We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and nature in one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Sunset Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atata Island
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently had my second visit to royal sunset resort Tonga - Atata island, the resort has had lots of renovations since my first visit & although I enjoyed the first time it has greatly improved. Royal sunset accommodation was great but not what I was going there for, all my needs were met & the staff were fantastic . My visit to royal sunset resort has left me with the feeling that anyone that enjoys nature, the sea or relaxation, would like to experience the Tonga culture from the village & beautiful people should go to the Royal sunset resort ideal form families with kids - my visit has reminded me of Fiji before there was so many tourists & before it masked the culture - I hope everyone who will come will share my experience of Tonga.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rhodie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

The resort is on an island which has a small village, two churches and best off all no cars!
Having had a holiday a year earlier in Samoa and being kept awake by dogs, roosters and cars, it was blissfully quiet.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the island is safe for children to explore around. The water is not deep and calm which is perfect for wee ones.
The accommodation is not luxurious but very comfortable. We were in the newly renovated Family Fale which has two separate bedrooms and a living room. There was plenty of room for the children with three single beds but I would think room for another if need be.
The fridge was a bit noisy and we had a few issues with the hot water, but yeah its the islands.
Food was great, with the fish being cooked without being turned into something akin to polystyrene! Good breakfasts as well.
Also left NZ at 7am, on the beach by lunchtime!

Room Tip: I would try and choose a room on the lee side of the island. The family fale is on the windward side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bogatide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My five year old daughter have just come back from an unforgettable short stay on this island, and wish we could have stayed longer. The island island itself was stunning. The resort is situated on with a long peninsula with perfect white sandy beach on either side. The grounds were an immaculately gardened tropical paradise. The two us had a wonderful time making sandcastles, swimming and using the free paddle skis & windsurfers. My daughter was enamored with the very friendly one eyed resident resort dog. The free daily snorkeling trip was great - fantastic hard coral gardens a couple of minutes from the resort. The fales were all on a few steps from the beach and spotlessly clean & comfortable.

The staff fantastic, in particular we appreciated the efforts of resort manager, Keti and the barman, Taniela for looking after us so well. It was great that the resort is run by staff from the village on the island. It made an added bonus that my little girl had the cultural experience of being able to visit the village.

I certainly hope one day to return to this little piece of paradise. Next time we hope to try out the island's dive shop & do some scuba.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenAndKylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent three nights at the Royal Sunset Island Resort. The island is absolutely beautiful, with some great snorkelling out on the reef (someone from the resort will take you out to the reef at any time). The food we had was excellent, if a little pricey. We paid for full board, but realised part way through that this didn't really give us any discount on the normal prices of food - I would probably recommend not paying for board and just ordering whatever you like at meal times. The only odd thing about the place was that for two out of the three nights we were the only guests there, which was a little strange given that it is a fairly large resort. But in hindsight that was probably preferable to sharing the place with a large number of people, so no real complaints. The service was a bit average, but that mostly suited us as we are quite laid-back. The accomodation itself it really nice, although we did get a free upgrade from a budget fale (due presumably to being the only guests). Overall I would recommend staying here, especially if you are looking for a quiet break and are not too fussed about the service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace_Kinza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Nice and easy to get to from the airport and mainland, there with minimal time and no fuss. Run by nice people that want to make your holiday enjoyable. Relaxing and simple resort thats great so long as you don't expect 5 star.

Large sheltered beach, fales steps away from the waters edge with sunset views, free daily snorkelling trips and use of kayaks, walks for guests into the village and plantation, fantastic evening performance by staff and villagers, fridge in room so can take a few snacks and drinks, rooms cleaned daily, free internet access should you want that, lovely sunsets, friendly resort dog, and staff really try to please. Easily spotted whales which was a great surprise, staff made sure to let us know when they were about.

The not so positive points - food is expensive for what it is and would suggest they simply charge less so no one minds so much, beds okay but extra single beds not so comfy, rooms are basic for the price if comparing with other pacific islands. If you hear strange noises at night it's nothing to worry about and just a few bats in the trees, worth knowing in advance.

Room Tip: Fales are only being used on one side of the island (the non windy side while we were there) whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the island recently for a day trip - excited about seeing the huge clams. We were staying in a truly Tongan b&b so we don't have either expectations or need for high end, ubiquitous accommodation BUT we were pretty glad that we weren't saying on the island. The fales are more exhausted than tired and a few are situated by the noisy and smelly generator and ?septic tank - which was stinky. When the staff could be dragged away from playing pool they were very sweet but I didn't really expect to stand around at the bar for five minutes watching a pool game when there were only four of us on the island! Or at all, to be honest. I only wanted a beer ... Maybe if the staff spent less time playing pool and chatting with each other and spent a bit more time clearing up the resort and dealing with their guests, it would be as lovely as the island it sits on. And we didn't see the clams, apparently the tide was too low, or high, or the moon was in the wrong place - not sure. Too many other lovely places to go in Tonga for them to be so complacent.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah_Pallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank You for Your Review. Good & Bad reviews always help us to improve on the Guests & Facilities.
Obviously your experience with The Royal Sunset was not good and to your expectations.
As far as Staff lack of service and attention to guests demands is Not acceptable and we will address this as a priority. We proud ourselves to be Of Service and we failed you in this instance.
As far as The Clam Farm Snorkeling - We are dependant of The Tide and The Weather and in this instance in particular due to access restrictions & security it was not possible to take you to that location.
As far The Accommodation Fale close to the sewage and near generator. That particular Fale is Not for Guests but an Housekeeping Storage.
The Resort has undergone a $500K renovations last year and we are in the process to renovate the Eastern Side.
Thank you Once again for your Feedback and Be assured that we are addressing our shortfalls.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very enjoyable. My wife and myself stayed two nights. It would have been nice to stay a little longer.I read the reviews on the island and thought I would give it a go. Boy are we glad we did.
3 hours from NZ 20 mins to the wharf then 25 mins to the Island. The resort is a very laid back atmosphere, peaceful, the staff are very friendly & remember your name. Accommodation is simple but clean & tidy. Right beside the beach. A small fridge is available for drinks food etc.
I would recommend bringing some snacks for lunch or drinks to have as no extras are available. The food is ok what you would expect on an Island.Simple. Certainly not horrible though.
There are complimentary snorkel trips every day which will take you to a different place every day.The visibility & fish life was amazing. You can also take out kayaks paddle boards windsurfers etc.
They will take you for a tour of the Island on foot any time.
I would say value for money this place is hard to beat, we stayed two nights here & two nights at a resort on mainland {Likualofa}. If you are looking for a hectic nightlife this will not be the place for you. Just very relaxing & peaceful.

Room Tip: Any of the western Fales are good, we stayed in 9 which seemed a little better than the ones closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forbes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58_traveller, Manager at Royal Sunset Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank You for your Feedback. We are very proud of our Little Island & Resort and Guests Feedback are very helpful for us to improve the Service, Standards and Guest Experience.

To Update you are currently Renovating The Eastern Fales which 3 are already near to completion.

Kind Regards from all of Us

The Royal Sunset Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atata Island
6.8 mi away
Tanoa International Dateline Hotel
14.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
163 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Black Pearl Suites
The Black Pearl Suites
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
47 reviews
5.9 mi away
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
Liku'alofa Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kanokupolu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sunset Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sunset Island Resort

Address: | Nuku'alofa, Atata Island, Tonga
Location: Tonga > Atata Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Atata Island
Price Range: $89 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Sunset Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sunset Island Resort is located on 'Atata Island. The resort features 18 beachfront fales, Polynesian Style Restaurant and Cocktail Bar with amazing views. It borders a fishing village where guests are welcome to experience the traditional culture. Scuba Diving, Game Fishing, Kayaks, Snorkeling boat trips are just some of what the activities the resort has to offer or do absolutely nothing. Come and enjoy the sun in this little bit of paradise. Resort has undergone Renovations with New Management and Service Upgrades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Sunset Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Sunset Island Hotel Tongatapu Island
Royal Sunset Island Tongatapu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing