We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mihingo sets the bar at high level that other lodges strive to beat”
Review of Mihingo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Mburo National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mihingo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the superb Mihingo Lodge under the new management of husband and wife team, Brits, Clemmy and Richard.

The highlight of the stay at the lodge was an early morning walking safari with one of the park rangers.
It is a completely different experience being on foot as opposed to the safety of the jeep - it certainly heightens the senses, particularly when the walk began to the sound of howling hyenas, sadly not to be seen, and culminated with a pack of buffalo taking a distinct interest in our presence. Trying to act cool and unaffected by their nearing approach certainly tests the nerves!!
We were pleased that the ranger left his his story of being attacked by a rogue single male buffalo to the end of the walk when we were back in the safety of the lodge.

The walking safari was matched the following day by a late afternoon sunset horse riding safari. The game view the horses as merely another animal and therefore allow you to get up real close.

The lodge serves outstanding food - it was a revelation in all the lodges that we stayed that the quality of food can be so high considering the remoteness of the locations.

The stunning views of the waterhole from the swimming pool and dining area and the view of some of the surrounding lakes from the luxury tents are an absolute joy. In addition, the hide, located near to the waterhole, is an absolute must for an alternate game viewing experience.

From other postings I got the impression that Lake Mburo was being used as an overnight stop on the way to more prestigious locations. One night will not even begin to do this area justice. We spent 3 nights and loved every minute. Many people at the lodge were complaining that they did not allocate it enough time and would definitely spend more time there on future visits.

Almost forgot to mention the boat trip on Lake Mburo - loads of hippos, buffalo, some crocodiles, fish eagles and numerous other birds.

Room Tip: Lake Kycheera - stunning views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 344 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is magic especially when you read and look at the pictures how the owners realize to build the place on 500 milijon years old rocks.We had 3 nights here and we regret we did not have more.
All the rooms are build far from each other so are very private.
The view from your spacious balcony is stunning and the beds the most comfi as well the huge bathroom we have had during our 3 week trip in Uganda .
Food very good and hospitality from the whole staff great.Before dinner nice campfire to sit around with a drink.There is so much to see and do like going down to the hide and watch the animals real close that we spend there many hours.
Swimming pool great with enough sunloungers and also sight to the waterhole down.
The foto,s on the internet are nice but don,t do any justice to this place.
Highly recommend Mihingo lodge for more than 2 nights so that you give yourself enough time to enjoy the whole place it will give you a ultimate relax feeling back.
Worth every $ compare to other lodges we stayed in this price range.
The whole Lake Mburo area is great for game viewing.
Keep on going like the whole team is doing now with special thanks to the managers Clemy-Richard-Damian who made us feel home from the time we came in.

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning with there own caracter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great, great lodge.

Very welcoming staff, wonderful rooms and that swimming pool is great - its bigger than it looks on the pictures as well so you can have a decent swim about whilst looking at the animals at the waterhole below.

The whole setting on top of a rock outcrop overlooking the bush is just magnificent.

The waterhole was always busy with impala, zebra, elaand, warthog and topi.

We took the klipspringer room which was on top of the rocks and was the furthest room from the dining area but its an easy two minute walk. The view was fabulous with vervet monkeys playing on the rocks in front.

We stayed two nights to have a full days relax before heading to entebbe. I recommend more than one night as its a great place to relax.

But it also provides activities and we loved the night drive. We picked up the ranger at the nearby gate a few minutes drive from the lodge and set off. We were lucky enough to see three leopards right by the side of the road (one large male then a little later a female and a juvenile) and being active.

It was an awesome experience and in one month in east africa we only saw leopards on one other occasion in the serengeti. There we saw a family lounging in a tree thirty metres away with twenty other cars for company. Here we were the only vehicle we saw all night in the park with private close ups of active leopard. The ranger reckons he sees leopard on half of his night drives.

We also saw hippo out of the water grazing, genet cat, swamp mongoose and all of the day animals on the night drive.

And of course there is the cute bushbaby at the lodge, who has quite a spot where we would watch the sun setting over the african bush with a beer with the waterhole below us.

The hide is worth a visit too, its about a ten minute walk.

The food was very good although not quite at the top class level of kyaninga and wildwaters.

It takes the best part of an hour to get to the lodge from the main road.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location of this lodge is magnificent! The deck from our room overlooked a watering hole which attracted many different kinds of animals. Upon our arrival our reception was warm and the food was good. We enjoyed seeing the bush-babies in the evening and the monkeys frollicking around the pool in the morning. The rooms were large with lots of lovely extra touches. A perfect place to unwind after a long drive.

Room Tip: Our room was down a very long set of rock stairs which wouldn't be a good choice for anyone who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mihingo Lodge
Positives: spectacular views over the plains in general and a big watering hole in particular, so you can see animals from the terrace all day long; beautiful, individual, spacious cottages/tents, good food (Ndali probably was still a bit better) and wonderful hosts (Clemy and Richard). Sitting in peace and quiet on our own cottage terrace, looking out over the plains and having an impala walk up to within about 15 meters is quite special. Great place.
Negatives: the roads in the park are pretty bad and we almost got stuck twice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved this place!! The tented room was amazing and the view was out of this world. I spent a couple of weeks in Uganda and stayed at 5 different places and this was the best BY FAR. The staff was wonderful and you have the experience of a tent combined with a luxury room. The decor was very natural and had a really cool vibe. If you aren't out exploring then you can relax at the infinity pool and watch the animals at the watering hole (just watch out for the monkeys :-)!) My only word of caution would be that you should expect to climb up and down some steps. Also in order to achieve the secluded feeling that makes the place great, well the tents have to be a little secluded (i.e. expect a good little bit of walking could be involved between the rooms and the common area). Like most lodges there are no power ports in the room. I think the managers and staff did a really wonderful trying to accommodate my group, particularly since some members had health conditions that presented real challenges. My only regret is that my tour operator didn't book us longer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tezaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Mihingo Lodge is strategically located atop a rock boulder giving an all round view of the Lake Mburo National Park and surrounding. All the tented cabbins are strategically located, spacious and very well kept. The staff are very friendly, caring and giving every guest a "Royalty" service. The managers will go out of their way to do all it takes to make you feel home and treasured. This couple are a special gift to their guests and to the owners of this property. While I was on my way to Mihingo for my very first time, they kept on calling me up to check if all is well and giving me directions to the place. This made me feel so touched and very impressed by their level of care and professionalism. I was even left speechless when I found the GM and his junior staff waiting for us at the parking area to give us a royal reception. While here all drivers and tour guides are well catered for and this in turn translates to the safety and enjoyment of the travelling guests. I would highly recommend this place for even a Honey moon stay and a quiet weekend getaway. The walking safaris are unique and rewarding. However, the only disadvantage with the Prak and NOT THE LODGE is the uncontrolled inteference into the park land by the local community. At LMNP, domestic animals are freely grazed alongside wild animals.Visitors must also take note that it is only at this park and Kidepo Valley NP that you can view the Zebras. For a real hard core lover of the wild life safaris I do not recommend this Park. However, for a 7 Star world Class Service, MIHINGO LODGE is the place to go. I will go back and do referrals with all confidence; Keep the standards up and you will always be the winners that you are.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Mburo National Park
0.0 mi away
Sambiya River Lodge
Sambiya River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Murchison Falls National Park
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 33 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Albert Lodge
Lake Albert Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hoima
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The RainForest Lodge
The RainForest Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mabira
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Jungle Lodge
Bwindi Jungle Lodge
#9 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
38 reviews
24.8 mi away
Tobiz Guest House
Tobiz Guest House
#3 of 6 in Mbarara
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihingo Lodge

Address: Lake Mburo National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Lake Mburo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Mburo National Park
Price Range: $327 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a rocky outcrop with spectacular views across Lake Mburo National Park, Mihingo Lodge treats you to Uganda at its most magical. Unwind beside the lagoon style infinity pool, enjoy delicious home cooking and experience the rich wildlife through walking safaris, horse safaris, game drives and boat trips. All en route to the gorillas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mihingo Hotel Lake Mburo National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing