We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Execellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tanga Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tanga Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tanga
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Execellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

It was just amazing and very wonderfull,i thought of having fun and adventure with my family when i thought the best place to visit is tanga,i visited the only 5 star in tanga,tanga beach reasot the only place you can while in tanga,ranging fro the reception you get from the well trained staff to the accomodation not forgeting the food,if you think of making a holiday in tanga,then you will not have visited tanga without visiting tanga beach reasort,the only home away from your home,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FashiTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
4
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights this month on a business trip. I understand from colleagues that this is the best hotel in Tanga... but for the price I would have expected reliable hot water in my room. I also had a problem with the safe in the room which the 'handy' man couldn't fix.
The place has the feel of needing a little bit of attention. The reception staff are friendly but the bar staff don't have great English. I've got to work on my Swahili if I got back.
Didn't get a chance to use the pool and they're working on a new spa centre.
Breakfast was also not great. The scrambled eggs were ok I guess.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robscott101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Want back to tanga beach restore and had my second daughter"s reception party agreed with the other reviews about the furniture and lighting but noticed that they are making changes and during the reception party one of my friends had a very bad accident and hats off for the Manager Mr.Joseph after a long night he stayed with us in the hospital untill the we left the Dar he showed us what hospitality is all about not only what people comment about food, rooms, etc but when things go wrong on a holiday you need the hotel staff to stand by you as family. thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

It was just amazing and very wonderfull,i thought of having fun and adventure with my family when i thought the best place to visit is tanga,i visited the only 5 star in tanga,tanga beach reasot the only place you can while in tanga,ranging fro the reception you get from the well trained staff to the accomodation not forgeting the food,if you think of making a holiday in tanga,then you will not have visited tanga without visiting tanga beach reasort,the only home away from your home,
SUSAN FROM UGANDA.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nzaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I live in Tanzania and have traveled everywhere here for business. I stayed at Tanga Beach Resort for only one night and it was a Thursday. It was quiet and there weren't any party goers but the weekend is a different story as the locals like to hang out at nice hotels and have a drink as there isn’t much to do in Tanga and that can include loud music. The customer service was good but that's the best you'll get in Tanzania so be happy you got that. The hotel was quickly built with cheap materials and these cheap materials are now starting to fall apart which is obvious everywhere in the hotel. There are constant power outages in Tanga as in most cities in Tanzania and I was surprised that for $85/night (One Person) that they decide to save money by not running the generator until after dark which was not good (No Power No Hot Water). The hallways are not lit and very dark even in the day and when there is power as a previous reviewer said and you can see that the building is not being maintained well. The room itself was small but served its purpose. It’s close to the ocean but there is no beach so don’t think you’ll be hanging out on the beach or even sitting looking at the water, unless it’s the pool. I have stayed at many hotels in this price range throughout Tanzania and Tanga Beach Resort would be at the bottom of my list in this price range. It’s the most modern hotel in Tanga and you don’t have a lot of options in there but in my opinion it’s overpriced. If you decide to stay there just arrive with somewhat lowered expectations. I will be traveling to Tanga again for business and I do plan to stay there again but if you’re on a budget you can stay at one of the many, very basic, local hotels in town for less than $15. Good luck and travel safe.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Very disappointed and shocked by the only one review about beach resort. Well my husband is a tanzanian from tanga and i am for kenya-Mombasa my children grow up in u.a.e and took their higher studies in UK universities (this is just to show they are used to high standard hotel). As every parents dream we wanted our kids to find their culture and appricatiate it.

We decided to have a traditions wedding for my daughter in Tanga with all their friend, after reviewing all the options in tanga we choose to have the wedding reception and to have all our overseas guest stay at this hotel as it was the only one in tanga with high standard (the hotel was booked 100%).

Its six months now and all our guest including our children cant stop taking about the hotel and staff (i even wrote and apprication letter on my return to the hotel). The staff were excellent the food good based to availability in Tanga (being a small town) we are at the moment even planning to have my other daughter's wedding at the same place.

The management and staff made it perfect wedding / vacation.

when traveling to tanga one must bear in mind that there are no beach areas in any hotel as all the cost line is Mangrove unless you go to areas like Panagani. One should also bear in mind that in the evening you will have local people visiting the hotel for a drink and weekends you might have some parites just like any other hotel and suprising the locals do not mind guest from the hotel joining in.

Most off all good place to go with family and friends just make sure if you feel the food is too local than call the chef and you will be given what you want with a big smile

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanga hotels
14.8 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Tanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
17.9 mi away
Fish Eagle Point
Fish Eagle Point
#2 of 6 in Tanga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tanga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
New Kwetu Hotel
New Kwetu Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nyinda Respective Hotel
0.0 mi away
Panori Hotel
Panori Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tanga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanga Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanga Beach Resort

Property: Tanga Beach Resort
Address: P.O. Box 2294, Tanga, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tanga
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Tanga Beach Hotel Tanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing