We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling in time: a 1980’s experience at 2012 prices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nan Tong You Fei Hotel
Ranked #35 of 313 Hotels in Nantong
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Externally, it boasts the proud architecture of Chinese patriotic grandeur. The location is excellent, central and right on the river with great opportunities for boat tours or pleasant strolls along the very well maintained riverside pathways.
Inside, the hall is nice although a little old fashioned, and overall it’s like living a 1980s experience. Slow check-in with obsolete office equipment. Smallish and slow elevator. The corridors have low ceiling, room is a little small for a five star, and with poor soundproofing; the bathroom very small and basic. Tap water is not suitable for drinking, but of course this has nothing to do with the hotel. Toilet amenities are limited to one piece of soap. Old TV, wi-fi not in all rooms, but you do get an in-room fax machine!
Breakfast is fine in terms of choice, but the waiters have a bit of a puzzled look and role.
All would be nice and good, a bit of a cultural experience which I actually enjoyed, if it wasn’t for the price that is frankly excessive for a certainly not contemporary hotel in a second-tier city – a rate that in Shanghai could get you into really high standard hotels. Would have been just fine for half the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Nan Tong You Fei Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

Right in the heart of Nantong this is a great location near shops and many local returants, comfortable rooms with internet free which is good. Value for money bars in the hotel and classic Chinese style deco. The rooms were good size and along with all the facilities to a western style expectation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were on a business trip with a group of 12 people. We specifically told the front desk when we checked in that we needed non-smoking rooms. However some of us, including myself, got smoking rooms. The room I initially went in had an awful cigarette smell and the carpet was filthy. I immediately returned back to the front desk and complained about it. I got a different room, but did not get an apology. They claimed that at the time when the reservations were made, we did not tell them that we wanted non-smoking rooms. It seemed that they had some memory problems because clearly we spoke to them both in English and Chinese when we told them that non-smoking room is a must.
Four (4) of my colleagues went a bar located on the second floor one day. They charged 460 RMBs for the drinks of 250 RMBs. We later found out they charged soda for cocktail drinks. And they also charged potato chips and peanuts, the things they just brought to you, but we never asked for.
We rented a conference room for about 2 hours for 1750 RMBs. We asked for an erasable drawing board. The manager wanted to charge 100 RMBs. 100 RMBs for borrowing an erasable drawing board? How can someone be so greedy like that???
Overall, this is definitely NOT a so-called “Five-star” hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms may be better at higher floors.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaishun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Was told it is the best hotel in town. Price wise it is close to some middle class Shanghai hotels. Way too expensive for what they offer.
Rooms are not bed, bed is actually quite soft. Electric plugs are close to the bed. Bathrooms are large with a walk in shower. But the water is only dripping out and the temperature is very difficult to control, you always have to readjust the temperature in order not get get burned or freeze to death.
What really ticked me off was that the internet was extremely slow and it cost RMB 100, which i was only told when checking out. You log in, click "log - in" then you can surf, but no where they tell you how much it is or for that matter that it costs something. Anyway, it was very slow, even skype did not properly work.
TV had only CNN and HBO, which is OK, but not for a 5 star hotel at those prices.
Breakfast was OK, but nothing special. Some western dishes.
Staff spoke little or no English and the laundry was only found after repeated questioning the whereabouts of it.
Then I much rather stay in a 3 or 4 star hotel where I do not expect too much.
A McDonalds is down the street of the hotel, first turn right, then left again on the main street, about 500 m away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

This hotel is located near the shopping areas & has a very good lake view. The location is one of its advantages. The standard of the hotel itself has fallen a little over the years and is on an average side. Rooms are small & need refurbishing. Staff service is also average

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiTraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Internet works, bed OK but the hotel is noisy. Beware the bath water - filthy even by China standards.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Some hotels in China try extremely hard to justify their status as a 5-star hotel. Some try to do it with service, and others, like the You Fei Hotel, do it with really impressive imitations of elements of neoclassical European and Louis XIV Empire decor. There is a whiff
of Versailles as you enter the lobby. Check in is a doddle, and the rooms are finely appointed and generous in size. The hotel is also pleasantly situated in front of a very attractive river, in what is really the nicest part of town.

If you ever find yourself coming to Nantong, I would definitely recommend staying here. It was quite pleasant and sure beats any 3 hour commute from Shanghai. If I had to make a criticism, it would just be that the place has a long way to go before matching its decor
with the output for its buffets from the kitchen. But then again, that's hardly that relevant as far as the room is concerned, and the breakfast was substantially better than the lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Public_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantong hotels
0.7 mi away
Wenfeng Hotel
Wenfeng Hotel
#5 of 313 in Nantong
76 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Nantong Oasis International
3.1 mi away
Jinshi International Hotel
Jinshi International Hotel
#2 of 313 in Nantong
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nantong Hotel
Nantong Hotel
#4 of 313 in Nantong
122 reviews
3.5 mi away
InterContinental Nantong
InterContinental Nantong
#1 of 313 in Nantong
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Nantong Development Zeon Zhongyang Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nan Tong You Fei Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nan Tong You Fei Hotel

Address: No.8 Haonan Road, Chongchuan District, Nantong 226001, China
Location: China > Jiangsu > Nantong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 313 Hotels in Nantong
Price Range: $74 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Nan Tong You Fei Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing