We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful place”
Review of The Danna Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel is clean very clean, location is perfect not too remote and not too noisy. Best to rent a car throughout the stay in Langkawi. The staff take cares of you the moment you arrive and always geeeted us with a smile. Best buffet breakfast with champagne by the pool, i was not able to complete one whole round at the buffet counters and that does not happen a lot. My friend visited the spa in the hotel and the result exceeded Banyan Tree Bangkok!
Gym was nice but small and unattended, equipment are vey new so I'm not complaining.
Do make sure that all doors are locked properly before going out, not saying that the hotel staff are bad but alway avoid the avoidable things that ruins your trip. Our door do not close completely and needs a follow-up push every time.
Pool is nice and a very short walk onto the beach.
Just one bad point is that the bbq buffet dinner was a bit expensive and not enough refills. A lot of items went empty very soon. Having such a wonderful breakfast there expected something more for its dinner buffet which did not meet our expectations by surprise!

I will go back to the Danna Langkawi again for sure!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chunkeewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed 6 nights in this magnificent hotel, and from the moment we were picked up from the airport to the time we got dropped off (which is right now ), we were treated like King and Queen.

We booked a grant merchant room, and it was marvellous. Overlooking the mountains with a huge room, and even bigger balcony. The shower was amazing, large and spacious.

The pool was heaven, great setting, great pool service and overall made you feel like you were in a scene of a Hollywood film.

Only one slight recommendation I would have, is that people secure a sun lounge early, like 8am before breakfast and then leave it unattended for large periods of the day. They come and go as they please. Although there is enough sun beds available, it is a little frustrating when you try and get a half decent location at around 2pm, just doesn't happen. If anything, people should not be able to reserve the sun bed if unattended for large periods of time,

Pool food was amazing, so was the room service we had. The food comes in on a trolley with an inbuilt heater in it so your food remains hot!!!

Try the restaurants at the marina next door, great value also, and helps break up the experience.

Nothing was too hard for staff, they aimed to please you in every way. We had a minor issue with housekeeping one late night, and he next day it was rectified nada bottle of wine was waiting for us for the inconvenience.

The beach setting is also to die for, but didn't elect to swim in the ocean, due to potential jellyfish.

My wife and I had a two hour spa treatment also, and that is a must!. The ladies are lovely and aim to please you your treatment, great value also.

It's certainly a place which makes it quite difficult to leave, and as I'm typing this, I feel sadness for leaving. It's truly a slice of heaven, and a place that will be edged in our memories for a lifetime.

We will return for sure, hopefully with a little baby, as this was our honeymoon:)

In one word - Amazing.

Thank you for all the staff in making our first trip to Langkawi a memorable one.

:)

Joe and Sophie.

Room Tip: Grand merchant room is spacious , and great views of mountains and slight sea views. Elevator takes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I have enjoyed one week with my family at The Danna. Very good choice for a big family! The hotel provide wheel chair for my disabled sister for free; The worker in The Danna helped to park our car every day. Considering we are big family with 9 persons, the hotel upgrade the booked three rooms to a big suite with three bed rooms and big living room and dining room. As they said, they only have one this kind of suite and did not released in web. The breakfast buffet is very nice. The huge swiming pool is a good place for relax. The private beach is a good place to see little crabs and crab hole in the morning. And you can find live see animals in the beach. I love the evening music bar in this hotel. A lady sing every night. Her voice is very beautiful and my daughter enjoy her singing and dance in front of her. I will thank the Danna for providing nice cake for my parents 60 years marriage anniversary. Also thanks to Annya and Justine, both of them can speak Chinese and we have many email communication before my arriving. Anyway, the Danna is an excellent place for family.

Room Tip: Contact with Danna by email before you arriving and let them know you want a big suite with three be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Long Lan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Long Lan C,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience on TripAdvisor Long Lan C. We are glad that you and family enjoyed the upgrade. Like you have mentioned, we have only 1 unit of such suite in the hotel, hence, the chances of getting upgraded to that suite is usually slim but we are happy that we did that for your family.

During your stay here, we hope you also noticed that our hotel offers many wheel-chair accessible advantages. The hotel’s one-building concept has avoided the hassles of walking far to get to the desired destinations, be it the breakfast venue, lobby, dining outlets or to utilize the facilities as everything is accessible with elevator. Especially for holiday makers like your goodself who has a family with elderly and children, we hope the hotel layout had helped making the holiday experience even more convenient.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed a week of lovely holiday with us and even celebrated your beloved parents’ 60th wedding anniversary. It’s our honour to be part of their anniversary memories!

Your kind appreciation has been conveyed to Annya and Justine, we are glad that all necessary arrangements were communicated through prior to your arrival.

We thank you once again Long Lan C for staying with us. We hope you and family will return to THE DANNA Langkawi again soon.

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

When we arrived, quite late in the evening, with two overtired children under four, within 5 minutes, I felt so much more relaxed. Fresh juice for all of us, ice cold flannels, and a shoulder massage for two overtired parents. :)
It only got better.
We were shown to our lovely room, where our cases were waiting, and went to sleep in the most enormous, comfortable bed. (even with two little ones sharing our space the first night it was roomy!)
When we woke up, and looked out of the floor length windows, the view was incredible. My son was very excited to see the swimming pool, and his face was a picture.

During our week, the staff were so kind, friendly and helpful, they treated the children like their own, and knew them by name within a day or so.

Breakfast was great, enough choice of fresh fruit, pastries, cooked meals, and various Asian cuisine to suit everyone's' tastes. I also enjoyed a glass of bubbles with my breakfast on several days.

The pool was fantastic, we spent a lot of time there, and the service was again excellent. Food, drinks, fresh towels, anything you needed was no trouble. Thank you.

I also had a treatment at the spa as a belated birthday gift from my husband, it was wonderful. A full body massage and facial. I felt relaxed and rejuvenated, would highly recommend it!

Overall an amazing family holiday, in a beautiful place, with friendly people and if we can ever *afford* to go back to Malaysia, we will be staying at the Danna without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louN231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear louN231,

Thank you so much for staying with us as your family holiday destination! We believe you and family have reached home safely by now.

What a glowing review you have written for us, we thank you for taking the time out to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad that the welcome treatments were able to relieve you and your husband from the tired journey, and that is exactly why it’s designed for!

Indeed having a great rest is important even for holiday so that you can fully enjoy every second of your vacation. Knowing this, we custom-made most of our bedding items including the over-sized pillows, pillow-top mattress and duvet to give our guests a comfortable night’s sleep. Of course, having a room with such views just made the holiday even better. What’s more beautiful than waking up to a lovely pool, sea and sunshine?

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our services, the poolside servings, spa treatments and food served. We can’t thank you more for choosing us and making us your choice of accommodation in Langkawi. We certainly hope to hear from you again and welcoming you and family back to the hotel in the future.

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

If you are anything like me you spend ages trying to decide which hotel to stay at. The hours I spent on Trip Advisor trying to decide where to stay in Langkawi! Well let me save you some precious time - don't look elsewhere. If you can afford The Danna, stay there - you won't be disappointed. The rooms are incredibly spacious, the breakfast is so plentiful you can easily skip lunch and the pool is spectacular. But by far the standout feature is the service. Everyone knows your name, every single member of staff we met was friendly and helpful and warm. It was a joy to stay there.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BridgetR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear BridgetR50,

Thank you very much for writing us a review on TripAdvisor BridgetR50. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the team managed to make your holiday a memorable one.

All rooms are larger than usual measures from 60sqm onwards, no wonder you find the room spacious. THE DANNA Langkawi reigns in the concept of luxury vacation, everyone in the hotel works hard to create an unforgettable holiday with intimate guest’s experience.

We thank you very much for staying with us BridgetR50 and we hope to hear from you again very soon.

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

There is almost nothing worth criticizing.
Pros:
# Reception couldn't have been better ( Fresh towel ; Courtesy shoulder massage ; Room upgrade form Marina to Duchess Suite !!)
# Staff was great since the first till the last moment. They pay attention to all details !
# Very Clean - Room , common halls, Gym ...
# Breakfast for all tastes
# Pool
Cons:
# It had to end ...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Nuno L

What a catchy and precise way to share you staying experience!

Thank you very much for choosing THE DANNA Langkawi during your recent trip to the island. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and are pleased with the upgrade with everything you mentioned here.

We look forward to hear from you and welcoming you back soon Nuno L!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Me and my husband enjoyed a week at the Danna following a few hectic days in Hong Kong & KL. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and all the staff were amazing. A special thank you to Barry who helped us at check in with our room, your help and understanding was very much appreciated, the room and view were amazing! The pool area is fantastic and we found it difficult to leave once settled there.
All the food was lovely be it having a snack round the pool during the day or enjoying an evening meal in one of the fabulous pagodas. We also enjoyed the fact that there are several other restaurants and bars close by in the marina, Privilege is a must try for any future guests!!
It was just a shame there isn't a bar area you can use in the evenings which looks over the amazing views by the pool, beach and beyond and to also enjoy the amazing sunsets!

The whole experience far exceeded our expectations, a fabulous hotel on a truly beautiful island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, General Manager at The Danna Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Ali214,

Thank you for choosing THE DANNA Langkawi as your holiday destination on the island and taking the time to share your staying experience on TripAdvisor.

We can see that you and your husband had an enjoyable time staying in our sea view room and lounging by the poolside! The snacks served at the poolside is part of our efforts in creating THE DANNA Experience, there are 5 times per day serving cold towels, cut fruits, local snacks etc.

The culinary team is glad that you and your husband enjoyed the food prepared in-house, but it’s always good to have choices. Next to the hotel is Telaga Harbour Park, we supposed you were delighted having such selection of restaurants nearby.

About your comments of having a bar areas for evenings, as of now we do not have a dedicated area for this purpose, but should there be any expansion in the future, we might consider your suggestion.

Your kind words have been conveyed to Barry, he is most delighted to be able to assist you at the right time.

We hope to welcome you and your husband back to THE DANNA Langkawi again soon. Thank you very much for staying with us again Ali214!

Best regards,
Pascal Masse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
5.6 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,414 reviews
13.3 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range: $237 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Danna Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing