We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cosy and welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sir Lambert's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Lamberts Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very cosy and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the Sir Lambert's Guest House for one evening and was welcomed with opened arms and friendly smiles. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything I needed. At breakfast there was a wide variety of cereals, fruit and hot options. Juanita and her staff are aware of what their guests need and try to make sure they are satisfied. Thanks a lot, it was great!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank YollaBekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

A lovely owner run B&B within easy distance of all of the Lamberts Bay attractions. Teh rooms are comfortable and well kept. Breakfasts are wonderful

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahthexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

When we planned our trip to South-Africa we were unsure what to expect from our stay at Lambert's Bay. As a birdwatcher, we included this town in our trip to visit the Cape Gannet colony in the harbor of Lamberts Bay. Which was worth visiting. We had low expectations as the guidebooks told us that there isn't that much to do in this small town. Although this is partly true, it's still a great place to stay one night. It's charm lies in the relaxed atmosphere of the town, the friendly people and the excellent lowpriced seafood of local restaurant Isabella's.
The Guesthouse in itself is also better than the other reviews make it seem. Offcourse one shouldn't expect a four star hotel, but that's not what it advertises and we prefer the feel of a real, down to earth, local place to stay during our holidays. Our room was nice, very clean and surprisingly large with a seperate bathroom with a bathtub. There is a decent WIFI connection in the shared living room and the breakfast was also very nice.
Juanita, the host, was very helpfull as she gave us soap and a cloth to clean our rental car that suffered mud during our wet drive on gravelroads to Lamberts Bay (one can avoid gravel by driving via Clanwilliam instead of following the coastline). She also recommended the restaurant to us, which was amazing.
A recommended stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the back with acces to the garden and with a private bathroom. It's very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The rooms are a bit basic (no TV's) but very clean and had aircon.
The host's more than made up for it, with their hospitality.

There is a nice relaxing TV lounge and garden.
Excellent breakfast.

Great for 1 or 2 nights, you must remember this is a very small seaside town, that does not get very busy (peak time flower season for 6 weeks), so it must be very difficult for people to invest in their properties.

Relax, go with the flow and enjoy the West Coast hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is a small B&B on the outskirts of Lambert's Bay. Since you'll need your own transport anyway, location is not such an issue.

The owner went out of her way to accommodate my dietary requirements and she did this well.

The B&B is fine in general but felt too much like I was staying in someone's private house (which I effectively was) for my liking. No pool and they charge for internet usage.

Other than that, I thought it was reasonably priced.

I wanted to score this place 3.5 out of 5, but sadly not possible. :(

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

I stayed here with my GAP adventures tour. It is a cute bed and breakfast. My room was large, but no frills. The decorations are a little outdated in the room, but for one night it was perfect. Breakfast was lovely. Wifi is good, but it is pricey (as is most of Southern Africa).

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamberts Bay
0.5 mi away
@TheBay Guest Villa
@TheBay Guest Villa
#3 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
23.8 mi away
Strandfontein Accommodation
Strandfontein Accommodation
#2 of 4 in Strandfontein
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grootvlei Guest Farm
Grootvlei Guest Farm
#2 of 6 in Lamberts Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Lambert's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Lambert's Guesthouse

Property: Sir Lambert's Guesthouse
Address: 9 Donkin Street, Lamberts Bay 8130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Lamberts Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lamberts Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sir Lambert's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sir Lambert's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Lambert's Guesthouse South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing