We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for a few days to wind down towards the end of our honeymoon - after travelling through Asia we just wanted somewhere to sit, and do nothing.

To that end, the Danna was the perfect location. It was quiet, and peaceful. It wasn't busy around the pool area (but can imagine that during peak, the pool would be very busy and the deck chairs would be hot property!). The pool itself was stunning, and the perfect place to sit and sip on cocktails; or mocktails, depending on the time of day.

Staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to please. The cool drink and short massage on arrival (especially after an overnight flight) were very appreciated. The only negative was the one breakfast we had there was not great - we had a feeling that the chef was away.

The room itself was large and stunning, and the bathroom was divine. The A/C was a bit tricky to use and we should have asked a staff member for instructions, but didn't. I utilised the gym most days and it was a great area to work out - with a lovely view. The architecture of the hotel itself was absolutely gorgeous - beautiful Colonial style.

Pantai Cenang is a cheap cabride away and most evenings we went in there for dinner, very good value throughout the township, with drinks at the beach on one of the bars.

I've already recommended this to friends. Thanks to the Danna management for the bottle of Moet and Chandon to celebrate our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays at The Danna. We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Lagkawi
Email : clement@thedanna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,714
    307
    72
    13
    11
See reviews for
882
1,670
77
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Danna for 3 nights after spending 7 nights at the Datai and found the Danna a little overcrowded if you wanted to spend time relaxing.

The pool is fabulous and overlooks the harbour and the beach but was very busy and found ourselves surrounded by other people's children all day. As we're traveling as a couple this isn't really ideal for us and there wasn't really a separate adult area anywhere by the pool or on the beach. We did try to get some quiet time on the beach but the sea was full of jellyfish so we ended back around the pool.

We ate dinner there one evening and the food was very good but we found the breakfasts very much lacking in taste. We tried several dishes off of the menu but not one of them had much flavour and didn't taste particular fresh. On our last day we even decided to skip breakfast.

Having said all of this the staff were very accommodating and worked hard to make our stay as special as possible. We were given a complimentary neck and shoulder massage on arrival which was great and our room had a fabulous view over the pool and harbour.

There are a few restaurants and shops nearby which you can easily walk to in the evening too.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

My sincere appreciation for taking the time to your comments about The Danna Langkawi. Above all, I apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced during you short sojourn with us. We have taken your comments with regards to your experiences at the pool area and your breakfast experience. We find these feedback extremely important to strive further to achieve the greatest satisfaction for all our guests.
My team and I will always llok forward to welcoming you back to The Danna and please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any inquiries and assistance. Kind regards.

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Langkawi
Email : clement@thedanna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

From the massage on arrival to the drinks on the beach by way of a sumptuous Christmas dinner buffet, the Danna and its staff cannot be praised enough. An idyllic location, away from the activity of Pantai Cenang, but only a 20 minute cab ride away from the restaurants there, if you feel the need for more variety. The only thing I would suggest for the hotel to change is at breakfast, to give a pot of coffee on the table, or to use bigger cups. The quality cannot be faulted of the rooms, the common parts, the food, the beach and the spectacular pool. We will return. If you like lobster and prawns, try Orkid Ria in Pantai Cenang for dinner - you won't be disappointed!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

My sincere thanks for your valued feedback and we are glad to learn of your positive stay experience.
Your feedback with regards to your breakfast experinece is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them.
We shall look forward very much to welcome you back again in the near future.

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Langkawi
Email : clement@thedanna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been stayed at the Danna for 9 days 8 nights during the period 20 December to 28 December. This is my first time go to Langkwai and have the following comments on the hotel:

a. The room is big and some of the decoration is good looking, however, when you look into details, the room have alot of deficiencies like you can hardly found any guide about the hotel itself, you cannot have the location/time schedule of its facilitities like GYM, restaurant...etc. You also found the light control and even the telephone system used are far from 5 star standard.

b. The welcoming massage which is rated as value added was really a very bad experience to us. The staff only give us a massage just like a routine works that last for only 1 to 2 minutes which make me feel disrupting rather than relaxing with no feel of welcoming at all. What they are doing is just aimed to pass to you their menu of the SPA.

c. There is vitually only one restaurant there with limited choice and it is quite pricy as compared with the quality of food there. The attitude of the staff there are good but I dont think they can carry out their works up to 5 star hotels standard. Its correct as many comments said in this forum the staff their are cheerful and willing to serve you as much as they can, however, in several occasions, it seems they are lack of skill of commuication that they did not got your meaning. For example, once I have ordered a grilled seabass in the restaurant and my wife have told them many many time to avoid any spicy ingredient as its for our kids who are zero tolerance to spicy foods. Although the staff have confirmed their understanding, everntually the seabass was come with a very tasteful but SPICY red pepper on it. This is not the first time during our trip, same things happend during breakfast (with menu for odering) and with lunch at poolside.

d. In our view, the people their is very good and have the heart to provide you the good services, however, the system or management there is not up to standard which cannot link up all the small little thing there, for example, on the first day we check in we ahve fill in a form and there is an item that for tiem of checkout. I have filled in 1:30pm (12:O'clock in normal) and I told the reception staff that I wish to delay our checkout a little bit later as we have booked our car at theat time to airport. The reception staff confirmed its ok instanly. However, on the date we are going to leave, we received a call from them at 12:30 asking me when we will go down to check out, this small little thing make me have the view that the Hotel doed not have good communication within itself.

At last, I wish to point out that the beach there is very bad that there is many of jelly fish and you will find no one swimming there. I am quite unhappy about this in view the rate charged by the Hotel which is located at a beach which you can hardly enjoy there.

In our view, we will not recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinamanfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the valuable feedback. Let me start off by apologizing for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay at The Danna. I have great importance on what you have written with regards to you arrival experience, the lack of communication with our staff and the unfortunate situation of sea. We will strive to address these problem and find the suitable solutions to overcome them in the quickest possible duration. Please allow us to welcome you back to The Danna Langkawi, enabling our team to provide you the memorable experience that we promise. Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further inquiries and assistance. Tahnk you.

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Langkawi
Email : clement@thedanna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I accidently booked the hotel from groupon two years ago due to its huge discount given. It was a 4D3n trip and my first night was stayed at a well known hotel with nothing good except the pool and beach. When we checked in The Dana, We were greet with welcome drink and a 10 min shoulder and head massage. The room was spacious, very clean, very new. After a quick shower to refresh ourselves, we quickly walk down to the swimming pool to take a look. the swimming pool, it's a three tiers infinity pool facing South China Sea with private beach. Wow! That's so beautiful. Breakfast was good too. When we talked to one of the director and was surprise to found out this hotel was actually an abandoned project by another company and even India superstar Sharukh Khan was staying here at their president suite with private pool in the room for 2 weeks. Another thing is the location is just beside one of the yacht. If money is not an issue, i will definitely go back again.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank weeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing your review. We do appreciate it very much. I am glad that your stay was a memorable one. Since it is a very short trip from KL, the entire Danna team looks forward to your return, in the very near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance and inquiries.

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Spent 5 nights with my family (1 child + 1 baby). The hotel is very nice and quite. The room was very specious and stylish. Very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and kind. From the moment they took us from the airport through their complementary massage while checking in to the check out after a few days. The location was perfect for us. Very close the Cable Car and the oriental village. It is a bit far from the busy Cenang area and the Kuah town. There are some restaurants and supermarkets around. We did not have any issues with insects or monkeys due to the location. The pool was excellent...probably the best. The beach was clean and nice, though we could not swim in the sea due to jelly fish. The water was not clear either. So this was my disappointment. In the last night we experienced a failure in the AC in the room, but the staff managed to get us another room quickly for that last night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msb1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback.
This gives the opportunity to further develop and fine tune our services.
I sincerely apologise for any inconveniences you had encountered during you stay with us and are always looking at ways to enhance our beach and outdoor experiences. It was unfortunate to hear of the AC but please be rest assured that we have addressed the matter accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Danna in the future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further inquiries and assistance.

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
The Danna Langkawi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from 8 nights at the danna langkawi and had a lovely time.
Pros were:
The hotel is beautiful and the staff are truly lovely.
The rooms are very nice and well appointed.
Breakfast was fab and mostly a la carte along with some buffet.

The cons were:

Turn down service was very hit and miss only turning up on 4 out of the 8 nights and when we pointed this out the manager very quickly avoided taking responsiblity by accusing us of having our "do not disturb" light on.
This was not the case ever and did leave a feeling of disappointment.

But all in all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDanna, Manager at The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

First, allow me to apologize sincerely for all the inconveniences you had during your stay. We take a great deal of pride in the service provided at The Danna and it is obvious from your comments that you received a poor representation of our services. I have reviewed your comments with the respective department head and he has advised me that the appropriate actions have been taken to avoid these issues.
If your travel ever brings you back to Langkawi then please contact me as it will be a great opportunity for the team to provide you a memorable experience that we promise and I am sure it will definitely erase any negative bad memories of your first stay with us.
I wish you the best of everything and apologize again for the inconveniences.

Thank You

Clement Paul
Executive Assistant Manager
Tha Danna Langkawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Kok
1.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
3.9 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
4.3 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
13.4 mi away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#4 of 104 in Langkawi
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia

Property: The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Address: Jalan Pantai Kok | Telaga Harbour Park, Pantai Kok, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Kok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pantai Kok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seated on a legendary island of Langkawi, Malaysia, The Danna Langkawi is a reflection of a timeless luxury vacation hotel that nestles against a backdrop of nature’s beauty. This 5-star luxury beachfront hotel in Langkawi offers an elite holiday experience, allowing you to find supreme comfort amidst an inviting ambience while admiring the unrivalled views of the white sandy beach, marina bay, sea and verdant green hills. Amid the solitude and serenity of the island, return to the heyday of the British empire and immerse yourself in colonial splendor, coupled with modern amenities and a dash of exotic intimacy. The distinct British colonial design of The Danna Langkawi is complimented by Malaysian influences that embrace the future while paying tribute to the past. The Danna Langkawi is the winner of TripAdvisor Traveler’s Choice, HAPA Platinum Service Excellence award,HAPA GOLD Resort of the Year award, HAPA GOLD Signature Luxury resort and Expedia Insiders' Select 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing