We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite lodge in Uganda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mihingo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Mburo National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mihingo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My favorite lodge in Uganda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved this place!! The tented room was amazing and the view was out of this world. I spent a couple of weeks in Uganda and stayed at 5 different places and this was the best BY FAR. The staff was wonderful and you have the experience of a tent combined with a luxury room. The decor was very natural and had a really cool vibe. If you aren't out exploring then you can relax at the infinity pool and watch the animals at the watering hole (just watch out for the monkeys :-)!) My only word of caution would be that you should expect to climb up and down some steps. Also in order to achieve the secluded feeling that makes the place great, well the tents have to be a little secluded (i.e. expect a good little bit of walking could be involved between the rooms and the common area). Like most lodges there are no power ports in the room. I think the managers and staff did a really wonderful trying to accommodate my group, particularly since some members had health conditions that presented real challenges. My only regret is that my tour operator didn't book us longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tezaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    40
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
157
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Mihingo Lodge is strategically located atop a rock boulder giving an all round view of the Lake Mburo National Park and surrounding. All the tented cabbins are strategically located, spacious and very well kept. The staff are very friendly, caring and giving every guest a "Royalty" service. The managers will go out of their way to do all it takes to make you feel home and treasured. This couple are a special gift to their guests and to the owners of this property. While I was on my way to Mihingo for my very first time, they kept on calling me up to check if all is well and giving me directions to the place. This made me feel so touched and very impressed by their level of care and professionalism. I was even left speechless when I found the GM and his junior staff waiting for us at the parking area to give us a royal reception. While here all drivers and tour guides are well catered for and this in turn translates to the safety and enjoyment of the travelling guests. I would highly recommend this place for even a Honey moon stay and a quiet weekend getaway. The walking safaris are unique and rewarding. However, the only disadvantage with the Prak and NOT THE LODGE is the uncontrolled inteference into the park land by the local community. At LMNP, domestic animals are freely grazed alongside wild animals.Visitors must also take note that it is only at this park and Kidepo Valley NP that you can view the Zebras. For a real hard core lover of the wild life safaris I do not recommend this Park. However, for a 7 Star world Class Service, MIHINGO LODGE is the place to go. I will go back and do referrals with all confidence; Keep the standards up and you will always be the winners that you are.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Mihingo Lodge in the Lake Kacheera tented room...an awesome view of the area, high on a rock escarpment. The couple overseeing the lodge were welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. We had a game ride just coming to the lodge, and arranged to ride horses late in the afternoon, an unforgettable hour walking amongst the zebras and other animals. The view from the dining area looked out on a watering hole full of animals, and morning coffee brought to the tent was a great way to start our day. The food was quite good and this is one of the best lodges to stay in!

Room Tip: Lake Kacheera room is located a bit of a climb away but the view is breathtaking and it is very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed two nights here, and what an amazing lodge. Each bungalow feels like a little house, with a beautifully designed bathroom and toilet (have never had a prettier view from any toilet!) as well as a spacious bedroom and verandah from which you can view the park below. The dining room is located at the top of the lodge overlooking the pool and a salt-lick, and is again, beautifully designed to take in the vastness of the national park. The food was delicious, so much and made with love (desserts were a highlight). The guys who run the place genuinely love it and are so knowledgeable on all things Uganda and wildlife-related...an absolute pleasure to meet and chat to. Also got the chance to see the bush-babies in the evening which was special, since they're pretty hard to spot in the wild. Spent a few hours down at the hide-out watching the animals come and go only 50m away at the salt-lick. Wonderful place overall and would've loved to spend even longer here, left with a lot of happy memories.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nalia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
233 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 445 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Staff members are very good. Manager Chris is excellent--helpful and truly involved with guests and the quality of their stay. Assistant Iddy, and others, are welcoming. The gentleman at the bar/lounge (wish I recalled his name) is wonderful!! Restaurant staff are helpful. All seem genuinely concerned and lintersted in guests enjoying themselves

Food is good. I was lucky enough to be treated to two servings of fabulous sticky toffee pudding. After a late arrival to Mihingo, and a subsequent late arrival to dinner, the famous bush babies had just left. I enjoyed the sitting room/bar area below the restaurant, with the aforementioned bar tender who is terrific and gracious.

The cottage/tent ( Leopard Rock) is lovely and large, with distant view of Lake Kachara (not Mburo). It was quite hazy in the morning which affected the sunrise view. Love the design, with the entrance area, bedroom, big deck, and then a private bathroom area. Love the towel rack, which is a mini swing on ropes. Rooms do not lock.

There was the widest trail I've ever seen of red safari ants marching across the walkway. In the dark, it is quite difficult to see, even with someone leading by lantern light, so it could have been easy to step on this determined ant parade.The bites could have made for an unfortunate visitor experience. I understand Mihingo is an "eco lodge" but a bit more work should be done toward keeping these nasty biting creatures off the pathways. Despite some footwork to brush them off the path, they were back in full force an hour later on the return from dinner.

From taps in both sink and shower, water was brown-sediment colored. Chris kindly look into this and said it is not uncommon there, due to the way their water filtration system works. I don't know if this happens all the time, and it's not unhealthy--just mildly unappealing to think of taking shower and shampoo in somewhat rust/ tan colored water.

Finally, not a criticism of Mihingo Lodge, but something to be aware of... If you are coming from the West (i.e. direction of Mbarara) the first turnoff into L Mburo park requires a long drive past some villages, down a dusty bumpy "road." After reaching Lake Mburo Park gate, there is another long drive. Duing this drive, near sunset, i saw loads of wildlife, but it's then another long drive (I'd guess half an hour--IF you are not stopping to take photos )to the lodge. I believe Mihingo is the farthest accommodation from the park entrance.

The other gate, which you leave by when heading East toward Kampala, is a much quicker ride. But as many tourists use Mihingo as a stopover point traveling to or from Kampala/Entebbe on journeys to Western Uganda, do calculate and take into account, drive times from the main road.

Mihingo is not on or close to a lake, desptite its location IN Lake Mburo Park. My own fault for not researching, and not a criticism of the Lodge itself. Next time, I'd choose accommodation where it's possible to actually see or hear close proximity to a lake.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihingoLodge, Owner at Mihingo Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your generally positive review. Sorry that you were not aware we are not right next to one of the 12 lakes surrounding Lake Mburo National Park, we are exactly 4 km from Lake Kacheera. None of the upmarket lodges are near any of the lakes. The drive to the boat trip is 15 km and takes anything between 20 minutes and 1 hour depending how often you stop to watch the animals and how the road conditions are. On the way back you have a great chance of seeing leopards.
I am very sorry about the colour of the water coming out of the taps. It varies from a peaty colour to crystal clear depending on the amount of rainfall we have had, but rust colour seems very strange and we will find out what went wrong. It is treated with chlorine to make sure it is bug free but we don't add lots of other chemicals to make it clear because we feel the less chemicals used the better. But we will certainly take on board your comments and might consider adding some aqua clear. This water is not drinking water, but we do provide drinking water in the rooms.
Concerning the safari ants we do keep them under control and it is very rare that we have any problems with them. We are sorry that they looked scary. Luckily if they do bite you it is a sharp nip but as soon as you brush them off the pain is gone and doesn't last like a bee sting.
As you mentioned if you want to get to Mihingo Lodge fast you should take the Nshara gate and not the Sanga gate. On both ways you have a lovely drive through the park seeing lots of animals; it is a lovely game-drive before you arrive. Mihingo Lodge is 22 km from the main road when coming in from the Nshara gate entrance which is about the same distance compared to the accommodation closer to the Park headquarter. Your guide probably chose the longer rout so you could see more of the park when approaching Mihingo Lodge.
To really appreciate what Mihingo Lodge and Lake Mburo National Park have to offer it is better to spend a bit more time and not to arrive just before sunset (not your decision we know). We offer exhilarating horse rides rated as one of the most exciting experiences in Uganda, to very popular walking safaris, massages and tennis. There is also a lovely walk down to the hide near the waterhole. The bush babies are also very special. Lake Mburo has several different very good game drives. If you ever come back to Uganda please don't miss Kazuma lookout point and research valley which are both not far from Mihingo Lodge. The night games drives are also very exciting with very good opportunities of seeing leopards. There is plenty to explore to spend several nights.
Thank you again for your very informative feedback. The name of our lovely Barman is Michael. It could also have been Robert who has started with us more recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg. S africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have been to a fairly large number of lodges in game areas and rate this right at the top, the service and special attention from staff was fantastic, the position and facilities melded into the landscape without spoling it, the owners have tried to make everything as close to nature as possible

Room Tip: The rooms do require one to walk a short distance and several have quite a few stairs so bear that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiff380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had one night at Mihingo but wish we could have stayed longer. This lodge strikes the right balance between service, ambiance, location and cost.
They have breathtaking views, good food and excellent service. They have a nice swimming pool which makes a welcome break after all the dust and bumpy roads on safari.
Some of the rooms are quite far away from the lodge, so if you are not very fit then you might want to confirm in advance that you have a room close to the lodge, but this was not a problem for us.
They have a waterhole that attracts wildlife (though there was not much while we were there – this did not matter as we saw a lot of animals on the roads in the park).
The lodge is a distance outside of the main park so you need to drive back to the park if you are doing the boat trip. There are also lots of activities on offer in the camp (such as horses, massages, tennis), however we preferred to relax at the pool in the camp; after a long safari sometimes the simplest things are the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillCT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MihingoLodge, Owner at Mihingo Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Mihingo lodge borders Lake Mburo national park and the dining room and pool are about 200 m from the park boundary. Mihingo is located on the western side of the park and it is about a 30 minute drive to the headquarters where you take the boat trip from. Otherwise Mihingo is only a 15 minute drive from Research track which is one of the best game drives in the park on the way to Kazuma look out. We are sorry that you didn't see many animals at the water hole. This was very bad luck as we nearly always have animals visiting the waterhole and they usually come during breakfast, lunch and tea time. Guests often see impala, buffalo, eland, bush buck, waterbuck and warthog around the waterhole at some point during their stay. We really hope you will come back one day and stay with us and see our regular water hole visitors. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Mburo National Park
0.0 mi away
At The River Ishasha
At The River Ishasha
#13 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
#18 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Albert Lodge
Lake Albert Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hoima
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rwakobo Rock
Rwakobo Rock
#2 of 7 in Lake Mburo National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mihingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihingo Lodge

Property: Mihingo Lodge
Address: Lake Mburo National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Lake Mburo National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Lake Mburo National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a rocky outcrop with spectacular views across Lake Mburo National Park, Mihingo Lodge treats you to Uganda at its most magical. Unwind beside the lagoon style infinity pool, enjoy delicious home cooking and experience the rich wildlife through walking safaris, horse safaris, game drives and boat trips. All en route to the gorillas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mihingo Hotel Lake Mburo National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing