We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of The Old Storehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfrynach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Storehouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanfrynach B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2014

No traffic wardens. No CCTV. No mood music. No sirens. No adverts for stuff. Just a crackling fire, a glass of red wine, and a host who makes you feel at home. Outside, a million stars. In the morning, a swan glides across the Mon and Brec canal and wanders up the garden for his breakfast. The chickens cluck and fuss and do their chicken-walks - each exudes a personality and sometimes even an egg. Less graceful, I stumble in to the conservatory for breakfast at 10 - this is not a problem (nothing is a problem). Peter serves me bacon and egg with 2 fried breads (specifically banned at home). A narrow boat chugs by. Glimpsed through the trees is the snow-capped peak of Pen-y-fan. Yet another pot of coffee magically appears. I mull over the maps and vaguely form a plan for my day - no need to drive anywhere - my walk starts right outside the Old Storehouse. Heaven.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 44 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked a weekend stay in the canal boat (the house was fully booked) having spoken to Peter who told me that someone had been staying there for a few weeks just before i booked and it had been fine (i was concerned about the heating as the booking was for just after christmas). When we arrived Peter told us he had made an executive decision for us to stay in the house as the path down to the boat was very muddy and dark and we could move to the boat the next day.

We had brought food to cook on the boat so had to use the extremely messy and not very clean kitchen. The living room and the whole house is very charming, stacked with books everywhere and various wood burning stoves but it's not just a few cobwebs and a bit of clutter as other reviewers have stated. The stairs were un-hoovered, the fires were packed with old ash that spilled out all over the floor, the sink in our bathroom was properly dirty and i'm really not fussy about these things which is why i booked despite reading the reviews, but it was splattered with brown dirt and grime round the taps. The bath had soil blown in from the plants on the window sill above it. The beds were clean and comfortable and windows on three sides was lovely. Hot water bottles were a nice (and necessary!) touch but window sills, corners, arm chairs etc were pretty dirty.

Had a great breakfast but peter kept putting off showing us the boat, then when we finally insisted he show us he told us he'd have to look for the keys as it had been months since he'd been down there (what happened to the guest he'd told me about over the phone?). He told us we could have it for half price as it wasn't quite kitted out as advertised. We went into the boat and it was disgusting. The shower was broken and full of black muck at the bottom, there were no cooking things, the beds unmade and basically he hadn't bothered to clean it any way and expected us to pay to stay there!? He had told us an anecdote about the man who owned the boat having successfully drunk and smoked himself to death on the boat (nice) and i noticed half a bottle of whiskey on a small table. I suspect no-one has stayed on the boat since the owner passed away and that Peter was telling tall tales. He also told us a second world war veteran who had served in the submarines had stayed there in the summer but I can't imagine many 90 year olds staying on a canal boat especially in the state this is in.

Basically Peter should never have taken the booking and once he realised his mistake offered an immediate refund of the night we did stay or at the very least apologised but he didn't. I told him we didn't want to stay and he didn't offer to try and find us anywhere else to stay in the area or use his phone. I suggested a discount and he said, 'i'd rather you didn't pay anything' and stormed out of his house, leaving me alone in his kitchen and feeling as if i'd done something wrong.

If Peter was a middle aged Welsh woman no-one would tolerate the lack of professionalism and cleanliness of his establishment. But as a very well spoken older man, bumbling about, his absent mindedness (a guest didn't get her breakfast for a very long time because he'd forgotten) and grubby house are seen as 'charming'. He is charging people, it is a business and as such I was shocked and hugely disappointed as this was the first holiday alone with my husband in years.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank penarthlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful, unique and welcoming B&B. We can only echo what others have said really, if you are looking for a pristine B&B with rigid room access and eating schedules then look elsewhere, if however you want something genuinely charming, quirky, original and properly down-to-earth then this is the place for you.
There's none of the pretense found in some places, you can really, REALLY relax in this beautifully converted old canal storehouse.
We arrived just as Peter was going off to hospital for a hernia operation and were catered for brilliantly by one of his close friends (Chrissie C) who although injured, made us feel utterly at home.
The literature in your room invites you to treat this as a second home and once you come to terms with the relaxed atmosphere, that's exactly what we found ourselves doing. On our first night, we came back from eating out and lit the log burner in the living room and played scrabble until very late. We then slept in until nearly 10 the next morning and were still provided with a lovely cooked breakfast. The room was excellent, the beds were very good quality with crisp cotton bedding, feather duvets and pillows and an array of blankets and throws so you never feel too hot or cold.
The bathroom in our 1st floor bedroom was lovely too, the bath is easily deep enough for two, be warned though that all the cold taps in the house are on an opposite thread to those found everywhere in the world (another lovely quirk).
We visited in mid November so didn't venture out into the garden too much, but the garden is full of various birds including the chickens that laid the eggs we ate at breakfast.
The house is FULL of books, and we loaned a 'Walking in the Brecons' book and an OS map and took an 8 mile walk deep up into the hills from the village of Llanfrynach.
We have five children (that we didn't take with us) and we both thought that we wouldn't want to take any children younger than 8 / 9 years old, just because of the rugged nature of the garden / steps and close proximity of the canal.
The town of Brecon is ten minutes by car, Hay-on-Wye half an hour.
Overall, we are hooked on this place and will be back as and when we can find the spare time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife, two children and I had a terrific four day stay here. The house is full of character and the rooms are huge, interestingly furnished and comfortable. Peter is a delightful host: genial, thoughtful, generous-spirited and genuinely concerned that you should enjoy your stay, but also discreet enough to know when to leave you to enjoy the peace and quiet.

It's not antiseptic clean so if that's important to you, you'd probably be advised to look elsewhere. This is not to suggest that it's dirty but there's interesting clutter - including dozens and dozens of books, the top ones of which I suspect Peter selects specifically for thie individuals staying - and even a little bit of dust in corners.

The breakfasts are fantastic.

Thoroughly receommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Peter was a great host and makes a fantastic breakfast. The accommodation is very good and perfectly suited to a weekend on the hills. The atmosphere, location and host made for an excellent and memorable weekend. I would definately stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a memorable visit. The warmth, generosity and relaxing nature of our stay was all down to Peter, our kind host. All the more welcome to us as the stay at The Old Storehouse came at the end of a quite tiring holiday. But this is not the place to go to if you are worried about clutter, untidiness and, even, dust! We were welcomed by a trayful of tea and home made biscuits and cake down by the canal where the chickens and swans ferreted about against a backdrop of the Brecon Beacons. One evening the 3 of us sat by the great log fire in the heavily furnished comfortable sitting room and chewed the cud over a bottle of wine, Just like being with a long-standing friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Peter is one of the most charming B&B hosts we've encountered. The Old Storehouse is converted canal warehouse. Cozy/comfortable overflowing with books. Rural as in chickens, water fowl and other critters in the the yard. Clean and comfortable bed and bath but overall clutter and cobwebs is not for everyone (as Peter said if they're looking for spic and span there's the place across the road). Canal at back of property with walking trails alongside--we walked to edge of Brecon proper and back before breakfast. Breakfast made to order from scratch when you'd like it--again, Peter is wonderful host. We stayed one night given our schedule, chap leaving as we arrived had been there a week and raved about his stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoMillionMiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Storehouse

Address: Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanfrynach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfrynach
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing