We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off season stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sunset Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atata Island
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here in Aug and didn't know it was the off season so we pretty much had the island to ourselves. The photos others have posted are like mine - we too stayed in Fale #9 and it was nice and clean. We wanted to experience the local Tongan life and this is a good place to do it. The local village is where all the staff live and we were able to visit the village any time. This was a hi light as we enjoy the culture part of traveling. The staff was all very nice and always asked if we needed something. It would have been nice to be there with more people but we enjoyed the solitude and quiet.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 173 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff are all local to the island, well-trained, obliging and very friendly. Great snorkelling, excellent food, just the thing for a much-needed break! There's lots of space to chill out, plenty of things to do and none of the hidden costs that you'll find elsewhere!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in December 2013 and can not recommend this place highly enough. The fale's are only metres away from the beautiful crystal clear waters of a sheltered tropical lagoon. it's an easy paddle out past the sea grass to the lovely coral gardens that fringe the lagoon. The whole island and the surrounding waters are all very safe and with the friendly locals in the village being very welcoming, you can go everywhere and anywhere you please. The fale's (cabins) are basic but well equipped and if you want something just ask Daniella. And a special local, Pluto the one eyed resort dog will make you feel right at home and loves to show you around the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spend two glorious weeks at Royal Sunset Island Resort. It was the perfect place to take our two grandchildren aged 5 and 7. It is the only holiday that we have been on where we didn't want to return home at the end. Could have stayed a lot longer. We are already planning to return again next year. The staff are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. We appreciated the free internet at reception. The fales are clean and comfortable and have their own private beaches within metres of the front door. A short walk to the local village and you can experience the friendly Tongan lifestyle. A visit to church on Sunday is a must. The voices in the choirs are outstanding. For anyone who wants a truly relaxing holiday you just have to visit here. Plan on staying a couple of weeks because you won't want to go home. Thanks Taniela, Tieni and Keti for the really wonderful holiday and see you next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is not a five star hotel but it was a five star experience. The fales are pretty basic but clean and well equipped. Every single one sits a few feet from the water lapping on your own private beach. A small cafe table & chairs with a hammock strung on your front deck makes for some pretty perfect beach lodging.The windows are screened and a good quality mosquito net adorned the bed.There is an air con unit in the fale but we preferred the big ceiling fan. (King sized bed was comfortable, linens were clean and beach towels were provided and changed daily.) (I think this is really a divers place.) The snorkeling was terrific, especially the "off the boat" snorkeling. Kayaks and stand up paddle boards were at our disposal for free. Whatever we wanted was not too much to ask. The service was beyond attentive with Danny providing constant effort to make our stay something really memorable. The bar and restaurant were semi-al fresco and very comfortable. (Great free internet service, too, in the bar.!) The food was excellent. Breakfast was fresh fruit and fresh squeezed juices with cereals and toast & jam. Although there were plenty of "western" menu items, we ate mostly "off the menu" for lunches and dinners preferring to eat a more local fare. Danny took us on a tour of the island and the island plantation where he pulled up fresh greens for our lunch that same day. Other meals were fresh grilled fish with all types of veggies, everything well prepared and super fresh. (One night Danny set up a romantic table for two out at the end of the pier just for us, and upon our arrival and also the night before we left a local group of musicians came to play and host a kava ceremony for us.) He also arranged for a day trip over to the main island and a tour of everything important to see there by car. We were only there for four days but we really feel like with Danny's help we got to know Tonga and her people quite well. We felt safe every second of the day on Atata and on the main island as well. Take a good quality insect repellent and lots of sun block and this will be one of your best travel memories.

Room Tip: All the fales seem identical and right on the beach, but the closer to the bar you can get, the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanneT059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were there in early October, we'd gone to realise our dream of swimming with the Whales.

This was a fantastic experience, from Pluto the one eyed resort dog who adopted our daughter, slept under our fale and accompanied us everywhere to Tangiella the multi faceted barman, stage performer, church singer it was a wonderful week and an experience we will never forget.

It's not a 5 star hotel and it doesn't pretend to be, but the staff are as welcoming as any we've experienced anywhere and every request was dealt with swiftly and efficiently.

The rooms are clean and adequately provisioned and gave you everything you needed.

Great for kids, as they can wander around the island and not really come to any harm.

Tip: If you don't swim with the whales on the first trip, persevere..it's so worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I spent a day on the island snorkeling and kayaking -- it is a great place to chill. Saw pig swim in the sea as well. Lunch -- Mahi mahi with chips , fish was cooked to perfection, lovely purple kumara chips. Yum.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ahhlili01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atata Island
6.8 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
5.8 mi away
Little Italy Hotel
Little Italy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
250 reviews
14.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#10 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
94 reviews
7.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
165 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fafa Island Resort
Fafa Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fafa Island
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sunset Island Resort

Address: | Nuku'alofa, Atata Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Atata Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atata Island
Price Range: $85 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Sunset Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sunset Island Resort is located on 'Atata Island. The resort features 18 beachfront fales, Polynesian Style Restaurant and Cocktail Bar with amazing views. It borders a fishing village where guests are welcome to experience the traditional culture. Scuba Diving, Game Fishing, Kayaks, Snorkeling boat trips are just some of what the activities the resort has to offer or do absolutely nothing. Come and enjoy the sun in this little bit of paradise. Resort has undergone Renovations with New Management and Service Upgrades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sunset Island Hotel Tongatapu Island
Royal Sunset Island Tongatapu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing