We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Barley Mow House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barley Mow House
Ranked #1 of 1 Aston Rogers B&B and Inns
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

M brother & I loved this B & B, wished we had booked for more than 1 night but hopefully will be back but with my husband. Linda & Colin are lovely and we couldn't fault the rooms, brother loved having so much space!
Bit difficult to find at first but well worth it and the local pub was a pleasant experience despite waiting a long time for food- I think they forgot, but not a problem for us and they were so nice.
If you want lovely surroundings, characterful rooms and lovely hosts this is the place to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and from the minute we arrived to the time of our departure we were made to feel so welcome. Our room was ideally suited to our needs, the breakfasts were faultless, and we were given exceedingly good advice on where to eat in the evenings, and where to buy the local honey. We are so looking forward to another visit and would highly recommend this excellent B&B to anyone visiting this area of Shropshire.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Recently stayed here, and the location is amazing, rooms were really cozy and beds were like heaven so comfy, breakfast was exquisite especially scrambled eggs! The hosts were really nice and friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here at Barley mow house!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visiting family in Welshpool and found this perfect place to spend the night. Set in a wonderfully quiet rural location we found this place to ideal for us after spending the night before in a noisy hotel. Lovely feather duvets and comfortable beds. We had a family room which had a separate room for the children with a private bathroom attached. We had a lovely tour around the grounds when we arrived and the children loved the trampoline and homemade tree swings.

Breakfast is a definite must. lovey fresh fruit melon etc., home made bread and marmalades and lovely cooked breakfast. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanneandfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for one night when going to a friends wedding. Very friendly couple, beautiful setting and lovely home cook food and home baked bread. Room was very nicely sized and bed was really comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjones1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently stayed for a couple of nights as I was going to a client's wedding at rowton castle. I was made to feel extremely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. My room was spacious with a shower and wc and it was all very clean however I hope I don't offend but in my honest opinion I felt the bed linen had seen better days and needed to be changed. The breakfast was lovely especially the homemade bread and marmalade. Colin kindly took me to the wedding and picked me up. They even gave my car a little clean over when I left how amazing is that. Overall well recommended at a great price. Little hint if you can book directly with them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveljoe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June, like other visitors were greeted by tea and cake. Linda & Colin made us feel very welcome. Our bed was a king size and very comfortable, breakfast was filling and tasty and we were given a wide choice. Their gardens are so relaxing it really made the visit complete, No place within walking distance for evening meal but we travelled a few miles to the Lowfield for food , very good

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ksawyer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barley Mow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barley Mow House

Property: Barley Mow House
Address: Aston Rogers, Aston Rogers SY5 9HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Aston Rogers
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aston Rogers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barley Mow House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barley Mow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing