.

Room Tip: The hotel is located in front of the ocean, the taxi is not so expense at moderate rate for traveler...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funjlee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica L, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear guest, first we do appreciate your precious positive comment to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort. As the first international brand hotel in YEDA, there are perfect faciities, and staffs are professional and experienced. Living in our hotel, you can indulge yourself in the beautiful seaview cause all rooms are facing the ocean. We hope Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort is your home in Yantai, China for each foreign traveller, and many thanks for your feedback. We are looking forward to your next visit. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip with colleagues in January, 2013. It was cold, a few inches of snow on the ground. The hotel was fairly new, nice rooms, great western breakfast options. Had the breakfast buffet, fruit was fresh, good choice of cereals and juices (I'm not "food" adventurous when I'm travelling). One drawback - the fitness room did not operate early enough. I wanted to work out before 7am and while the room was open, the air conditioning was not on, and there were no towels or water. I worked out anyway, but it would be nice to have some amenities available. Overall an excellent hotel for a westerner. We stayed on the club floor to utilize the conference rooms. Also provided us with access to the lounge where the food and drink were quite nice. They did not have any vodka in there selection - I asked and the went downstairs to the bar and returned with a bottle!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nz4qks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Yantai G, Manager at Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest ,Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort is the first international brand hotel in Yantai Economic and Development Area, with perfect facilities and F&B provide kinds of options of tempting foods for each guest. With regard tothe problem of fitness center, we will fix it. We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort is a excellent hotel which compare with others i stayed. hotel is very closed the nice beach that i love it very much. you can see the beach from room window all the time, all the room. you will get the fruit plate during first night maybe. Hope it can keep runningthe excellent facility, servers.

Room Tip: View from room is always nice beach! rooms on the north side are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Yantai G, Manager at Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear guest, and thank you for choosing in sheraton yantai gold beach resort and affirmation of the work for us. We are yantai new five-star hotel, our guest rooms are spacious and comfortable, the most basic room have 43 ㎡. The more there are three different style restaurant and professional gym, swimming pool and SPA to enhance your check-in experience. We are looking forward to your coming again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Got upgraded to a suite upon arrival since the hotel was sold out from a Honda sales event happening during my stay. Beautiful property with friendly and helpful staff. Very good service throughout my 5 day stay. Gym was decent although A/C didn't work in the room making it unreasonably warm. Good news is that the gym is accessible 24 hours. Restaurant options are very good too although additional continental and ex-Chinese Asian items would be a welcome change. Overall enjoyed my stay very much. BTW very good value too...

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Domer130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementLMandSI, Manager at Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Thank you for having spent your valuable time to share your comments with us. Our great beach location, stunning sea views and ample facilities will make us the perfect place for leisure or business retreat and leave you with unforgettable memories to share with family and friends. Welcome you back to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I both live in Shanghai and I booked this trip for her as a birthday gift. My communication with the hotel, with a very friendly and helpful lady called Kathy Wen (Club Lounge manager), went smoothly and being an SPG Gold member I got a confirmed room upgrade before our arrival. Kahy was also very helpful in arranging flowers in the room and she promised to arrange a 'surprise' upon arrival.

The hotel driver was waiting for us at Yantai airport, around 40 mins drive from the hotel. Upon arrival - around 23.45 - it turned out Kathy had stayed after the end of her shift at 23h to await our arrival. She showed us to the room where indeed lovely flowers were waiting for my wife and the bed was nicely decorated with rose petals and two 'swans' folded from towels. Indeed a very nice surprise and many thanks to Kathy and her colleagues who arranged this!

Now, on the hotel. It's brand new (opened in February) but all facilities are open now. We had a room on the Club floor which meant we had access to the lounge for breakfast and evening 'happy hour'.

The room itself was very nice with a lovely view across the sea, however room was a little on the small side for Chinese standards. Not sure about the exact size (room descriptions have not yet been uploaded to the Starwood site...) but the total room size including bathroom must be something like 35 m2 or so. It would be useful for them to update their room details on the website so you actually know what you're booking. No balcony (none of the rooms have that surprisingly enough given the sea side setting and mild climate in Shandong, guess Chinese people are not big fans of sitting outside in the sunshine). Bathroom modern and with sea view as well although for some bizarre reason it did not have air conditioning (air conditioning in main room was fine though). Also, the water from the shower stall (lovely rain shower) seemed to flow onto the floor into the toilet stall next to it, which wasn't very practical. The bed was lovely, usual high Sheraton standard.

Service in the hotel was generally fine (or in some cases even excellent - all club lounge employees were great and helpful). As mentioned Kathy was excellent and pretty much every other hotel employee provided service with a smile. However, when we asked about actvities in the surrounding area the ladies at the reception downstairs seemed to know very little about Yantai and Penglai and gave wrong information, so would recommend to only speak to the concierge when you need information about trips. Service in the restaurants was fine, especially in the Club Lounge and in the Feast buffet restaurant. Service in the Cantonese restaurant Yue was a little patchy with the waitress not remembering anything from her own menu ('I can't remember as our live seafood selection changes every day') and the excuse that they couldn't serve fruit juice 'as the man who makes juice just popped out to see the finance team'.

Regarding food quality - the buffet restaurant Feast was excellent with a surprising large selection of food and high level of quality. Service here was also excellent. Value for money for something like 190 RMB per person. The food at Yue (Cantonese) was also very good (the scallops were myummy), however they didn't have over 50% of the seafood items on their menu. We did not try to the Japanese restaurant. The breakfast in the Club Lounge was good, a nice buffet selection with additional items we could order from a menu. The Club Lounge also opened in the afternoon between 5 and 8 and served complimentary drinks (including wine) and food. The food in the lounge was a bit of a surprise as it was a full buffet with both warm food (lamb chops, dumplings etc) and some of the best sashimi (tuna, salmon) I've had in China.

What you don't see on the official hotel pictures is that the hotel is built in a residential area at the beachfront, surrounded by large unfinished appartment buildings. It is part of the Economical Development zone in Yantai, approximately 20 minutes drive from the centre. The location itself is nice, you have to cross the street to get onto the beach. The beach itself is a bit dirty but still very nice and quiet for a long beach stroll. The beach is for fishing, don't expect resort type beaches here. They are building lots of resorts close to the Sheraton some (not Sheraton btw) advertising with grand slogans as in 'China's Hawaii' or 'the second most beautiful place in the world after the riviera'. It's a nice location, but nothing like Hawaii or the French Rivieria. If you want a beach resort go to Sanya in Hainan, not to Yantai.

Facilities of the hotel are great, nice spa, indoor swimming pool and in the changing rooms there are bubble baths (quite large) and sauna/steamrooms. Also, and that's handy as the location is quite remote, they have an ATM in the hotel. The only thing lacking was any outdoors facilities, no terrace, nothing to sit outside. Perhaps a cultural thing - may be westerners are more keen on sitting in the sun than Chinese people.

We had a great time during our stay at the Sheraton and visited Yantai (but only briefly and went to see Tashan mountain, you can go to the top with a cable car and visit the pagoda right on the top of the mountain). The main attraction for us though was visiting Penglai, lots to see there with the Penglai pavillion (where you can take a scenic speed boat ride, a short hike around the pavilion and a cable car back to the starting point), the site of the eight immortals with its surrounding temples and pagodas and several other things. We also visited the Chang Dao islands, approximately 40 minutes by ferry from Penglai (ferry leaves 5 minutes drive from the Penglai Pavillion). We only had two hours on the main island which is probably too short. Quite a large island but the north-east side if beautiful with some stunning cliffs and rock formations. Might be worth considering it for an overnight stay if you also want to visit some of the smaller islands - something we didn't do. We also visited Nanshan mountain with the large buddy on the top - very nice to see and a lovely view across the valley once you've reached the top. We also visited the winery 'Chateau Changyu' which was interesting (never realised Shandong had so many vineyards and wineries - most China's wine comes from there and there's actually some half decent stuff they produce).

So, back to the hotel - overall assessment: great people and generally very good service. Staff seem to have followed good training - perhaps lacking in experience in some cases. Very good club lounge, value for money and would recommend booking it. Very nice shiny new hotel. Design of the hotel is somewhat unremarkable and it feels a bit more like a business hotel than a holiday resort. A bit outside of Yantai but if you're planning to visit Penglai you're already 20 minutes drive or so in the right direction - 50 minutes from the hotel. Be prepared that Shandong is not cheap, a visit to Penglai pavillion will set you back 300-400 RMB per person in entrance fees, boat trip and cable car (all payable seperately). The site of the 8 immortals was something like 130-140 RMB per person. Basicly prices you would expect to pay in the US or in Western Europe, nothing over the top but definitely not cheap at all. Food at the hotel though was quite reasonably priced.

Overall assessment. I'll give it 4 stars. Highlights were the great service, the sea view, the club lounge and its service and the food at the buffet. Spa facilities were also very nice. The only things that stopped me from giving it 5 stars were the somewhat small size of the room (we had a Club Panarama King Room), the location, surrounded by high rise apartment buildings and the lack of any outdoors terrace (which they do have space for, they have a large front garden they could use to open a small terrace).

Matt.

Room Tip: Book a Club room - the lounge is well worth it - our panorama club room had a lovely sea view, both...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Thank you for having spent your valuable time to share your comments with us. Our great beach location, stunning sea views and ample facilities will make us the perfect place for leisure or business retreat and leave you with unforgettable memories to share with family and friends. Welcome you back to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Sheraton Yantai is a 4 star hotel. The hotel staff, including management, front desk, concierge and service all did a great job. The lobby and public area is large and open with plenty of space to relax and enjoy the view of the ocean. The workout options are all modern and clean. A large, perfect temperature pool, whirlpools in mens and women's dressing rooms, and big glass enclosed 24-hour fitness area. There are three restaurants. The Yue Cantonese food was a hit with all members of our family. We also enjoyed the room service food. We enjoyed the club lounge each day we were there.

Why would a 4 star beach front hotel be a Starwood Category 2 property? I propose 2 reasons: Location & Beach quality.

Location - This hotel is in a remote area. We did not find anything to eat or buy within walking distance. Plan to have all meals in the hotel, or have the hotel call a taxi, as there won't necessarily be a taxi waiting.

Beach quality - The Golden Beach is suited for fishing, not so much for sunbathing and swimming. The sand is very polluted with much styrofoam and trash litering the full length of the beach. The water is shallow, less than 1.5 meters up to 300 meters from shore, and filled with green sea plants. We did not see a single sunbather or swimmer the full length of the beach. There are many fishers, collecting crabs and other aquatic life.

Yantai Golden Beach Resort is a great place to go and relax in a nice hotel, take walks on the beach, and if you feel like it take day trips to distant sites.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Thank you for having spent your valuable time to share your comments with us. Our hotel is a standard 5 star hotel. Generally, people will swim in the sea in August because it is a little cold before Auguest in China northe beach city. Our great beach location, stunning sea views and ample facilities will make us the perfect place for leisure or business retreat and leave you with unforgettable memories to share with family and friends. Welcome you back to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yantai hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Yantai Golden Coast
10.7 mi away
Wanda Vista Yantai
Wanda Vista Yantai
#2 of 390 in Yantai
46 reviews
16.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Yantai Seaview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Golden Gulf Hotel
Golden Gulf Hotel
#7 of 390 in Yantai
146 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brigh Radiance Hotel
Brigh Radiance Hotel
#4 of 390 in Yantai
52 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Center Hotel
The Center Hotel
#6 of 390 in Yantai
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort

Address: No.88 Haibin Road, Yantai Economic Development Area, Yantai 264006, China
Location: China > Shandong > Yantai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 390 Hotels in Yantai
Price Range: $55 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sheraton Yantai Golden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing