We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully located, relaxed, quirky hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Storehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanfrynach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Storehouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanfrynach B&B and Inns
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully located, relaxed, quirky hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful, unique and welcoming B&B. We can only echo what others have said really, if you are looking for a pristine B&B with rigid room access and eating schedules then look elsewhere, if however you want something genuinely charming, quirky, original and properly down-to-earth then this is the place for you.
There's none of the pretense found in some places, you can really, REALLY relax in this beautifully converted old canal storehouse.
We arrived just as Peter was going off to hospital for a hernia operation and were catered for brilliantly by one of his close friends (Chrissie C) who although injured, made us feel utterly at home.
The literature in your room invites you to treat this as a second home and once you come to terms with the relaxed atmosphere, that's exactly what we found ourselves doing. On our first night, we came back from eating out and lit the log burner in the living room and played scrabble until very late. We then slept in until nearly 10 the next morning and were still provided with a lovely cooked breakfast. The room was excellent, the beds were very good quality with crisp cotton bedding, feather duvets and pillows and an array of blankets and throws so you never feel too hot or cold.
The bathroom in our 1st floor bedroom was lovely too, the bath is easily deep enough for two, be warned though that all the cold taps in the house are on an opposite thread to those found everywhere in the world (another lovely quirk).
We visited in mid November so didn't venture out into the garden too much, but the garden is full of various birds including the chickens that laid the eggs we ate at breakfast.
The house is FULL of books, and we loaned a 'Walking in the Brecons' book and an OS map and took an 8 mile walk deep up into the hills from the village of Llanfrynach.
We have five children (that we didn't take with us) and we both thought that we wouldn't want to take any children younger than 8 / 9 years old, just because of the rugged nature of the garden / steps and close proximity of the canal.
The town of Brecon is ten minutes by car, Hay-on-Wye half an hour.
Overall, we are hooked on this place and will be back as and when we can find the spare time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife, two children and I had a terrific four day stay here. The house is full of character and the rooms are huge, interestingly furnished and comfortable. Peter is a delightful host: genial, thoughtful, generous-spirited and genuinely concerned that you should enjoy your stay, but also discreet enough to know when to leave you to enjoy the peace and quiet.

It's not antiseptic clean so if that's important to you, you'd probably be advised to look elsewhere. This is not to suggest that it's dirty but there's interesting clutter - including dozens and dozens of books, the top ones of which I suspect Peter selects specifically for thie individuals staying - and even a little bit of dust in corners.

The breakfasts are fantastic.

Thoroughly receommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill22London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Peter was a great host and makes a fantastic breakfast. The accommodation is very good and perfectly suited to a weekend on the hills. The atmosphere, location and host made for an excellent and memorable weekend. I would definately stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a memorable visit. The warmth, generosity and relaxing nature of our stay was all down to Peter, our kind host. All the more welcome to us as the stay at The Old Storehouse came at the end of a quite tiring holiday. But this is not the place to go to if you are worried about clutter, untidiness and, even, dust! We were welcomed by a trayful of tea and home made biscuits and cake down by the canal where the chickens and swans ferreted about against a backdrop of the Brecon Beacons. One evening the 3 of us sat by the great log fire in the heavily furnished comfortable sitting room and chewed the cud over a bottle of wine, Just like being with a long-standing friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Peter is one of the most charming B&B hosts we've encountered. The Old Storehouse is converted canal warehouse. Cozy/comfortable overflowing with books. Rural as in chickens, water fowl and other critters in the the yard. Clean and comfortable bed and bath but overall clutter and cobwebs is not for everyone (as Peter said if they're looking for spic and span there's the place across the road). Canal at back of property with walking trails alongside--we walked to edge of Brecon proper and back before breakfast. Breakfast made to order from scratch when you'd like it--again, Peter is wonderful host. We stayed one night given our schedule, chap leaving as we arrived had been there a week and raved about his stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoMillionMiles86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Old Store House is a "Home from Home" Peter is a excellent host, my parents stayed there over a year ago when I took the gamble to book them into a place out of Brecon and it was fantastic, they have come back to stay this year, and I went for Breakfast which was a real stomach filler absolutely lovely the gardens are fantastic with chickens, ducks and ducklings and loads of variety of birds, my father hurt his back while visiting family and on there return to stay at the B&B Peter went out of his way to help him, giving him breakfast in bed and making sure he was comfortable. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Store House to anyone wanting a comfortable relaxing stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b3xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a lovely time spending two nights at Peter's b and b. Our daughter (6) was immediately at home - enjoying collecting the eggs. We felt very at home. Peter is a great host - good recommendations. Rooms large, everything you need and beds very comfy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3myreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Storehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Storehouse

Property: The Old Storehouse
Address: Llanfrynach, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Llanfrynach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfrynach
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing