We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed class.”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We arrived at the hotel mid afternoon on the 27th Feb for 7 days, following 3 days in KL, and a c.15min private transfer from the airport. We were given the full welcome - drink, massage and tour of the hotel and room. On unpacking we found a small issue - there was no iron/iron board and only 4 coat hangers in each of the 2 wardrobes. at quick call and it was resolved. The iron/iron board was left in our room for the duration - it may have been better of they were already in the room but they may have calculated there is not a great need for an iron/iron board in every room. There is a mini bar in the room which is replenished daily. It is without doubt the cheapest mini bar we've experienced - a beer is less than £1.50, a Coke etc less than £1. There was also fruit left as well as a cookie jar.
Our room was a Grand Merchant with a mountain view and partial sea view and was spectacular. Plenty of storage space, flat screen TV, radio/iPod dock, huge four poster, large balcony with sofa, chairs and a table where we would look out and watch buffalo wandering freely in the area across from the hotel as well as monkeys climbing the trees. The bathroom was also large with a bath with a view, superb shower and double sinks. I found the comfortable but my wife didn't sleep well a couple of nights, which she put down to being firmer than she preferred but that is just a personal thing.
We spent the rest of the afternoon poolside where we were served (free) drinks and snacks throughout our week's stay. We were even treated to having your sunglasses cleaned. The pool and surrounding areas are fantastic. Plenty of beds and other sunbathing options all with their own shade options too. There are less beds etc on the beach and whilst we walked along the beach we didn't use it much. It's a nice beach area but not the Caribbean, and the water is unbelievable calm (no waves at all). We were warned on check in that it was the jelly fish season but saw none. The water was a bit murky which appears to be due to there being more mud than sand. Watch out for the crabs on the beach which are fascinating...once they detect human vibrations they dart across the sand at ridiculous speed and disappear down a pre built hole !! There is a marina a short distance away with several restaurants and a convenience store.
We were booked on a Half Board basis including breakfast and dinner. There was a good choice at breakfast including juices, cereals, cooked items, eggs to order (inc. Benedict & Florentine), pastries, cheese, fruit and also local dishes. It's difficult to understand how people can criticise. We ate inside and outside and everything was great. On checking in we were advised that for dinner reservations were recommended. We did this on the first night securing an outside table but chose to turn up for the remaining nights and take our chances. You only need to reserve if you wished to secure an outside table or window table. The Planter's restaurant is used for breakfast and dinner and very elegant especially with an excellent pianist playing in the background at both. The menu for dinner is extensive from local dishes to global dishes from fish and chips (excellent) to beef wellington / chateaubriand (for 2). There is an extensive choice of starters, mains and desserts and having dined here for 7 nights the quality and ambiance is fine dining. As we had HB we also had the choice of house wines and water included. A minor dinner complaint would be that despite the fine dining and a dress code we still saw people allowed in wearing shorts, flip flops and even a baseball cap. We also used the "cafe" Straits & Co for lunch (once) and afternoon tea (once) and again excellent (afternoon tea for 2 was RM88 = approx. £8 each) and great value despite being a 5* establishment with a virtual "captured audience".
We didn't utilise the Verandah bar, Drawing Room, Billiard Room The Spa, the gym or the Pool Bar.
The major plus point here is the staff who were without exception superb throughout from checkin to check out, from poolside to doormen. Special mention to Fuad (in the restaurant who when we pitched up for dinner and noticed that it was BBQ night and our only opportunity to try it he found us a table despite it being very well attended), Jacinta, Jasmani Johan and Ramesh also in the restaurant, Umar and Riza poolside as well as Justine and Annya (Concierge) who regularly appeared around the hotel to ensure everything was going well (or not).
We've been fortunate to stay in some fantastic hotels worldwide and this is right up there with the best. Malaysia is a fantastic country with fabulous people and The Danna enhanced and completed our whole holiday experience. A truly 5* star experience with a sense of relaxed class.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TartanTeddyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear TartanTeddyBear,

First of all, we thank you so much for choosing THE DANNA Langkawi as your holiday destination and taking your precious time to write us such a glowing review.

About the iron and iron board issue, you are certainly right as many guests prefer to use our services from Housekeeping. Nevertheless, we are glad that the items were delivered to you immediately.

All of our rooms are larger than usual room size, for your Grant Merchant room, its size is 70sqm if you ever wonder. We are glad that you mentioned the His & Her vanities in the bathroom.

The services by the pool are 5 times per day starting from 12noon to 4pm. All these gestures of THE DANNA Experience is aimed to create unforgettable holiday memories for our guests, we hope you brought back not only relaxation but lots of great memories.

The beach at THE DANNA Langkawi is well protected by the 2 manmade islands, hence, the beach is very calm. Jelly fish is a known issue in Langkawi but it’s seasonal. We are glad that you saw none, but as safety precautions, we usually rise flag to indicate the condition of the day.

We are very delighted that you and your partner enjoyed the breakfast and dinner at The planter’s, and managed to experience both inside the restaurant and the al-fresco area. About the dress code issue, we will look into the matter as some guests did not come prepared but wish to dine in The Planter’s.

Your kind compliments have been made known to the associates and they are highly motivated. We thank you again TartanTeddyBear for giving us an opportunity to offer hospitality to you and your partner, and such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back with your lovely wife.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 3,335 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Danna is one of the hotels with the best services.

Check-in was a breeze, with welcome drink and a 5minute shoulder massage. The duty manager greet us by our names and showed us the facilities when the rooms are not ready.

Breakfast was good, with both a buffet and daily set options. Champagne is also included in the breakfast.

We spent most of our times at the pool area. However, there are different facilities available, such as the gym, library, and games room.

Read more at:
http://snewthewanderlust.blogspot.sg/2013/12/the-danna-langkawi.html

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeiGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent the second week at The Danna the previous week having been spent at The Datai. The hotels could not be different as one is 20 years old and here the Danna is just over 3 years old. It still has some catching up to do with The Datai in terms of quailty of food and overall service levels.

The negatives for us was the quality of the sand at the beach and the poor water quality at the harbour. Then the breakfast for us was not on par for a 5 star resort. They were serving fruit juices in watered down form in large vats more reminiscent of a 3 star and we found this a very poor choice for a resort like this. However when we requested fresh watermelon juices. They were brought to us. The pancakes, salmon and steaks were left on warming plates and so when you came to eat them they tasted of cardboard really. They should be cooked to order as were the eggs. No cold towels were provided at the beach unlike at the Datai. The room and turn down service was hit and miss as we had to ask them one night to clean the room as this was overlooked. No clothes line in the bathroom meant you had to wash your swimwear and then hang them on the rails outside which is unbecoming for the resort. They had this and iron and ironboard in the rooms at the Datai.

The positives a nice welcome when we arrived along with shoulder and neck massage. The rooms and building are relatively new therefore look great and have high ceilings and a colonial look and feel. The bathroom was spacious and bright and had a good power shower. We had a large terrace with comfortable day bed and view of the harbour. The pool is large and they provided cold water and snacks throughout the day. Free wi-fi but at times was slow and could do with a boost. The inner courtyard was a nice area to start the day off with breakfast. The pianist in the mornings and evenings was a nice touch. The turn down service placed a book marker that had a tale regarding Langkawi this was a nice idea but we only received x 2 cards over a 7 night stay. overall a nice stay but not a 5 star experience stay. They have some need to lift there game in a couple of areas and they can then call themselves a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear david2568,

Thank you for spending part of your 20th wedding anniversary celebrations with us at THE DANNA Langkawi.

We note your feedback about the breakfast served and we regret it was not up to your expectations. We have taken note on your suggestions and will review the food presentations.

We also note your feedback about the services rendered by Housekeeping. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Rest assured we take your comments seriously and we do not condone overlooking in services.

About your comments on the clothes line, you may be pleased to know that we provide complimentary drying services to our guests.

Meanwhile, we are glad that you like that welcome massage and the building interior. The bathroom was indeed spacious as the room itself already measures 75sqm. We hope you enjoy the rainfall shower too.

Having live piano music has been a favourite of many guests and we shall maintain this. At the courtyard, not only you can have your breakfast there but we also arrange cooking classes when guests request.

We thank you again david2568 for staying with us and your kind feedback. We look forward to hearing from you again soon and we hope the mentioned shortfalls would not deter you from visiting us again.


Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at The Danna as part of our honeymoon touring the east. We stayed for 9 wonderful and relaxing nights. We had a truly memorable stay, however there are a few things "lacking" with the hotel that lead us to rate this only a 4 star experience and not quite hitting the 5 stars.

Now, don't get me wrong, this is a beautiful, grand, clean hotel, with great service, beautiful rooms and views, an incredible beach and pool side, delicious cocktails and is situated on the best side of the island if you want peace and quiet.

However there are a few points that management should take note of in order to maintain it's five stars.

1) Rooms near to the lift should be sound proofed OR the lift should be silent. We were moved rooms on the second night of our stay simply due to the noise of the lift "dinging" at every floor which kept us awake for two nights.

2)Rooms should come with an ipod dock or some kind of mp3 player.

3) There should be an iron in the room for guests to use without having to call down to room service.

4) The wifi signal needs to improve. Downloading documents was extremely difficult.

5) Planters restaurant needs to offer a better choice for vegetarians (it was very limited across the hotel) and also ensure guests adhere to the dress code that is set out in the guest handbook. We dressed up for our first meal and were disappointed to see other guests in beach wear and flip flops! It just does not fit with the opulent feel of the place. Also beer was being served from a can......

6) The hotel seriously lacks an outdoor bar area for evenings. As beautiful as the Verandah bar is (and they serve amazing cocktails with a loooong happy few hours) I really don't want to go on holiday to sit in an air conditioned room in the evenings.


7) Having allergies I did struggle to eat. There was no gluten free bread available at breakfast or soya milk. Every other hotel we visited across Asia had both of these available at all times.


Despite the above, we would still highly recommend this hotel to people who want to relax and be well looked after, however I do believe for what we paid we would expect a little more.

(Be sure to check out Privilege restaurant on the Marina for a beautiful meal and take a taxi out to Bon Ton resort to see traditional Malay houses, eat some incredible food and be surrounded by beautiful rescue cats from the island!!)

Room Tip: Higher floored rooms recommended, for pace and quiet and the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theobjective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Elegant is the first word to describe The Danna. A truly magnificent place to stay with immaculate and impeccable service.

Having had our first family holiday with our one and half year old we were on tender hooks how she would adapt to her new environment.

It was like a duck taking to water with our baby enjoying the indoor and outdoor facilities. The swimming pool was clean, breakfast was amazing and head chef named Ridzuan was able to prepare fresh porridge everyday for our baby.

We also met Ramesh who works at The Danna. He spent a vast amount of time going the extra mile and making our stay comfortable and always available to cater for our needs.

I can firmly give a thumbs up with both hands and will genuinely recommend The Danna highly. If we visit Lankawi again I have intention to stay anywhere else.



Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank mitsriyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Everything is here to be relaxed and to enjoy!
The hotel is relatively new, everything is fresh. Super personnel and the service. Spacious huge rooms in colonial style. Rich healthy breakfast. Exotic garden. Infinity pool. The only disappointment is smelling water in the sea, which stopped us from swimmimg. Though, as a bonus for that - possibility to observe typical white eyed monkeys on the beach, huge rare birds etc.
Though the Hotel was booked out, there were no noises heard and not many people to be seen.
Real asian luxury!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights in February.
The room was a good size and had a very comfortable bed.
We had dinner in the restaurant 4 nights and found it reasonably priced and great food. We also had dinner at privilege which we enjoyed.
The pool service was excellent, lots of water, snacks and your sunglasses cleaned.
The beach here has very rough sand, if you go for a walk make sure it's not barefoot my husband got a lot of blisters.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mackay-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#5 of 107 in Langkawi
404 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: $280 - $854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing