We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,676)
Filter reviews
3,676 results
Traveler rating
3,224
338
83
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,224
338
83
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshoulder massagecolonial stylemarina viewpool staffgames roominfinity poolbeautiful hotelcable carwelcome drinkbest hotel we have ever stayedplanters restaurantour honeymoonmoment you arriveperdana quaymerchant roomluxury hotelpool side
Filter
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 3,676 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2017

This is our 4th visit back to the Danna and it is our favourite hotel. The hospitality of the staff makes our stay, and there is attention to detail which we really appreciate. From the complimentary drinks and massage on arrival to the complimentary drinks as we left, the Danna has got it right. We loved the luxurious surroundings of the hotel - the air is jasmine scented and perfectly air conditioned. The hotel and rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated. We enjoyed the afternoon tea experience - the pastries were brilliant. The gym is great for a good workout and even there everything is thought of - towels, cold drinks. We loved the pools and the beach and really appreciated the care and kindness of the staff. Breakfast is wonderful and accompanied by a piano! We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you very much for returning to The Danna Langkawi for the forth time! We truly appreciate your support and your time to write us such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

All of our associates were very excited to see your return and we are already looking forward to welcome you 'back home' again! Yes, genuine care is the core of hospitality and that's what they have! I know I am lucky to have a wonderful 'big family' and I am always rest assured that they will give their best to our guests.

Thank you very much again Vanessa! We hope to hear from you again soon.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

We spent 3 fabulous nights there, I wish we could stay more. staff were amazing and are very welcoming and helpful.Definitely the best hotel in Malaysia with the best service, courtesy, professionalism I've ever received The hotel is exceptionally beautiful Everything is clean and polished.It is located nearby to cable car and waterfall it just 5 minutes drive from the Hotel

There is a Concierge Desk at the hotel and the people who staff it both have a very good knowledge of the attraction places in langkawi and are fluent in English. Both the concierges we met (one was Rass but I didn’t get the other man’s name) were incredibly helpful and appeared to be invariably correct in the information they were providing.

Everything is top notch, from the service to the attention to every detail to the wonderfully appointed gym and spa. Get a room on a high floor with a balcony

The property is absolutely breathtaking. So very beautiful from every angle inside and out.

Room Tip: High Floor
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainlaumeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Rain,

We are very appreciative of your positive review and staying 3 nights with us. It's really good to know that you find our location strategic and that our Concierge members were informative. Should you plan to return in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly Rain. Hope to hear from you again.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

Luxury hotels like the Danna are not something we treat ourselves to on most of our travels, so when we do decide to splurge it's important to us that it's worth the investment. Thankfully, the Danna delivered.

Everything about the hotel is delightful and beautiful. The common spaces, particularly
the pool area, are spectacularly appointed and make you want to spend time in them. That's good, because otherwise we'd never have left our spacious and incredibly comfortable room. The bathrooms are particularly nice, with knock-you-off-your-feet shower water pressure and really high quality Laura Tonatto toiletries.

The breakfast buffet is so spectacular that our first morning we couldn't resist overeating, and spent the rest of the day just trying to digest. There's a good amount of variety from day-to-day, but just trying everything in the spread is a multi-day challenge.

We dined at both The Planters and The Terrace, and both were delicious and surprisingly reasonably-priced, particularly after their current daily credit promotion. The afternoon tea at Straits & Co was also great, though it would have been nice to have a better tea selection than the standard tea bags.

We understand there was construction going on based on posted signs, but we could not hear it at any point and could only see it if we tried.

The one criticism we have (and we have to reach for it) is that the library's book collection is pretty clearly just books guests have left behind. There are lots of "volume 2"s of various series and not a lot of stuff you can just pick up and read by the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elepsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear elepsis,

We at The Danna Langkawi thank you for the confidence you have in us and choosing us for your holiday treat.

It's really encouraging to know that you and your partner thoroughly enjoyed your stay here especially with our food served. Meanwhile, we also noted your feedback on the reading room. Initially we had some collectible precious, unfortunately some had gone missing along the way. Do feel free to write to us should there be any special genre you would like to see, we may stock them up again in the near future.

We hope to hear from you again. Please contact us directly should you plan to return in the future.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Danna for 3 nights... I spent a lot of time looking at different resorts to stay at in Langkawi, and booked this hotel based on the reviews. The reviews are all exactly correct. The exceptional service , smiling staff , little touches by the staff really make this hotel stand out from the rest. The breakfast is fantastic and the planters restaurant was also great. We also ventured out into the marina which has various shops and restaurants so you don't have to stay in the hotel for everything which suited us great. We did eat at the planters and the verandah which were lovely and the pool snacks and cold water are great. Loved the different types of recliner, the massive pool. As we were celebrating our anniversary it was made even more special by a cake and champagne. Thanks for a lovely stay at the Danna.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank iLovetodance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear iLovetodance,

Thank you so much for celebrating your wedding anniversary and staying 3 nights with us recently. We are really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Danna Langkawi with our services, food served and the convenience we have to offer. We hope to welcome back you and your partner again in the future. Meanwhile, once again, belated Happy Anniversary! Please contact us directly when you plan to return iLovetodance.

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017

... really to get the most out of what we think is a fantastic hotel. We thought we'd just have a couple of nights in Langkawi for a quick "look see" and chose The Danna on the recommendation of a friend. From the hotel pick-up at the airport on arrival to the hotel transfer back to the airport on our departure we thought that the hotel lived up to its excellent reviews and our friend's recommendation.

Our marina-view room was spacious (with a great bathroom and very large balcony with daybed), spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. The hotel itself, built around a lovely enclosed courtyard garden, is also in excellent condition and very clean and the beach and pool areas were wonderful, too - although we didn't give ourselves enough time fully to enjoy either. The hotel organised a three hour sightseeing tour (car and driver - RM180) which we really ejoyed and our driver was wonderfully friendly and informative and happy to stop as often as we wished so that we could take photos.

The hotel's offering on the F & B side didn't disappoint either. Breakfast is a sumptuous affair (Mr hnd truly enjoyed the chicken rendang!) with enough choice to satisfy even the fussiest of eaters and our evening meals in both restUrants (the more casual Italian-style one and the slightly more formal Restaurant) were both delicious. My seafood ravioli in the former and our chateaubriand in the latter were scrumptious!

We are looking forward to returning to The Danna and, when we do, we will definitely stay for longer so that we can fully enjoy all that both the hotel and the island have to offer.

Room Tip: A high floor (there are only five floors) will give the best views obviously - we rather enjoyed our view over the marina
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugedxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear hugedxb,

Love your review! Thank you so much for taking your time to share you good experience with us on TripAdvisor. As the marina room comes with a spacious terrace and over-sized daybed, the terrace itself is a good spot for a lazy afternoon. We are glad that not only you found our room is comfortable but also enjoyed our services, ground and Food & Beverage too. Our private beach villas are expected to be ready by end of this year, please contact us directly when you are ready to return. Hope to hear from you again!

Regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews