We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”
Review of Fish Eagle Point

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fish Eagle Point
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tanga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We visited FEP when our son chose it for his wedding. He had already visited several times and knew it was excellent. What a superb place! It was everything the web site said it was and more. Steve and Kathy were fantastic hosts and orgainised everything down to the last detail.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brucebeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Fish Eagle Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 129 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were lucky enough to spend 2 nights at Fish Eagle Point when visiting our friend in Arusha.
The drive down was quite a long one but it was interesting for us to see some of the life in Tanzania.
The time we spent at Fish Eagle Point made the journey so worthwhile. We wanted to "chillax" and that is just exactly what we did. Cathy and Steve were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. We did not want to do anything other than recharge our batteries but if we had there were many activities on offer. Others at the resort certainly seemed to enjoy the fishing trips with Steve.
We enjoyed using the very comfortable communal areas, taking in the sea views and drinking a lovely local beer on the end of the jetty. We also enjoyed having the pool to cool off in as dipping a toe in the sea was like dipping into a warm bath.
The food was also a highlight. The calamari and crab served for dinner was the best I have ever tasted and even one of my traveling companions who is a 'seafood-phobic' admitted to enjoying it!!
The local staff were also very friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble.
The accommodation was very comfortable and although ours was a distance away from the main building, the views even when lying in bed were unforgettable. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean is something which will remain in my memory for a long time to come.
Also the many hermit crabs scuttling around were great entertainment.
Unfortunately living in Scotland means that a return visit may not be on the cards but I would urge you all to go. It's certainly one of the best places I have ever had the good fortune of spending a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a hidden gem on the Tanzanian coast. Cathy and Steve could absolutely not be better hosts. How refreshing to find a property that has preserved the indigenous forest and not cut it down to plant coconut palms. Rather than one long stretch of beach, this place has several secluded coves strung like pearls along the mangrove groves. The pool, the dining experience over the big cove, the hermit crabs scampering about at night, the pre-dinner evening relaxing on the upstairs deck, the super large bathrooms, lovely verandah (with hammock!) the list of pluses goes on and on. Steve is an expert deep sea fisherman and there are boats and dhows available for snorkeling excursions. We went to explore the old German for and spent hours paddling around the coves there. Bliss! Cathy went out of her way to prepare vegetarian food and the breakfasts were great. If you want a different and super relaxing coastal experience in Tanzania, this is it!

Room Tip: Acacia is a beautiful room with a hammock on the verandah and great sea breezes. Make sure you get a...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Exceptional! From the minute you arrive, Cathy and Steve go out of their way to ensure that your stay is fantastic. You can spend your time relaxing on the huge sofas with the amazing sea views, having a cold beer on the end of the jetty or swimming in the pool if you're in 'chill out' mode (as we were) or they'll organise more energetic activities such as fishing or snorkeling if that's more to your taste. Speaking of taste...the food was sublime. The crab served up for dinner on the first evening was unbelievable.
The accommodation is comfortable, each beachfront banda is fairly secluded. We were a fair walk away from the restaurant/lounge/pool but needed the exercise to justify the food and drink! The trip from Tanga up is slow at present as the road to the border is under construction, but it will be a breeze (well, by Tanzanian standards) once that's done. We drove from Arusha and were only able to stay two nights- I wasn't sure that it would be worth it but we loved every minute and were really pleased we'd made the effort.
I am already plotting a return trip....

Room Tip: Take a beach room- the ones set back are just as nice but don't get the sea breeze.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

It is winter here in Holland as I am posting this review, and I am dreaming of my beautiful summer in Tanzania, where Fish Eagle Point was an absolute high light. Fish Eagle Point is literally too beautiful for words. And luckily, instead of turning this place into a high rise resort, it is an accessable relaxed resort. The staff is so friendly, the pool small and refreshing, the food fantastic! We had the best time in Fish Eagle, looking at the crabs, reading our books in the roped sun beds, dipping in the blue sea, feasting on our meals under a moonlit sky, and sleeping amidst the fresh air and animal sounds.
It was a slice of heaven that I wouldn't have missed for the world.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

From the minute you step aboard the dhow to sail the 2 1/2 hours to Fish Eagle Point your soul will find peace. Arriving at your destination you will wonder if there can be anywhere more tranquil on earth, the peace and beauty is yours alone. Cathy and Steve have carved pure paradise from the natural surroundings and created serenity that us first world dwellers can only dream of. This was our 2nd trip back, this time with our adult daughters, we definitely plan to keep going back as we have never found a place that recharges the soul quite like Fish Eagle Point. The staff are supremely hospitable and the food heavenly. We had very successful fishing trips and the use of the canoes meant we could explore the surrounding mangroves at leisure. We took a dhow trip to the sand islands where the coral and abundance of fish is breathtaking. Since we last there a year ago there has been a fantastic regernation of coral, several varieties and beautiful specimens. There is also spectacular snorkelling a short swim from the front of the jetty. The additon of the jetty is brilliant allowing guests intimate interaction with the sea life below. The nearly completed Honeymoon Suite is going to be worth a visit! We drove back to Tanga and the road is almost completed, brand new sealed road for most of the way. Cathy and Steve said they were keen to start wedding packages, can't think of a more romantic special place to tie the knot! Thank you for a fantastic few days, we are seriously looking at returning as soon as poss!

Room Tip: We have always stayed in Mbuyu, but all rooms are secluded and ON the beach!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waddlingbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Fish Eagle was a highlight of our 6-week trip to East Africa, and a great alternative to Zanzibar if you are looking for something a bit less commercial and off the beaten track. Cathy and Steve go out of their way to make sure the service is impeccable, and the staff are all so friendly and helpful. The food, especially the fresh seafood, was some of the best of our entire trip. We were at the end of a long safari and so mostly chose to relax and unwind, but there is also heaps to do if you are feeling more energetic (the snorkelling was fantastic). The rooms are absolutely beautiful - right on the beach and very private with lots of nice touches. We really can't recommend Fish Eagle enough. If you are looking for a place to party and hang out with lots of other tourists, this isn't the place for you, but if you want an idyllic, serene place to unwind, this is definitely a find.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flyingkiwi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanga
32.5 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Tanga
160 reviews
18.5 mi away
New Kwetu Hotel
New Kwetu Hotel
#5 of 7 in Tanga
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nyinda Respective Hotel
17.7 mi away
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
Nyumbani Tanga Hotel
#6 of 7 in Tanga
15 reviews
17.9 mi away
Tanga Beach Resort
Tanga Beach Resort
#3 of 7 in Tanga
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Eagle Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Eagle Point

Address: P O Box 723, Tanga, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Tanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tanga
Price Range: $150 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new eco-friendly coastal resort 40km north of Tanga. Unique, truly secluded and natural. Several beaches of varying sizes, mixed with coral rock formations and mangroves. Offering diving, fishing (inshore and offshore in Pemba channel), snorkeling, dhow trips, visits to historical and cultural sites. The cliche 'bush to beach' applies, natural coastal forest and an abundant variety of animals and birds. Buildings are spaciously built using local materials, freestanding bungalows are individualistic incorporating natural features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fish Eagle Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fish Eagle Point Hotel Tanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing