We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, perfect service”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Danna for 7 days and the service and hotel were amazing - Welcome massage and departure chocolate gifts were a wonderful touch. Huge rooms with very large balconies with great views. The inifinity pool is amazing and suitable for couples and families. Breakfast choice was lovely and the live entertainment was a nice touch. Will definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,772 - 1,778 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our first time to Langkawi & The Danna Hotel. Our arrival on the 10th April 2014 was so warm & welcoming. You cannot fault the service provided by all the staff, friendly and helpful.

My family would like to give a special thank you to the Poolside staff (Riza and a Paraguay girl and all the others which we did not take their names). Restaurant staff - Fuad's Team and the Mr Marek's Kitchen staff. Wonderful breakfast for 9 days and the best Chateaubriand cooked by the Executive chef in Malaysia. It was better then French cuisine!

Rooms was so big & luxurious!

Family Le Maguet 445/444

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Sunita H,

Thank you very much for choosing The Danna Langkawi during your recent family holiday to Langkawi.

We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable vacation with us. Our associates in the hotel are delighted that they made your family holiday worthwhile and that you and family enjoyed the breakfast and food served especially the Chateaubriand.

We hope to hear from you again very soon and welcome your family back!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was a perrfect experience I never got before. I wanna share it with my friends soon.
You can see the honest smile on the face of every staff.
My wife and child like it very much and almost forgot the time to check,hope we have stay there for more times.
It is my first choice if I will be in Langkawi again.

Room Tip: Garden view can sounds the birds and bugs singsing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean_lzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Daer Dean_lzf,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed the stay so much. We thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the future.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Danna is a wonderful beach resort with excellent sea view, nice facility, very good service and awesome food.

I went there on April 2014. Here is my review about it:

View:
Excellent beach views with western and local buildings. The whole Langkawi island is very beautiful and the guests can do hiking and boat trip.

Food:
I just love the local Malaysian food, spicy, sweet and a bit sour.

Service:
People are very hospital and nice. They smile all the time and try to help.

Caution: The sunlights are very strong. Be very careful about the sun burn. Remember bringing swimming suits if you want to do it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamsonWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear SamsonWang,

We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us SamsonWang. Langkawi is indeed a beautiful tropical island, weather here could be unpredictable but we enjoy typical tropical warm weather. Hence, to apply sufficient sun block is very crucial in preventing sun burn!

We are pleased to learn that you also enjoyed the food served here and found our associates hospitable. We hope to hear from you again soon and welcoming you back to The Danna Langkawi.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed at the Danna for the last leg of our honeymoon and after spending our first week running around Hong Kong and Kuala Lumpur, it was a real treat to be greeted with a welcome drink and shoulder massage. We were really impressed with the hotel which is probably the best we have ever stayed in, but more so with how friendly we found all of the staff at the Danna. From the head chef personally bringing us oat porridge every morning, to Justine's daily chats about how our trip was going, to Ferry teaching us how to speak Malaysian by the pool, they really made the trip one to remember. Everything had a real personal touch about it and this is what made it so special. We were so sorry to leave! We would like to pass on our thanks to everyone at the Danna who made our honeymoon so special. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a harbour view room on the fourth floor. It was huge and had an enormous balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Joanna F,

Congratulations on your marriage Joanna F! We trust you and your husband had a lovely honeymoon.

We are pleased to learn that you love your experiences here with us. The welcome treatment, personal encounter with our Executive Chef to Justine’s greetings, all are part of our THE DANNA Experiences. Our associates from the hotel are very delighted to know that you had a memorable honeymoon with us.

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to The Danna Langkawi again soon.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just enjoyed a fabulous week at The Danna. Proper 5-star luxury hotel. We had two connecting "Viceroy Seaview" rooms on the 4th floor (of 5) which were just perfect for our family (Mum, Dad, 7 year old, 4 and 1). All impeccably clean. Terrific poolside service, drinks, cold towels, complimentary snacks etc.) around a large infinity pool overlooking a beautiful bay. Don't come here if you want a brash hotel in a loud, hectic and busy tourist environment with 24-7 entertainment. Do come here if you want a quiet away-from-it-all holiday in an elegant property with exceptionally pleasant and helpful staff who deliver that sometimes-hard-to-find 5-star service.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Hector18,

We thank you very much for such a glowing review you have written for us Hector18.

We are glad to know that you and family had a wonderful week with us and that you enjoyed our ambience and services. The drinks, cold towels and complimentary snacks served by the poolside are part of our THE DANNA Experiences, we are pleased that you like these unique experiences we are trying to create for our guests.

You are absolutely right, for those who appreciate the hotel’s classiness and services, The Danna Langkawi is the place for a quality and quiet holiday.

We thank you again for taking the time to share your staying experience on TripAdvisor Hector18. We hope to welcome you and your family back in the future.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The Danna is without doubt the best hotel on Langkawi. My husband and I have travelled widely in Asia and found the pool to be one of the best we've stayed at (we're usually beach people but it's hard to resist the outlook from the pool here, they have sunbeds actually in the pool looking out to the beach.) The only disappointment for us more widely was how difficult we found it to get Malaysian food in Langkawi, which came as a surprise. Privilege restaurant (next to the Danna) is the best Malaysian restaurant on the island. The tapas place next to the hotel also serves a nice rendang. The Danna has lovely Malaysian dishes at breakfast. Most places in Ceneng sell Italian, Mexican, Spanish or Chinese live seafood, with only a few street vendors selling Malaysian dishes. We only went there once as a result and stayed around the harbour at the Danna the rest of the time. The staff at the Danna are superb. We hired a car to wander round the island for the afternoon and went jetskiing off a small beach in the north. Would really recommend doing that if you like jetskiing. Although not the cheapest in Asia, they had the biggest engines we've ever had on holidays and they were happy to let you speed around. (We went through naam.) We found Langkawi isn't the most typically Asian place you'll visit in your lifetime, but it is beautiful and if you are looking for a break within easy reach of KL/ Singapore (which we were, while transiting from Aus to UK) would definitely recommend the Danna.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DebinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear DebinSydney,

Thank you for choosing The Danna Langkawi during your transit to UK recently.

The swimming pool frames the view of the ocean and the manmade islands, it is indeed a picture-perfect scene. We noted that you faced difficulty in getting Malaysian food on the island. During your next trip back here, you may want to try out our Malay or Indian Tiffin Set dinner and other typical local delicacies from our outlets or even the in-room dining menu which offer selections such a Sup Ekor (Braised Oxtail Soup), Rendang, Satay, Mee Mamak (Fried Noodles Mamak-style) and Asam Pedas (Fish Braised in Spicy Tamarid Chili Gravy with Okra and Tomato), just to name a few.

We are glad that you did jet-skiing and you enjoyed it. We trust you hired the services from naam from the shop just in front of the hotel?

We thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor DebinSydney. We hope to hear from you and welcome you back soon.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,414 reviews
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: $237 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing